We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Humidity problem in our room”
Review of Utkarsh Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Utkarsh Vilas
Ranked #120 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We visited Agra early April. Temperature was around +40 C.

Here you have some remarks regarding our visit
+ Room was clean, air conditioned and cozy.
- There was humidity problem in our room probably due to cooling. My friend was forced to take asthma medicin twice during the night.
- Hotel environment was messy
- No alcohol sales

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank timos961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Spent two nights in this hotel which is located opposite McDonalds in Agra. We were greeted on arrival in the spacious reception area with a glass of coke.

On the day of our arrival the lifts were behaving erratically and making strange noises. The hotel management seemed unconcerned but we decided not to use them during our stay. We were also told that we could not use the restaurant on the first night because they had no chicken or mutton and there was a problem in the kitchen that had to do with official regulations so we ate in the restaurant next door. We had left our key at reception while we went out to eat but when we returned we were dismayed to see our key, along with others, unattended, in a dish on a desk.

Our room was filthy dirty and had an air conditioning system that sounded like a steam train was in the room. There was no hot water throughout our stay. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room but we had to wash them before use.

The next day we were able to use the restaurant. Breakfast was included but the plates were dirty so we had to clean them before they could be used. We restricted our food choices to food that could be peeled such as bananas and hard boiled eggs due to concerns about cleanliness. The dining room does not have air conditioning so was also very hot and sticky. The kitchen staff told us that they did not have green tea in the hotel which was strange as green tea bags were provided in the hotel room.

We returned to the hotel in the evening after a long day out to find that our room had not been cleaned, our beds had not been made and wet towels not replaced. When we complained to the hotel manager we were told that it was hotel policy to only clean rooms where permission had expressly been given for them to do so. We explained that we had not been asked about this on arrival. The manager apologised and said he would get us clean towels. When we returned from dinner we found towels dumped in the bathroom and fresh tea bags thrown next to the kettle. Our beds remained unmade.

I would not recommend this hotel at all

Room Tip: Book a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hywheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. Room not very clean or well maintained. Mugs, tea and coffee but no kettle - however, they did bring one when asked. Poor service. Terrible breakfast. Swimming pool. No in room safe. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

I do not used this hotel room but because of tour arrangement we went there for lunch.

1. The lunch was self service and not special.
2. Chicken with fries was good and normal.
3. Toilet does not have tisue & liquid soap.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shahriar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

We had booked stay for 1 night at the hotel because of its proximity to Taj Mahal.

The reception area was sadly maintained with dis-interested person at the front desk.

The lift was in a condition that it might fall anytime.

As we levelled to our floor, the only view we got was of the road!!!

Room was decent, but there was no dressing mirror like there should have been in any standard hotel room.

Room service was dead!!! A jug of water never came.

Pool was also not clean, no beach towels, shabby changing room. And the way to pool was by crossing the entire dining area.

Breakfast was another sad story.. not worth mentioning also!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank npathak2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.6 km away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 143 in Agra
1,514 reviews
0.8 km away
Sterling Agra
Sterling Agra
#20 of 143 in Agra
400 reviews
0.4 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Samovar
Hotel Samovar
#126 of 143 in Agra
52 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
Hotel Bhoomi Residency
#60 of 143 in Agra
241 reviews
5.2 km away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utkarsh Vilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utkarsh Vilas

Address: Fatehabad Road | Opposite TDI Mall, Basai, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: €39 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Utkarsh Vilas 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Utkarsh Vilas is located 1 Kilometer from the Taj Mahal. An interlude at the Utkarsh Vilas is truly unforgettable. Enriched by the royal service makes an interlude at The Utkarsh Vilas exclusive and unforgettable. Come and stay at Utkarsh Vilas for a true luxury. Hotel is centrally located and all the monuments are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Utkarsh Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utkarsh Vilas Hotel Agra
Utkarsh Vilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing