We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but Clean and Tidy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Clarks Varanasi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dated but Clean and Tidy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Clarks made me feel I was lost in time, old India. The service was steller from checkin to checkout. Restaurant staff was amazing, tipping a little extra brings extraordinary service. The food is good and out of this world buttermilk if you are a fan. Walk across the street to the grounds of the old Hotel de Paris, in ruins but interesting. By all means take the boat trip out on the Ganges, dawn and evening both have their special delights.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back or sides, front rooms are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennsylvaniaPaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    103
    73
    36
    33
See reviews for
66
86
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Altho I hadn't originally planned to stay here I wasn't disappointed.. Room was nice, shower was hot and breakfast was good too.. I had trouble connecting to wifi at first but once the problems were resolved it was nice and fast.. Nice location too but takes about 15 mins down to the River but thats not a problem as there is always a taxi or tuk tuk waiting outside ready to be at service.. Staff were nice and friendly too so it made for a very nice stay..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satyajeet_Gopal, General Manager at Hotel Clarks Varanasi, responded to this review, 13 November 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Clarks Varanasi!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we thank you for putting up your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay and you liked our services and specially our swimming pool. Wi-Fi is managed by an external agency and sometimes we do face problems of connectivity due to unforeseen circumstances but generally there is no problem. We have also installed external access points to enhance the connectivity in our rooms and public areas.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Satyajeet Gopal | +919336312074 | gm@clarkshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varanasi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Clarks Group Hotel in Varanasi is comfortable for a Homely stay . Food in the restaurant has both flavor The continental and Indian cousin.
An Adequate stop over hotel close to most of the Varanasi attractions.
The rooms are "modern", food in the restaurant was quite good, especially the garlic naan.
The mall next door is convenient for those that need to shop.The Food plaza of the mall is also good.
The open connectivity gives the hassle free Traffic Jam.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meher_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satyajeet_Gopal, General Manager at Hotel Clarks Varanasi, responded to this review, 12 November 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Clarks Varanasi!

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we thank you for putting up your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a comfortable stay and you liked our room and personalized services. The team at our kitchen is also pleased to note that you liked our Garlic Naan specially. Your words of appreciation will go a long way in keeping the morale high for our team members.

We look forward to your return soon again.

Best regards,
Satyajeet Gopal | +919336312074 | gm@clarkshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed as part of a tour, basically clean and ok tho smells mildew.seems about a 3 star. Not cheap for drinks etc..

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamerHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satyajeet_Gopal, General Manager at Hotel Clarks Varanasi, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Clarks Varanasi!

Thank you for taking your valuable time off to write about your stay on TripAdvisor.

We have noted your concerns for the smell and have taken appropriate action. Meanwhile, we also would like to share that most of our areas are refurbished including rooms, swimming pool, lobby and restaurants. I'm sure you would discover the difference during your next visit to us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Satyajeet Gopal | +919336312074 | gm@clarkshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winteringham
Level Contributor
315 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Hotel was clean and tidy with acceptable food, the rooms were of a lower standard than in UK (4 star probably being a 3 star here), but perfectly adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satyajeet_Gopal, General Manager at Hotel Clarks Varanasi, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Clarks Varanasi!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we thank you for writing about your stay on TripAdvisor.

We are very concerned to learn about standards of our rooms while you found it tidy and clean. We would like to share that we have gone through major refurbishment recently and most of our areas are re-done including, rooms, lobby, swimming pool and restaurants. I'm sure you would notice the changes on your next visits to us.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back whenever your travel brings you to Varanasi.

Warm regards,
Satyajeet Gopal | +919336312074 | gm@clarkshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
0.0 km away
Ramada Plaza JHV Varanasi
0.8 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
0.4 km away
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
Radisson Hotel Varanasi
#9 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Amayaa
The Amayaa
#25 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 km away
Rivatas by Ideal
Rivatas by Ideal
#7 of 73 in Varanasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Madin
Hotel Madin
#16 of 73 in Varanasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clarks Varanasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clarks Varanasi

Property: Hotel Clarks Varanasi
Address: The Mall Road | Cantonment, Varanasi 221002, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Clarks Varanasi 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exuding colonial charm but with all the mod-cons. this hotel is the flagship of the Clarks Group of Hotels, one of the oldest hotel groups in India. Within proximity of the hotel guests can visit the Old British Cantonment Area, the old city, Vishwanath Temple, and of course the Ghats of the Ganges, and Sarnath-the site of Buddha's first sermon. A must do when in this holy city is a boat ride in the Ganges either at sunset or sunrise. The restaurants on-site offer ample choices from North Indian to international dishes and even popular street food dishes. After a long day exploring Varanasi on foot and in rickshaws, a quick dip at the hotel pool is sure to be refreshing. An excellent hotel, Clarks is a popular choice for guests visiting this North Indian city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Clarks Varanasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing