We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and convenient hotel in Varanasi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganpati Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ganpati Guest House
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Varanasi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and convenient hotel in Varanasi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Ganpati Guest House is a very cozy and charming hotel. We stayed there for 5 nights and stayed in 3 different room (because the hotel was fully booked, they had to move us to accommodate other guests). The rooms were all clean, but they varied significantly in terms of charm and atmosphere. The rooms facing the Ganges are the best - big and airy with beautiful views. You also have a nice sitting area that faces the Ganges. Surprisingly, our most expensive room was not necessarily the nicest - it had AC and more modern furniture, TV, etc., but it had only a partial river view and was a bit dark. We also had the misfortune to spend one night in an "interior" room. It faced the courtyard which is heavily trafficked, so we had to keep our window closed. The lighting was stark, so the room was a bit depressing.

Room Tip: If it's not summer, I would go for one of the non-AC rooms facing the Ganges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Htai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    741
    135
    39
    42
See reviews for
200
761
323
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This small hotel overlooking the River Ganga was a great find in our trip to India. The people were very kind and the roof top restaurant had amazing food and a fantastic view over the river.
The internal patio was very nicely decored as well as the rooms. The location was just perfect, five minutes walking to the main ghat and next to the old city but without the noise and hassle.
There was only one down during our stay and that was that the room´s walls are just like paper, you could even hear your neighbour breathe. So if you are lucky enough to find a quiet neihgbour you´ll be fine and in a very nice place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Facundo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Nice place to stay, very good location and handy restaurant and nice people. Most of the guests are tourist. You are near the main Ghat which is awesome :-). The room with the private balcony is a bit noisy, because it is surrounded by kitchens

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Labamba67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Ganpati Guesthouse for 3 nights at the end of December 2011, and we were very satisfied with the experience. The location in Old Varanasi couldn't be better, right there near the Dasaswamedh Ghat. The room, although cell-like, was comfortable, the service was efficient, and the food very good. Our room was on the lobby level, facing the inside patio, and was equipped with a private bathroom and a TV. If you need the room to be cleaned up (which is not done systematically), just ask for it. The rooftop patio with the restaurant is really nice for breakfast and other meals overlooking the river. The view is amazing. It's definitely a good backpackers place with all the standard amenities and services expected from this kind of place. One note about taxi to the airport, though: if you are flying out on a week day, towards the end of the day, schedule the taxi for at least 3 hours before take off time. First, you need to walk from the hotel to the main street with your bags and wait for the taxi (overall, this could take up to 20 minutes), and then you must get out of town through a terrible traffic.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FredeRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Ganpati guest house is the best decision if you want to stay right in the city.
The view is fantastic (read other reports), every place of interest is near by. Don´t expect any roomservice or amiability from the stuff (it is a guesthouse, not a hotel), but generally it is ok. Food on the roof top was good. My room had a private bathroom with hot water enough for quick hairwash and showering. In January it was really cold at night, take warm underwear with you :) Atmosphere is relaxed, guests are mostly young people from all over the world. Altogether I wouldn´t hesitate to stay again in this guesthouse, if I will ever come back to Varanasi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samson2187291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#6 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.5 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 76 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 76 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
4.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.5 km away
Palace on Steps
Palace on Steps
#20 of 76 in Varanasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganpati Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganpati Guest House

Property: Ganpati Guest House
Address: D 3/24 Meer Ghat, Varanasi 221001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganpati Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Ganpati Guest House - if you stay here, we are sure that you will have a good time in Varanasi. Of course the view of the beautiful river Ganges is amazing and exotic. Many people who come to Varanasi stay with us in the Ganpati Guest House. The staff are very kind and have a good spirit. We look forward to meeting you and hope beautiful time in Varanasi. The history of Ganpati Guest House: The Ganpati is located at the east end of the Mother Ganges in Varanasi, makes its presence known throughout the riverbanks not only by shining the world's oldest culture as well as oldest city. A city of light...but also by offering cutting-edge restaurants, renowned facilities, amazing view and comfortable accommodations. This 3-story Redstone pyramid was built in 1905 on the river Ganges, contains so many amenities on such an enormous scale that it's becomes practically amazing vacation. Spacious rooms surrounded by the plants, which boasts your staying, dining and entertainment. The Garden, at more than 1000 square feet, is one of Varanasi's oldest existing buildings and rarely available, offering a tranquil sitting, an array of nice music, a rack of books nearby. We want to deliver inside of the property a best atmosphere. We're trying to become a little more contemporary and appeal to all age crowds with holy feelings. We want to offer the best entertainment, dining, staying and relax without insulting the worth of your damage. That's not to say that "The city of Light" will be memorable entire the life. It is, after all, still a part of what makes the property unique, and explained that the hotel is prepared to keep the better executed elements of the riverbank-culture theme. Kind regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ganpati Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ganpati Guest House Hotel Varanasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing