We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,160 results
Traveller rating
549
411
139
40
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
549
411
139
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm om prakash heritage property colonial style every evening hot water bottles british era superior room the cottages dining hall garden view wooden flooring hill station toy train main building bon fire memorable stay
Filter
Updating list...
437 - 442 of 1,160 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Even though in Ooty you may not get best place to stay.In the bunch of available best places this is one of the best i can say.Loved the View and people there.I think we have to plan one again with my Friends too.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shanskout2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!!

We thank you for your feedback in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to see your review speaking about the real heritage ambience of Savoy Hotel. we will share your comments with the entire staff.
We hope to see you stay at Savoy Hotel Ooty for a longer period and give us an opportunity to serve you.

With best regards
Vibhakar

P Vibhakar
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Ooty
99433 67330

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016

A good mix of traditional and modern. The food here was very good indeed, especially when enjoyed on the verandah. Lovely gardens, a decent spa, comfortable room which was quiet and clean. Location is far enough from the town centre to be quiet but close enough not to be inconvenient.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!!

We thank you for your feedback in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to see your review speaking about the real heritage ambience of Savoy Hotel. You have been kind to compliment about the food, garden and spa.
we will share your comments with the entire staff.

We hope to see you stay at Savoy Hotel Ooty for a longer period and give us an opportunity to serve you.

With best regards
Vibhakar

P Vibhakar
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Ooty
99433 67330
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

We had a great time at the Savoy. We'd been warned that it had 'faded charm' and yes it's quite old but our room was comfortable, clean of course, and the bathroom had been refurbished to a modern standard.

Ooty's 7000ft up in the hills so the absence of aircon wasn't an issue, in a warm February at least. On the contrary, our room had a fireplace and staff were on hand to light a fire should we want one.

The rooms are set in extensive grounds making it a relaxing place to be and to walk around. Ooty is a busy and interesting town, just a tuktuk ride away, and you can see some street life near the hotel.

The little bar is handy on a warm day, and we enjoyed our meal in the 'Olde English' wood panelled restaurant. It seemed very busy, and popular with non residents, which is a good sign.

Definitely worth a visit.

Room tip: We heard that some rooms are more modern than others. Ask.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Two_Tankertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2016

Dear Guest ,

Greetings of the day!!

We thank you for your feedback in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to see your review speaking about the real heritage ambience of Savoy Hotel , the room , fireplace and the staff. We will share your comments with the entire staff.

We hope to see you stay at Savoy Hotel Ooty for a longer period and give us an opportunity to serve you.

With best regards
Vibhakar

P Vibhakar
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Ooty
99433 67330
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

We were at this charming hotel end of January 2016. The property looked lovely as we drove in. We were greeted with hot toddy and friendly smiling staff. Check in was a breeze and we were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to a suite. Lucky us.
The manager Mr. Ansari gave us the suite and we appreciated this gesture very much.
I had spoken to Mr Ansari long before my visit enquiring about the possibility of getting a room with a nice view. At that point he quoted a price for such a room and I was not sure about paying more. So he kindly put a note stating we were interested in a room with a view and left it at that. Never knew we will be upgraded to a lovely suite.
The hotel is around 120 years old and looks well maintained, retaining it's British charm. Our room had a wood burning fireplace which the staff would have lit if we wanted it.
It also had a sunny sitting room in the front with windows that framed the scenery outside . Very comfortable bed, clean bathrooms and having someone to close the blinds, light the fire and get the bed ready for the night was very nice.
Our two nights in Ooty was just to rest after a long flight ( that was delayed due to the huge snow storm) and to recover from three days of wedding celebration in spite of our jet lag. This served the purpose very nicely. We had all our meals at the hotel restaurant . Elaborate breakfast was included and we enjoyed the other meals as well. They do have a nice spa that give Ayurvedic massages but I did not try the spa as I was too jet lagged .
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
We would like to thank Mr Ansari as well as the staff for our wonderful stay and will certainly recommend this beautiful place to anyone visiting Ooty.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bluesage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!!

We thank you for your feedback in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to see your review speaking about the real heritage ambience of Savoy Hotel. You have been kind to compliment about the staffs for their services, and view .
we will share your comments with the entire staff.

We hope to see you stay at Savoy Hotel Ooty for a longer period and give us an opportunity to serve you.

With best regards
Vibhakar

P Vibhakar
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Ooty
99433 67330
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Very happy with the service provided. Cordial staff and very helpful. Rooms well maintained. Would like more variety of south Indian food on the menu. Taj is among the best hotels and my experience with all the Taj hotels that I have stayed in, remains memorable.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SavoyhotelOoty_India, General Manager at Taj Savoy Hotel, Ooty, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback in Tripadvisor .

We are happy to see your review speaking about services, cordial staff and rooms of Savoy Hotel. You have been kind to compliment about the staffs for their services.we will share your comments with the entire staff.

We hope to see you stay at Savoy Hotel Ooty for a longer period and give us an opportunity to serve you.

With best regards
Vibhakar

P Vibhakar
General Manager
Savoy Hotel Ooty
99433 67330
pathyil.vibhakar@tajhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews