We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired looking hotel with poor buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
Ranked #8 of 80 Hotels in Varanasi
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at the Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi for 2 nights on 7 & 8 Feb 2012 as part of a tour of Northern India. The room was of an average standard with only a thin blanket on the bed. The bathrobes were old and threadbare but on the positive side there was an iron and ironing board in the room. The shower was powerful but the water kept going hot then cold.
The food in the buffet on the first night was cold and it looked as if the burners under the food trays were not lit. We also had a power cut during our meal. The breakfast buffet was also poor with strange tasting baked beans, a long wait for eggs and omelettes and hard croissants and pastries. The only good things were the freshly made dosa and the lassi from the a la carte menu. On the second night we tried the Silk Route Chinese/Thai restaurant which was a revelation. The staff were very attentive (silver service) and the food was excellent. The head waiter made some suggestions from the menu which were very tasty and the pineapple fried rice was superb. The drinks were very reasonably priced at about £2.80 for a large bottle of Kingfisher.
The pool looked inviting but unfortunately it was too cold to swim. The sunbeds were dirty and should have been covered at night and the towels were well worn.
There are a few good souvenir shops in the hotel where you can haggle for a quality bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 861 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Rooms were comfortable and with enough room, quiet, breakfast was good with some variety on the Indian food and the staff were good. A quality hotel which appears to attract mainly tour groups, the location is about 30 minutes by tuk tuk or other vehicle from the Ganga river and the famous ghats. There is a small mall next to the hotel which offers some fast food options for those that need to escape the spices.
We did not feel the hotel offered value given the room rate and the added cost of internet connection which was $9 an hour wifi and about $6 an hour in the business centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

One would expect a certain level of quality with the Ramada name but this hotel does have that. The WiFi never worked for me the entire time I was there and as another reviewer has pointed out, the prices were just absurd. The hotel is new but has no character. The food options - I tried the Chinese restaurant and the buffet, were fine but nothing extraordinary. In short - I would not recommend staying here unless you got a good deal

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubed82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights- 7 and 8 January 2012. The room, although of a good size, had ripped up carpeting and worse of all, a bathroom with water leaking from the toilet and noisy pipes. The air conditioning did not work, leaving a layer of moisture on the window making the "view" worthless. The staff was helpful but was unable to solve either of these problems during our stay. They offered to change the room, but we did not want to pack and unpack our luggage again for a short stay of two nights. On the other hand, the buffet breakfast was excellent with very attentive staff.

Although the hotel's transport service was very expensive, it was easy to get a taxi or a scooter rickshow for very reasonable prices just outside the hotel or from the mall next door.

Overall, for the high price, and despite the Ramada name, this was clearly a substandard hotel. Next time we will try another hotel in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

After camping on the sandbanks of the ganges for 3 days it was bliss to get to this hotel and have a shower. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. Had a fun time helping to mix a huge Christmas cake into which the staff put some silver rupees and I was lucky enopugh to find one. I shall treasure this souvenir. The only down side was it is quite a long was from the ghats where we really wanted to spend time at. The upside was it is very close to the railway station where we took a train.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 80 in Varanasi
1,491 reviews
4.8 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 80 in Varanasi
343 reviews
1.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#6 of 80 in Varanasi
674 reviews
5.4 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
4.7 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 80 in Varanasi
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi

Address: JHV Mall Complex, The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Spa Hotel in Varanasi
#3 Family Hotel in Varanasi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range: €42 - €414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Plaza JHV, a luxury hotel in Varanasi redefines hospitality beyond boundaries. Stylish spaces coupled with discreet luxury and impeccable service renders this Varanasi hotel a unique flavor. Lined with handpicked contemporary art throughout the public and private spaces and natural surroundings ensures a seamless blend of the rich culture of this rustic yet vibrant city with elevated standard of style, design and decor. State-of-the-art technology and amenities for commerce, leisure and relaxation makes the Ramada Plaza JHV hotel an ideal choice for guests seeking accommodation in Varanasi. The luxury rooms & suites are models of personal touch and superior amenities and services. Access to indulgent restaurants with world cuisine and Indian speciality restaurant, a day gym, spa and salon and spacious banquet rooms guarantee a gamut of innovative and inspired moments of celebration. The adjoining JHV shopping mall extends the freedom of options to multiplex, shopping & dine out with all time favourites like McDonald's & Pizza Hut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Jhv Varanasi Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Hotel Varanasi
Ramada Varanasi
Varanasi Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing