We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place is very busy and it's almost impossible to get in without a booking during December/January period. We had a suite the first day because we arrived a day earlier than expected and it was large, clean, and nicely decorated. The hot water wasn't too great as it ran out fairly quickly during a shower. We switched to a standard room the next day which was a lot smaller but still clean. It was a lot noisier and darker than the suite though. The room service was excellent and the food was awesome with a great menu which was very reasonably priced. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the view from the restaurant was amazing ... especially since the lake was full. Mosquitos show up at night but the rooftop part of the restaurant seems to attract less of them than the bottom part. Nice atmosphere all around and it's very conveniently located near the tourist sites. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    502
    107
    31
    23
See reviews for
248
667
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I'd really like to give this hotel three and a half, but since it's not an option, we'll let the incredible view bump it up to four. It's a lovely old haveli, white-washed and candlelit in the evenings. Location next to City Palace is excellent. We walked nearly everywhere in Udaipur. It's easy to get auto rickshaws just outside the hotel if you want to go further afield as we did one night for dinner. The staff were helpful, and they keep the place immaculate, not an easy task. The flowers all over the courtyard and stairs are beautiful. Our room, the Pichola Suite, was enormous, but the sitting room part was basically useless since it only had a vanity and a window seat with permanently shuttered windows. We had excellent views of the lake, though, and enjoyed reading in the front window seat. There was character galore. The downsides, though, were a lack of hot water, cheap toiletries and towels, and no complimentary breakfast. We paid, by Indian standards, a good amount for the room, so these things should've been taken care of. When we checked in, the porter told us the whole city is without electricity from 8-10 in the morning, which was definitely not the case. Maybe he was just prepping us that we wouldn't get hot water at that busy time--who knows? Water pressure was also a joke, but it's a heritage hotel, so we expected some of those issues. We paid for breakfast one day, which was a bust. Only Western options were available. Also, our room was right next to the restaurant, which meant the music and voices from dinner were audible every night. Not a huge deal since we usually went out, but again, this was the most expensive room in the hotel. The restaurant is beautiful and the views stunning. Too bad the food was bland and the service ambivalent. We ate elsewhere after the first night. They're catering to tourists, and the food gets neutered. All in all, the incredible setting and character are what recommend this place.

Room Tip: Face the lake--that's what makes this place special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Udaipur is a beautiful place in India and staying at the Jagat Niwas only added to our experience. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The courtyards and alcoves are beautifully decorated with flowers and candles. They really make an effort to create a comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. The hotel is unique with its many staircases and central courtyard. We stayed in a lake-front heritage room and found it very comfortable and cosy. We especially liked the large window seat with pillows. Great place for a nap! Service and food at the roof-top restaurant were very good. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Ambience is great. Lake view during dusk and dawn is beautiful. restaurant was bit costly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandana_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This 400-year-old heritage hotel has a magical atmosphere, particuarly striking for us as we arrived after dark. The entire courtyard and upper floors were lit by candles and electricity -- like a fairyland. The room was rather small, but we had already heard that this was fairly normal for this hotel. Food was good and the rooftop restaurant, where we dined on two successive evenings, was a stunning experience, looking out at the lights of surrounding hotels on the opposite shore and especially the Lake Palace Hotel across the water. Guests on the rooftop were kept warm by means of portable charcoal braziers. Good food too, and the breakfasts on the next floor down (in a location almost as good as the rooftop) were better than adequate, with fresh fruit, eggs to order or cereal, and a pile of toast with lots of jam.and marmalade. The many dozens of pot plants gave colour. All in all a wonderful experience marred only (and only slightly) by the rather small room and awkward shower arrangements which left much of the bathroom floor wet after use. Would need no persuasion to return here!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.4 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
0.4 km away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing