We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place, friendly family, trustworthy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shivam Paying Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivam Paying Guest House
Ranked #38 of 191 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great place, friendly family, trustworthy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed for three nights in a triple room. The first room had a dirty bathroom so please remember to check beforehand!

The room was very reasonable (400 rupees for 3 people) and the family were helpful. Free wi fi was much appreciated. The view from the restaurant was great!

We booked a Bishnoi village tour with the hotel and enjoyed it too, 500 rupees per person.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    55
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
43
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

A very good and comfortable place in India. Very detail advice in tourism. Nice and clean room, saved me after a whole day tour and midnight express. Warm and great help for booking train ticket. If I go to Jodhpur again, i will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryJheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

We spent a night at Shivam Paying Guest House in Jodhpur on the Old Fort Road whilst we were travelling in Rajasthan and we would definitely recommend it. When we arrived at 5am in the morning there was only a small room available and we were told by the owner that we could move into one of the bigger better rooms later in the morning when other guests had checked out – they had no problems with us checking in so early. As we were only staying for one night we decided not to move as our room was more than adequate. However we did see the other rooms and they were very spacious and full of light with nice bathrooms. There is also hot water in the mornings and in the evenings which is always nice. At the top of the hotel they have a nice restaurant with lovely views all around Jodhpur. The staff were also very friendly and very helpful. There was also a luggage room as check out is at 10am, that can be used if you have a late train and don’t want to carry your bags around all day. Finally the owner said that he will soon have internet available which he is setting up through his neighbour that runs an internet cafe just next door – he could do it himself but he didn’t want to put his neighbour out of pocket - the owner was a lovely man who likes to chat to people. All this for 300 rupees (double room) – BARGAIN!!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CharlieAndAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

This guesthouse has a good location in the center of Jodhpur. The room was big, with comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. The room was clean and already available early in the morning. People were friendly. Price was very budget. The guesthouse has a nice rooftop terras with a good view over jodhpur and the fort. The breakfast for only 130 Rs was super! Toasts,+ eggs +bananapancake + coffee/tea + fresh orange juice! Delicious!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anja78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

We did not stay in the Shivam directly, but in the Ganpati, which is situated just around the corner and run by the same owner.
The rooms there were clean and nice, the hotel close to the clocktower and the fort, in a smaller street without much traffic noise.
Most remarkable was the very helpful support we got from the owner who helped us book train and bus tickets and a very nice camel trip.
We never felt treated as tourists (those with the money) but as guests.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michi_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.2 km away
Pushp Guest House
Pushp Guest House
#23 of 191 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.2 km away
Yogi's Paying Guest House
Yogi's Paying Guest House
#8 of 191 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 km away
Tanu Guest House
Tanu Guest House
#17 of 191 in Jodhpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Achal Niwas Guest House
Achal Niwas Guest House
#32 of 146 in Jodhpur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.3 km away
Sun Shine Guest House
Sun Shine Guest House
#44 of 191 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 km away
Hill View Guest House
Hill View Guest House
#20 of 191 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivam Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivam Paying Guest House

Property: Shivam Paying Guest House
Address: Makrana Mohalla, Jodhpur 342001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are very centrally located near the clock tower in the old city. We have 9 traditionally decorated en-suite rooms with plenty of light and air. Our rooftop restaurant offers dazzling view of the fort and the blue city. On our menu we have Indian, continental, Italian and Chinese food and real espresso coffee. We do not promise big things but you can aspect a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable host at Shivam. Shivam paying guest house is recommended by leading guide books such as Lonely planet India,le guide du routard,le petit fute,trotter etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shivam Paying Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivam Paying Guest House Hotel Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing