We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (878)
Filter reviews
878 results
Traveller rating
432
244
99
38
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
432
244
99
38
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tea factory premium room play area general manager special thanks badminton court front office f b manager valley view table tennis restaurant staff indoor games hotel is located travel desk dodabetta peak pleasant stay buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 878 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

I went with my family for couple of days to Ooty and chooses to stay at Sinclair retreat . I must recommend this is an awsum hotel with pleasant ambitious . I must admit the staffs are truly asset for the company and always with good vibes with positive response from the staff to manager level . A true posstive divine with nice place . Really the place is perfect place at ooty . Especially I am appreciating here Mr Sony MOHAN for his finest endeavour towards us .
Regards
Chandan Mohanty

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear Mr Chandan,

Thank you for sharing your joyful experience with us. The unforgettable view from the hotel is one of our USPs. We are thankful to you for your appreciation of our team members. Your words of appreciation are all we need as motivation towards providing better services to our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other hotels/resorts at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. We assure you of a memorable stay once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

It was a pleasant stay . Staffs are really humble specially Mr.Sony Mohan and Anup Singh for all arrangement FOM.Food is excellent.Garden is good and room is good view from the room is also good. Facility is excellent.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nilesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear Mr Nilesh,

Thank you for your great comments. Our three-level landscaped garden with a majestic view of the Ooty town and the Blue Mountains is a unique attraction of the resort. We always lay special emphasis on the quality and variety of food and our chef takes special care of the guest’s special needs or likings. Also your appreciation of the staff will motivate us to work harder to deliver superior services to our guests.
We look forward to your visiting us in any of our seven Sinclairs locations in the near future. We promise you once again of a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Sad, stinky and small rooms. We had kids, we paid for extra bed, and there was no place for extra bed. Furniture was moved out to put extra bed.

Restaurant food was tasteless. Breakfast buffet was really really small. Bar had almost no options. Staff was one that kind who doesn’t want to work. They were either under staffed or happily ignoring guests.

Avoid It!!!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shivanka2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Mr Shivank,

We are glad that you liked the location of our property; however we are saddened that your experience of staying with us was not a happy one. Our rooms are compact and functional but well appointed. We have shared your feedback with the team and have counselled them to be even more attentive to the requirements of guests.

Our restaurant serves multi-cuisine food and the guests are generally appreciative of our food, however we have taken a note of the shortcomings pointed out by you and assure you that these will be taken care of.

Do give us a chance to make your next stay with us an enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

First and foremost, the hotel is located in a pristine location away from the hustle and bustle of the main city. The location is fantastic. In the middle of the hills, you can see the valley and the city with lush green forest at the back. It is a 25 years old property but the maintenance is commendable. Hence, if you want the honks of horns, the usual chaos, the high speed internet access and malls then please do not book this hotel. Not to mention, they have Wi-fi facility as well. I didn't use it since I wanted to enjoy the nature and remain detached. They have a wide spread breakfast buffet which you should not miss. The food options for lunch and dinner isn't like a multi cuisine restaurant but they have what it takes to satisfy your appetite and the freshness of the food is surprisingly good. Do not forget to visit their bar which has a decent variety of drinks. Everything is priced well. Neither way too expensive nor cheap. The hospitality impressed me. Each and every staff I came across was very polite and extremely courteous. The service was very prompt and without any delay. Avail their transport services with extra cost of course for your local sight seeing and drop to the bus stand if you need it. Overall, the room, the food, the drinks, the behaviour, the location of the property and everything else made my Ooty trip a memorable one. I would definitely visit soon. A personal note of thanks to Prashant who made my evenings extraordinary and Partho for making me feel like home while I was enjoying my lunch.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Tuhin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear Mr Tuhin,

What can be more rewarding than having a happy guest! It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Yes we are located on a hilltop away from the hustle and bustle of the town and many of our guests are happy with our tranquil and serene surroundings.

We are very happy to hear that our staff made your feel at home. This is really one of the things that we try to maintain in our hotel. Your words of appreciation are all we need as motivation towards providing better services to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other hotels/resorts at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. We assure you of a memorable stay once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

Though the hotel was a bit farther into the city then i expected but the overall stay was good. Especially because of their wonderful staff who went out of their ways to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A staff member who is worth mentioning is Nilanjan Dey who was the most helpful and friendly, he delivered to our every whim be it a glass of milk or a simple salad without even one single utter of a complain and was very hospitable. So i would recommend Sinclairs Retreat to everyone.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Departure824999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhakaran, General Manager at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear Mr Mojibur,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your appreciation of the staff will motivate us to work harder to continue to deliver superior services to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Sinclairs Retreat Ooty or to our six other hotels/resorts at Siliguri, Darjeeling, Dooars, Kalimpong, Burdwan and Port Blair. We assure you of a memorable stay once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews