We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #17 of 177 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place is very busy and it's almost impossible to get in without a booking during December/January period. We had a suite the first day because we arrived a day earlier than expected and it was large, clean, and nicely decorated. The hot water wasn't too great as it ran out fairly quickly during a shower. We switched to a standard room the next day which was a lot smaller but still clean. It was a lot noisier and darker than the suite though. The room service was excellent and the food was awesome with a great menu which was very reasonably priced. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the view from the restaurant was amazing ... especially since the lake was full. Mosquitos show up at night but the rooftop part of the restaurant seems to attract less of them than the bottom part. Nice atmosphere all around and it's very conveniently located near the tourist sites. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 969 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

I'd really like to give this hotel three and a half, but since it's not an option, we'll let the incredible view bump it up to four. It's a lovely old haveli, white-washed and candlelit in the evenings. Location next to City Palace is excellent. We walked nearly everywhere in Udaipur. It's easy to get auto rickshaws just outside the hotel if you want to go further afield as we did one night for dinner. The staff were helpful, and they keep the place immaculate, not an easy task. The flowers all over the courtyard and stairs are beautiful. Our room, the Pichola Suite, was enormous, but the sitting room part was basically useless since it only had a vanity and a window seat with permanently shuttered windows. We had excellent views of the lake, though, and enjoyed reading in the front window seat. There was character galore. The downsides, though, were a lack of hot water, cheap toiletries and towels, and no complimentary breakfast. We paid, by Indian standards, a good amount for the room, so these things should've been taken care of. When we checked in, the porter told us the whole city is without electricity from 8-10 in the morning, which was definitely not the case. Maybe he was just prepping us that we wouldn't get hot water at that busy time--who knows? Water pressure was also a joke, but it's a heritage hotel, so we expected some of those issues. We paid for breakfast one day, which was a bust. Only Western options were available. Also, our room was right next to the restaurant, which meant the music and voices from dinner were audible every night. Not a huge deal since we usually went out, but again, this was the most expensive room in the hotel. The restaurant is beautiful and the views stunning. Too bad the food was bland and the service ambivalent. We ate elsewhere after the first night. They're catering to tourists, and the food gets neutered. All in all, the incredible setting and character are what recommend this place.

Room Tip: Face the lake--that's what makes this place special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Udaipur is a beautiful place in India and staying at the Jagat Niwas only added to our experience. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The courtyards and alcoves are beautifully decorated with flowers and candles. They really make an effort to create a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel is unique with its many staircases and central courtyard. We stayed in a lake-front heritage room and found it very comfortable and cosy. We especially liked the large window seat with pillows. Great place for a nap! Service and food at the roof-top restaurant were very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Ambience is great. Lake view during dusk and dawn is beautiful. restaurant was bit costly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vandana_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This 400-year-old heritage hotel has a magical atmosphere, particuarly striking for us as we arrived after dark. The entire courtyard and upper floors were lit by candles and electricity -- like a fairyland. The room was rather small, but we had already heard that this was fairly normal for this hotel. Food was good and the rooftop restaurant, where we dined on two successive evenings, was a stunning experience, looking out at the lights of surrounding hotels on the opposite shore and especially the Lake Palace Hotel across the water. Guests on the rooftop were kept warm by means of portable charcoal braziers. Good food too, and the breakfasts on the next floor down (in a location almost as good as the rooftop) were better than adequate, with fresh fruit, eggs to order or cereal, and a pile of toast with lots of jam.and marmalade. The many dozens of pot plants gave colour. All in all a wonderful experience marred only (and only slightly) by the rather small room and awkward shower arrangements which left much of the bathroom floor wet after use. Would need no persuasion to return here!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 177 in Udaipur
2,416 reviews
1.7 km away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 km away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 177 in Udaipur
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel The Tiger
Hotel The Tiger
#76 of 177 in Udaipur
395 reviews
0.5 km away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 177 in Udaipur
512 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 177 in Udaipur
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: €61 - €202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing