We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a place I would recommend to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Guest House
Ranked #22 of 194 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

The hill is huge and isn't in a very nice part of town.

Our room was huge but was off the verandah of the restaurant so don't expect peace and quiet. There is also a 'call to prayer' speaker that goes off very close by so that's not pleasant to wake up to.

Our bathroom was pathetic. There was no hot water and the shower head let out a weak drizzle so we ended up filling the bucket and just showering with that.

We sent off laundry and after asking on 3 different occasions over 2 days and were given various excuses as to why it wasn't back. We finally got it back and not all of it had been washed. We were also told we would get it back the same day it was sent off.

When checking in, our passports were handed over and we did not get them back that night. They had been left on top of the restaurant desk over night in a pile with other guests passports. The restaurant is open so they could easily have gone missing.

The service was poor when the lady in charge wasn't around and that was most of the time.

The food is very good though. The Thali was amazing.

They don't have credit card facilities and in a time where cash was so hard to get they made little effort to help us.
When it came to paying, they had a shouting match over the balcony about how much it was and then over charged us on several things. Luckily, due to their poor management they left the laundry off so that balanced out our bill.

Overall, the place ran poorly.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jimbo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Got here in middle of night. Receptionist was very friendly, gave us a good clean room with hot shower. Very close to fort and amazing virw from rooftop restaurant. Room was cheap, cleam, but the shower was a little broken. An excelent deal for budget travelers or backpackers!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Mihai Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Positive - Location is excellent and views are good.
Negative - We were recommended Hill View by other travellers so expected it to be decent. Unfortunately it is the worst place we have stayed in India compared to other places at the same price.
There was an ANT INFESTATION in our toilet! Plus the toilet was broken and had to be constantly fixed.
When we met the owner she was more concerned about us giving good feedback on Trip Advisor than actually asking us if the room was okay.
'Hot' shower never got hot despite numerous attempts to wait.
We were there during Diwali so expected fireworks and noise both nights, but didn't expect the hotel staff to be setting off loud bangers literally outside our room door from 12am-6am.
Food was very average compared to other places.
This is the first time I've given negative feedback on Trip Advisor.
With a few basic improvements the place could be much better.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

My friend and I loved our stay here! It's a bit of a walk up the hill to find it but it's so worth it as the view is incredible! I was really ill with a stomach infection from pushkar and both women were so kind at organising a doctor for me and rickshaw to come up the hill as far as possible. They pretty much nursed me back to health! Couldn't recommend this place more for a joyful stay in the heart of Jodhpur!

Stayed: October 2016
Thank ftwigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

I loved Jodhpur & lingered for five days & nights, enjoying every thing the city had to offer. The Hill View Guest House has a great set up & clean comfortable rooms at a good price. The restaurant serves not necessarily outstanding but enjoyable food & the staff were always helpful.
As well as the obvious proximity to the fort the guest house is close to a number of sights. Get Nimish from Cafe Royale (near the clock tower in Sadar market) to show you where the step well is. I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
1.3 km away
Govind Hotel
Govind Hotel
#16 of 102 in Jodhpur
532 reviews
0.6 km away
Singhvi's Haveli
Singhvi's Haveli
#1 of 194 in Jodhpur
652 reviews
0.1 km away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#7 of 194 in Jodhpur
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
#8 of 194 in Jodhpur
191 reviews
0.7 km away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#10 of 194 in Jodhpur
238 reviews
0.4 km away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#6 of 194 in Jodhpur
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Guest House

Address: Kille Khana Hill View Guest House Near The Fort Fort Road, Jodhpur 342002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: €11 - €33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing