We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience, great recipes and an amazing lady”

Shashi Cooking Classes
Ranked #1 of 12 Food & Drink in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are honest people.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful experience, great recipes and an amazing lady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I attended this class a few months ago and after cooking some of the recipes Shashi showed me I feel compelled to write this review. This was the best evening in my 5 months traveling. Shashi is an inspiration and I have great respect for her. The class itself was so much fun and really interesting. Lots of giggles and mountains of food. What wonderful memories I have. If you have the chance to go you'd be daft not to.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeywalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    17
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shashi's Intimate Cooking class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Out of the cooking classes we took during our trip (3 total), Shashi's was definitely the best. We liked how she keeps the class to a minimum of 3-4 people per class and how we really get our hands dirty and help out with the cooking. There's so much good food at the end that we really were impressed at how easy she made it and how good it was.

One thing that really made the whole cooking class more intimate was how she told us her story (not sure if she tells every class) which was very touching. She has such an amazing story to tell the whole thing makes you really get a better understanding of life in India.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pinoyvlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Shashi is great. I don't want to ruin it, but she has a great story of "rags to riches." She is very friendly, has learned english extremely well and very fast. She knows the name of vegetables in many languages.

Do understand you are in her home. You eat in her living room/bedroom. The kitchen gets quite tight with six people. She assigns tasks and it's fun. There are mice running around, but I held to the thought that everything gets cooked, and no one in our group had any stomach issues afterwards (we've kept in touch). You can tell Shashi is an intelligent person. You will enjoy this experience. Go as hungry as possible, and do NOT fill up on the amazing pakora!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“If you're planning a cooking lesson you MUST do SHASHI'S cooking lesson, she is awesome, you won't be disappointed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

SHASHI is an awesome lady who had a really hard start to her adult life but worked hard to pull herself together for herself and her two kids. Her cooking classes are really popular, and it's easy to see why.

Classes are a maximum of 6 people. She'll spend approx half an hour going through the menu with you, then you start to cook. Everyone takes turns to make the dishes. We made so much food we couldn't possibly eat it all. From chai tea to pakoras to curries to dessert. From what I hear, she teaches more dishes than most other cooking schools.

Also she is excellent value for money, I think it was 250 rupees per person but we were there for 5 hours. (You could leave earlier if you felt this was too long but I think it was because we were all enjoying each others company so much, as well as sitting down and eating the food.) Shashi has been told to put her prices up but she says why? She's happy with what she earns so she says she doesn't want to put the price up. But I personally would be happy to pay more.

Shashi has an awesome personality and a great sense of humour, we had alot of fun learning from her. Her English is good and she explains things in detail. Classes are very relaxed but informative. Book now! Have fun! :-)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Biddy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A HANDS ON EXPERIENCE AND TASTE TREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Shashi would be a wonderful women just to sit down and talk to. In the context of her cooking classes she offers open dialogue about both herself, her cooking, family and India. In fact most of her family, she is a widow, were there helping to cut vegetables, wash dishes, clean up and interact with our small group of gastronomes.

We signed up, the day before, for a three hour class which actually turned into a five hour hands on journey and self created feast with no time wasted. Shashi says "come hungry" and we were sure glad we took her advice. She provides everything you could want, answers all your questions, and is funny as well.

This is not a professional kitchen experinece, you will actually cook in Shashi's kitchen and eat in the other room of her 2 room home. It was a situation where your were actually sharing her home a family for an afternoon.

When we were all done with the cooking (and snacking/tasting along the way) the family pitched in to clean up so that Shashi could deliver another similar experience 1 and 1/2 hours later.

We have already encouraged all of our friend to share our experience as it was the highlight of our visit to Uadaipur.

Bring a camera, a desire to learn, your sense of humanity, humility and humour.

No deadlines.
And all this for RS 500!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rrm_miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shashi Cooking Classes also viewed

 

Been to Shashi Cooking Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing