We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for bag packers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friends Paying Guest House
Ranked #6 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Friends Paying Guest House is budget place for bag packers, you can eat there and have access to free wifi.
Friends Paying Guest House Run by family and they live in the same building you can ask for anything when you want.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamidShaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

The place is very near Taj mahal. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very basic and the door did not lock properly. But none of our things got lost despite all the hype about missing luggage. We didnt take proper locks with us so we were a little paranoid when we left our bags.
If you want to book buses/ taxis the owner is always helpful but book on your own, the commisions are very high (we almost paid double the amount)
Wifi was not on, so you should ask them to switch it on. But once its on it works well.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Tabbie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendguesthouse, Manager at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear guest thank you for giving 4 star rating ''Good'' , Our place is very close to the Taj Mahal ticket office , Our place very safe so don't worry about anything here . you said every thing was fine .We are not book train and bus tickets but we can help you . We know travel agency who book for us . They always charge more i am sorry it's not our job but we trying to help you .

Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We were only here one day to see the Taj, and the location is PERFECT for that. The hostel is
just a 10 minute walk to the ticket counter and 20 min. to the Taj. It's
located a bit far from some of the other sights in Agra, but
if you're aim is just to see the Taj, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Our stay at this hotel was horrible. On return mid morning from visiting the Taj, we returned to our room with our luggage clearly rummaged through. Zips where open, clothes and items moved around. We even wrapped our luggage with a towel because we were skeptical and the towel had been thrown off. We were skeptical because when we checked in the owner encouraged us to use our own padlock on the door, but we didn't have one so we used the hostel padlock. When we reported the incident to the manager he said he would check the CCtv footage to check and blamed it on the cat. He was in total denial and very unhelpful making us seem like we were making it up. One, we did not need proof from the footage because it was so clear that someone had been through our bags, two - I highly doubt the footage is reliable, and three - how could a cat get into a locked room and go through things, unzipping luggage. They also kept turning the air conditioner off to save power as the switch is on the outside of the room. My friend has also written a review about this hotel but it seems to have been removed. This is a very dishonest hotel. They were clearly looking for cash, as this is untraceable. Luckily our skepticism was correct and we took all our cash with us. However, we felt very violated having all our things gone through and treated the way we were when we tried to bring it to the managers attention that his staff cannot be trusted. Obviously, the manger is in on it too. Don't stay here. If you have to i highly recommend to use your own padlock and dont leave any money in the room! The food was also horrible.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaedingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendguesthouse, Owner at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for making second faked review , Thank you for making beautiful story and writing about us .When you told us this story some one went in your room and all mess but your cash was safe you because it was with you . My dear guest first you learn how to talk to people second thing is we have more than 20,000 guest stay here within 6 yrs ok and we have CCTV camera every where in whole property , WE BELIEVE CCTV CAMERA IS THE BEST THING FOR SAFETY but when you told us this story and I gave you offer to see in CCTV CAMERA why you didn't look . This thing you already mention in your review that owner offering us to see CCTV CAMERA ? so my dear guest firstly please tell me WHY YOU AFRAID WITH CAMERA EVIDENCE ? WHEN WE SAW THERE WAS NO ONE ENTER IN YOUR ROOM SINCE YOU LEFT AND GET BACK ? Maybe this is one of your fiend do as we told you earlier ? Without any evidence and proofs you can't blame us . The true is you don't want to pay for room and breakfast that's why you making story ( lying us ) but you forget our property is very safe and we have 13 CCTV CAMERA IN WHOLE PROPERTY . you can't play any game with us .

Thank you very much
Jonny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Unfortunatly our one night stay in Agra wasn't very nice at this guesthouse. The room just didn't feel clean, the WiFi was terrible, the electricity was switched off for half of our stay which meant we couldn't charge phones or cameras for the to, clearly it was the staff who were choosing to turn it off as other guests on here have complained about the same thing. We were told when we checked in that they had just adopted a little boy that they found on the streets which was very nice of them however during the stay on more than one occasion the boy came up to us asking for money, a little annoying when you're in your hostel still being hassled but fair enough if he has recently left the streets he may not know otherwise but the fact that he asked us in front of other staff who just laughed it off I think is disgusting. Other than that, the location is excellent 5 mins from ticket office and another 5 minutes to the Taj and also the manager was nice to talk to.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dom_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendguesthouse, Owner at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Dear guest , Thank you for writing review .
Sorry for inconvenience that you had here , In Agra we had storm 25 people died due to heavy wind storm , many trees cut , many cars fly , roof sheds destroy therefore we had electricity problem for 2 days and WiFi network died due to this disaster . You have to understand this problem . God bless to people sole who died in this disaster .


Thank you
Management
Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.9 km away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
592 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
2 km away
Friends Home Stay Agra
Friends Home Stay Agra
#22 of 210 in Agra
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#1 of 210 in Agra
532 reviews
0 km away
Backpacker Panda Friends - Agra
0 km away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 210 in Agra
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Paying Guest House

Address: P-6, Taj Nagri | Eastern Gate Taj Mahal, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Price Range: €8 - €9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Friends Paying Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Explore the epitome of love and one of the most visited destinations of the World: Agra, with all home-like comforts and exceptionally customer friendly services..... Backpacker Panda, one of the finest hostels to enjoy and experience the fascinating historical Mughal city, always on its toes to serve you the best! Located just a stone's throw away from jaw-dropping splendid white marble mausoleum, Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of world! Just believe! Neat and clean dorms with cozy mattress, a multi cuisine restaurant with finger-lickin' food, well-equipped kitchenette, coffee and tea making facility, fast and reliable Wi-Fi, friendly and immensely helpful crew, clean and hygienic washrooms, safe abode, pure drinking water......Perfect for relaxation after exploring the magnificent city of love! So come, stay and live your backpacking moments! " ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing