We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manvar Desert Camp & Resort
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Jodhpur
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Manvar is a delightful retreat near the Thar Desert. It features lodges which are basic, and mosquitoes easily get into your room. The hotel however is excellent – a heated pool is lovely under the desert sun. Dinner is served at your table and features music provided by locals. Buffet breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKChris82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    90
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
107
117
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

i went there on my friends recommendation. it was superb. its like oasis in desert. so much greenery on their property. u enter their resort and the feeling is awesome. so well kept. so humble staff. was a place. everything well planned and arranged. we opted for tent house. and were surprised with the tents built. the bathrooms are well kept and well fitted . nothing seems weared out. nights are beautiful with star lit sky. food was good. entertainment was good. everything just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shikhapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva,
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at Manvar for one night and we were the only people staying at the hotel. We had a reasonable room, not very big and the mattress on the bed was quite hard and uncomfortable, like a bad futon. Arriving at lunchtime, the staff made us feel very welcome and we had a nice lunch followed by a swim in the pool. A small breakdown in communications meant we were still swimming when our Jeep safari turned up to take us out. But after a quick 10 minute change, we were bouncing over the dunes.

The jeep safari started really well, we saw some families who played music for us and showed us traditional blacksmithing. Our driver was quite adventurous behind the wheel which made for an exciting ride. We saw some antelope and then were taken to a large duned area for the sunset. A beautiful moment, completely ruined when our guide had us jump down from the jeep for photos with the driver (who spoke very limited English), while he drove the jeep around 300m away with our bags in (passports and money etc). The driver then demanded tips and money from us. Whilst we were aware of how things work in India and were prepared to give them tips, being randsomed like this was not acceptable. we walked back to the Jeep and returned to the hotel and whilst nothing had been taken, It upset us both and left us with a bad taste in our mouth.

In the evening the staff had set up a candlelit table for us on the rooftop, which was sweet, but we are afraid of being eaten alive by the insects, so we went into the A/C restaurant. Being the only ones in a hotel is not necessarily a good thing, we were watched like hawks and couldn't put anything down without someone rushing to us. The staff had also arranged a local flautist to come and play during our dinner.

The next day we left around 11am, breakfast was delicious, but despite all the staff the night before there was no one available at the Spa in the morning, so I wasn't able to get a massage. It was a nice resort but I think the jeep safari escapade ruined it for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steftheref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We expected a quiet resort in the desert, but Manvar Resort is just close to the main road. You will hear all the trucks and traffic all day and night. We arrived and had lunch. We preferred to eat inside to avoid the wasps and the birds at the tables outside.
The food was not the best but the service was good.
The resort is very artifical with no touch of quality. The bed was just like stone.
We had a really great jeep safari and it was fun to drive around in the sand but the camel safari was very very touristic.

We did not want to sleep at the resort so just after the jeep safari we drove back to Jodhpur and stayed at the Taj hotel.

If you want to stay in a resort in the desert you have to find another place.
We can't see any reason why stay at Manvar Resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KjetilandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a lovely monsoon holiday at the resort -the place was green and beautiful during the rains! and the staff is very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: The one with a balcony/verandah overlooking the nature walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashmi525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
81.4 km away
RAAS
RAAS
#3 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
84.5 km away
Umaid Bhawan Palace Jodhpur
88.6 km away
The Ummed Jodhpur
The Ummed Jodhpur
#18 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.6 km away
Ajit Bhawan
Ajit Bhawan
#9 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
83.5 km away
Ranbanka Palace
Ranbanka Palace
#13 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
80.1 km away
Mandore Guest House
Mandore Guest House
#8 of 99 in Jodhpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manvar Desert Camp & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manvar Desert Camp & Resort

Property: Manvar Desert Camp & Resort
Address: NH 114, Village Khiyansaria | Tehsil Shergarh, Ratanad, 10 kms before Dechu, Jodhpur 342025, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Jodhpur
#8 Romantic Hotel in Jodhpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Manvar Desert Camp & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the natural beauty of the great Indian Thar Desert, Manvar Resort & Camp is amongst the best desert resort & Camp right in the middle of the sand dune country. The perfect base from which to explore the Indian desert life, culture, wildlife and beauty. "Manvar," which means welcome in Rajasthani language has been designed as a village settlement. It nestles close to the ground almost blending with the surrounding desert landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Manvar Desert Camp & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manvar Resort & Camp Pvt Ltd Hotel Dechu
Manvar Resort And Camp Pvt Ltd
Manvar Hotel Jodhpur
Manvar Resort Jodhpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing