We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
341
214
31
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
214
31
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manager sanjay themed hotel tiger hill garden facing room beautiful garden road leading we loved our stay deluxe rooms british era hill top main building old world charm ooty town mountain view an awesome experience his team special mention
Filter
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Stayed for a day @ Sherlock in November'15. This was the second time we had booked out stay here. My previous stay @ Sherlock was awesome and in my opinion it "was" one of the best places to stay in Ooty (so said the Trip Advisor reviews which had ranked it as No.1 place to stay in Ooty as well). To my surprise, the standards have fallen a lot.
The linen in the room was not clean and was torn @ few places. The Restaurant menu (Adler's) had hardly anything available (Available things were written on a black board in the Restaurant). Cleanliness in Room & Restaurant has clearly taken a back seat. Food tasted average. It looked like they were understaffed this time. The only thing that looked well maintained was their garden. Its beautiful, and, the view from the garden is even more beautiful. Staff is courteous. Another thing which i noticed this time was that you can hear voices from the adjacent room very clearly (since all luxury room are in a row).
Overall lot of improvement needed in Sherlock to reclaim it's old ranking.

Room tip: Go for Luxury Rooms facing Garden
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for your feedback on Sherlock.We have noted that you have visited last November .Please be assured that most of the points mentioned by you have been taken care of .We hope to have the pleasure of you visiting again when I am sure you will find that Sherlock is truly one of the best properties in Ooty
Thanks and Regards
Guest Relations team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

This is a British bungalow with each room having a covered sit out, where you can enjoy a drink or a warm cup of tea. The rooms are named after Sherlock Holmes novels. The rooms are spacious with a fire place. The food is decent and staff is friendly. The manager, Sanjay, engages in a good conversation and was mots helpful. Transportation arrangements can be made at the front desk.

Room tip: Rooms facing the garden offer a good mountain view
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chalajathahoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on our property Sherlock and happy to note that you had a good stay.
We hope to have you stay with us again soon
Warm Regards
Guest Relations team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Sherlock with my family members as I was reffered by my friend who visited before and it was exceptionally worth it.
We could not locate Sherlock easily but once we reached it was an heaven on top of the hill of ooty where we captured a peaceful stay sitting in the beautiful garden.
Road to reach Sherlock was very narrow & bumpy but hoping the road will be better for my next visit.
Rooms were very good and clean with an old style chimney which is necessary for ooty climate.
Staff were so helpful & hospitable for each & everything and the manager was super friendly & caring.
Food was really delicious especially breakfast and chineese.
For those who wants a peace full stay, good service, personal care by the staff & good food....Sherlock is the one.

Thank you Sherlock team... we will visit back soon.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GRACE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlearth, Guest Relations Manager at Sherlock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and the review of your experience with us. We are thankful for your kind words in describing your experience with us especially with regard to the Ambiance, food and service. We do look forward to welcoming you back to another Littlearth resort soon

Thank You
Guest Relations team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Every person out there was extremely courteous. Loved the room with the wooden floors and unique colonial styling. Garden is very well maintained. Faced some issues locating the hotel, but the location adds to its charm. You get a good grand look at the nilgiri mountains standing right in front, from the garden. The common area is also very nicely done in Sherlock Holmes theme. It's a small hotel but maybe thats why its so well maintained and you get a very good personal service. Would definitely recommend.

Room tip: Garden facing rooms are the best.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kumar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

very relaxing experience (read: homely); responsive staff and high service quality, thus recommended.

Where I wish the resort can improve is (a) Wi-Fi connectivity and (b) the last 300-400 metres of road leading to the entrance of the resort can be maintained better as it is a steep climb.

Room tip: "Rooms with garden view are highly recommended" "The resort has very limited Wi-Fi connectivity i.e. only in the lounge area"
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ManishMandhyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews