We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friends Paying Guest House
Ranked #6 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Reviewed 17 February 2016

The highlight of this guesthouse is that it is walking distance from the Taj Mahal. Hot water wasn't running all the time, and the restaurant above it takes so long to cook the average tasting food. Don't take the rooms located at the front of hotel as at night it can get quite noisy if there is a tourist who comes in to bargain for a room, the receptionist forgets that there are people sleeping on that floor. The rooms have no ventilation and the floors could do with a good mop down.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms towards the back of the hotel with attached bathrooms (groundfloor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keawra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendguesthouse, Owner at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thank you for your advise and writing review . Now temperature is 30 degree Agra is hot but if you wish we have plenty hot water all the time , some rooms are shared bath and some are attached bath depends what you booked . Also we have geyser you need to tell us before take a shower we will turn ON geyser and after you will take hot shower .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed our time at this guesthouse. It is a Family business and the atmosphere is very relaxed. They allowed us to check in early which was very nice since we were exhausted from our long train ride. We got some great travel tips from the owner and we really appreciated his hospitality. The room was also nice and clean!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Sascha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

In all fairness it is quite cheap. But the upstairs restaurant makes terrible food and I just found the atmosphere very boring. The hot water didn't work which was annoying. The staff weren't very pleasant. Honestly, Agra as a whole was terrible besides the monuments and I would say this hotel is a reflection of that.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friendguesthouse, Owner at Friends Paying Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Thank you for saying Agra and all terrible , We think you are only one who saying about our city and hostel food terrible , Our hostel have very cool atmosphere its family home stay . Agra city of love and wisdom . you can't say wrong about our city . India have lots of different colors of each city .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Although it has been some time that Ive visited Agra, this guesthouse still brings back happy memories. From the kind & warm hospitality of yusuf until getting some henna paintings from his sister! Hope she"s still doing good and enjoying school :)! Taj Mahal can be found within just a walking distance, which is superb!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ikram46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016

A lovely
little guesthouse
, run by an extremely nice
family with four children,
all of whom are happy to answer
questions or just have a conversation.
They will go to all ends to make sure you
are comfortable and are extremely protective
of their guests and knowledgeable about the
area. It also helps that the guesthouse is
a pleasant 10 minute walk from the Taj
Mahal. Just watch
out for the monkeys.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolancc0220022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.9 km away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#23 of 147 in Agra
592 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
2 km away
Friends Home Stay Agra
Friends Home Stay Agra
#22 of 210 in Agra
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Zostel Agra
Zostel Agra
#1 of 210 in Agra
532 reviews
0 km away
Backpacker Panda Friends - Agra
0 km away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 210 in Agra
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Paying Guest House

Address: P-6, Taj Nagri | Eastern Gate Taj Mahal, Tajganj, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Agra
Price Range: €8 - €9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Friends Paying Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Explore the epitome of love and one of the most visited destinations of the World: Agra, with all home-like comforts and exceptionally customer friendly services..... Backpacker Panda, one of the finest hostels to enjoy and experience the fascinating historical Mughal city, always on its toes to serve you the best! Located just a stone's throw away from jaw-dropping splendid white marble mausoleum, Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of world! Just believe! Neat and clean dorms with cozy mattress, a multi cuisine restaurant with finger-lickin' food, well-equipped kitchenette, coffee and tea making facility, fast and reliable Wi-Fi, friendly and immensely helpful crew, clean and hygienic washrooms, safe abode, pure drinking water......Perfect for relaxation after exploring the magnificent city of love! So come, stay and live your backpacking moments! " ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing