We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great atmosphere”
Review of Hotel Ganges View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varanasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ganges View
Ranked #10 of 209 Varanasi B&B and Inns
Morro de Sao Paulo, BA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Friendly people on good location.Nice view on a Ganga River especially for the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    161
    62
    21
    22
See reviews for
47
212
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Beautiful room, terrace with postcard view of the Ganges, gracious, friendly staff and an ideal location (right on Assi Ghat - not too hectic but plenty of atmostphere) - I highly recommend the Hotel Ganges View. Walk along the river and then get lost in the old city (crowded, dusty, disorienting) and then, exhausted, have an oasis of peace to return to. Note: some reviews say this place is overpriced. I know I couldn't afford such a beautiful room in the states or Europe so I considered it a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulk_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Hotel Ganges view is overpriced and whilst it is right on Assi Ghat I found it to be too far away from the main action of the other ghats. The rooms are spacious and very clean however I found the staff not that friendly especially when I asked for a taxi to the airport and they didn't book it until I was ready to leave and thus I almost missed my flight. When the car finally arrived the manager didn't even say "goodbye" or "thankyou"

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virtuousreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Despite being a beautiful hotel in a good location carrying a wonderful air of charm and character of Varanasi, most of our group got sick during the stay there and we observed many other guests sick all with the same symptoms of dysentery or vomiting. I took a look in the kitchen to find out how such an upmarket place could allow this and saw a very old and not sufficient water filter for the drinking water and the plates being washed in the hotels water which is simply well water. I tried to raise this with the owner informing so many guests had gotten sick during the stay and he denied it vehemently stating they must have eaten elsewhere, though some of our party had only eaten at the hotel. So please take care of food and water at this hotel and please complain about this if you see guests vomiting on the stairs (as we did) or with serious dysentery as it must change. The well needs to be tested and a RO filter MUST be installed this kind of standard for the prices they charge is disgraceful. This all said Varanasi and the Ganges are as pollluted as ever so it is critical to take extra care you stay in a place you will not get sick.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank JayaJagathambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auch
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Ganges View is more than a delight. It has. It has been in the same family for three generations and the owner Shashank, has enormous sensitivity. An example: I saw him placing tiny flowers into the earring holes of a bronze female bust. The whole house is beautifully furnished and decorated and the ambience and food are beyond reproach. Staying here is an experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mwphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varanasi hotels
2.3 km away
Hotel Alka
Hotel Alka
#5 of 74 in Varanasi
1,171 reviews
1.8 km away
Brijrama Palace
Brijrama Palace
#1 of 74 in Varanasi
261 reviews
2.3 km away
Ganpati Guest House
Ganpati Guest House
#2 of 74 in Varanasi
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Suryauday Haveli - An Amritara Resort
1.4 km away
Shiva Ganges View
Shiva Ganges View
#14 of 74 in Varanasi
253 reviews
5.6 km away
The Gateway Hotel Ganges Varanasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ganges View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ganges View

Property: Hotel Ganges View
Address: Assi Ghat, Varanasi 221005, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Varanasi District > Varanasi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Varanasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ganges View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ganges View guest is one of best guest house in Varanasi or Banaras those are situated at unique oldest city in the world or holy pilgrimage cities in India located on the Banks of the Holy Ganges...... and so much ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing