We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
331
207
31
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
207
31
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews themed hotel manager sanjay tiger hill garden facing room beautiful garden road leading we loved our stay deluxe rooms hustle bustle hill top main building british era ooty town old world charm mountain view special mention awesome place
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in Sherlock property last week for 5 days. Entire stay was very pleasant, staff was very accomodative and supported our needs. The location is very good and the big garden outside is the usp of this hotel. One can enjoy scenic views from hotel
Food can be improved a bit. Rest everything is Good.we will definitely visit again

Prabhat

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank PRABHAT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

I stayed Shelock with family in September 1st week. Property is on a beautiful location, Staff behaviour excellent, good breakfast, good room and beautiful garden. All places well maintained and tidy. Definitely I will visit again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank AnwarVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sherlock Ooty !

It has been a pleasure serving you and we are delighted that you could have the experience to treasure. We also thank you for sharing the same on this platform and look forward to welcoming you back again with friends and family in the not to distant future.

Regards,

The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

The Sherlock Holmes theme was somewhat unique in Indian hotels. The food was really nice. But slightly on the higher side with prices, but acceptable. The place is located on a very beautiful hillside and the view from the rooms are breathtaking. The rooms are comfy and amply furnished. There is a beautiful garden outside where you can have hot tea. There are three fireplaces in the lobby which they will light up for you -no charges. The rooms which are located in the separate block does not have internet they told. Food can be sent to these rooms if you want or you can eat in the English style restaurant. We had a few issues with linen but they rectified it immediately. The place needs a touch of maintenance, but still good.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shayarkhanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018


Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sherlock Ooty !

We thank you for the kind review you took the time to share on this platform and appreciate the kind words as well.

We have noted areas to get better and are team has already got on top of things.

Looking forward to your return visit at the earliest.

Kind regards,

The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Stayed at Sherlock in July for couple nights. It is not a big hotel, some 10-12 rooms only. It was a pleasant experience staying here, the views from the garden were great. It was a quaint old English bungalow which as the sherlock holmes theme.

The staff were friendly and the service was good! The food at the restaurant was also good. The garden facing rooms have plastic/Tin sheets for the roof, it was kind of loud when it rained, but no complaints it was nice to sit in the veranda and watch the rain. It is in a very quite section of the hill top so you do not hear any traffic. They would light up the fireplace in the evening if we requested and also provided heaters for the room as it was chilly (50 F).

They had a fairly decent buffet breakfast, but were not prompt in the timings. They had it at 8 am one day and 8.40 the next day. We had dinner here on 2 occasions and enjoyed the food.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shyamreddy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sherlock Ooty !

We thank you for the time taken to review us on this platform and appreciate the detailed outline of your experience.

We certainly have note areas to improve and get better and are happy for the ones that you enjoyed & pointed out.

Looking forward to your return visit at the earliest,

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

The view from the garden outside our room was nice and soothing. The room was comfortable but there was a strange smell in one part of the room. We pointed it out but nothing was done about it. Owing to the weekend, there was rush and we did not have any other option but to take this room. Thankfully, we had some lemon grass oil, which helped us mitigate the effects of the strange smell.
There was a separate sitting area looking over the garden. It had two chairs and a kettle to make your own tea/coffee. We never got the chance to sit and relax in it.
The breakfast was ok. Being in Tamil Nadu, you would easily get better upma, idli, etc. any where The puri-aloo was not bad.
We paid -as walk-ins - Rs. 5.600/- for one night, which was in a weekend during the summer holidays. I am sure you can get a better rate if you book in advance. I would suggest you shop around.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKP70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sherlock Ooty !

We appreciate your review and thoughts on various aspects experienced. However we are more than sure that room , service & facilities at Sherlock is hard to find elsewhere. We do, however value all feedback and give each aspect a second thought, for that you pointing out certain concerns has played a vital part.

As we always look to improve we thank you for the same and welcome you back in the not to distant future and can assure you of a experience to treasure.

Warm Regards,

The Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews