We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Ranked #1 of 255 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Best piece of hospitality, complete customer delight

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imuvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    134
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
229
189
63
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

If you are going for a budget hotel and don't care about amenities or a restaurant (which this hotel does not have. It has a menu you can order from for room service) then this place is fine. There is no elevator and you could stay five floors up. This was not a problem for us. There were several things that were an issue, however. Some sort of pipe needed repair and there was hammering and drilling all night long and into the morning. The management never explained any of it to us, though we walked in and out several times and they could have said something about it. There is also a man who seems to own the tailoring shop next door and claims he is a "manager" but all I ever saw him doing was playing solitaire on the front desk's computer. This man was rude and even flirted with me in front of my husband. he made us all uncomfortable. The family who owns the guest house would be smart to cut him lose. We were traveling with our one year old and we found the place to be quite disruptive. Beyond the all night construction, or doorbell was wrung several different times by room service, each time waking our baby even though we never ordered room service.
The room itself was clean but the bathroom had not been cleaned in some time. There was even hair on the floor when we arrived. I never took a hot shower in our four days staying there, though they told me the hot water was on. On our last day, we needed a place to store our luggage as we were taking an overnight train later that evening. The owner said we could leave it in the lobby so long as my husband wrote a good review on tripadvisor. He made my husband write the review on the front desk's computer and sat by him while he wrote. This was not an uncommon request in India, we discovered. Read the reviews carefully. We felt we had no choice as we had a full day in Udaipur, post check out, and we would not be able to take our bags with us. Again, if you don't mind noise and annoying "managers" and not so clean bathrooms and people bribing you for a review and want just a cheap bed, then go for it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACCoop_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed for three days in Bhanwar Villas. Room was very neat and clean.Bathroom was also very clean. Owner is a very nice person, very flexible. He gave us directions. We would recommend, if going for Budget hotel then go for it. Under this budget just go blindly, do not worry.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abulqasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We were 3 friends and stayed for 2 days in Udaipur. Guest house is situated at a very good location. Rooms are very nice and clean. Staff is very supportive.

Saurabh Singh
Sanket Bajaj
Mohit Grover

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabh8singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Just leaving 2 great days in Udaipur.
I was in the Bhanwar Vilas after getting Trip Advisor recommendations, and I’m happy to provide my good feedback as well.
Most important is the nice hospitality of Mr. Sharma, the manager of the hotel and his team, who were there to guide us and provide any thing we needed. The guest house is very well located in the central area of all good spots. We got the top room in the 4 stages hotel. Room is very clean and nice. Not fancy, but no need for more. Shower is good, hot water arrived on time and beds are relatively comfortable.
All in all – very nice place.

Room Tip: 4th floor - a bit steep, but great view and no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErezR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.1 km away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.2 km away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 km away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.6 km away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhanwar Vilas Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhanwar Vilas Guest House

Property: Bhanwar Vilas Guest House
Address: 74, Gangor Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 255 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bhanwar Vilas Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guest house in the heart of city to give homely comforts with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bhanwar Vilas Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing