We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for solo travellers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill View Guest House
Ranked #24 of 196 Jodhpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Bit of a late review but that's life when your backpacking. We stayed at Hill View for 2 nights in January. To be honest we weren't very impressed with Jodhpur from the minute we arrived as we got messed about by the tuk-tuk driver. He took us to a different guest house which he was obviously receiving commission for so when we told him no we wanted Hill View he pointed up the road! So we made him climb the hill up to the guesthouse before we gave him any money.
When we arrived there was only one double room available, which was very small, the bathroom was tiny, but it was clean and tidy. The bed wasn't very comfy thou :( The owner Zaffron and her staff are cool, really friendly and helpful. The view from the roof top is amazing and well worth a stop on you way to the fort. We did plan to stay in Jodhpur longer however we decided to leave after 2 nights. This was mostly due to Jodhpur itself as we have been travelling India for a while and it was just another big city with a fort.
In my opinion Hill View is perfect for solo travelers, it a good way to meet other travelers and Zaffron is really helpful if you need help of any kind. She helped us with acommodation on our next stop as she has friends with a guesthouse their and it was a fantastic place.

Room Tip: There is 2 blocks to the guesthouse, ours was in the 2nd block and we didn't see the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyPru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

We didn't stay in the Hill View Guesthouse & Restaurant for night, we just were there for a few hours for lunch an talking with these wonderfull women, who are managing the guesthouse & the restaurant.
The guesthouse has a beautifull view over the hole city because it's directly under the Fort on the walkway down to the city. It's a familiare atmosphere there, the rooms are basicly but clean - we saw one of them - and the food in the restaurant was delicious! Everything there is pleasant, relaxing, nice and clean. First, we only wanted to make a short stop having some tea. But then, we stayed there for lunch and many hours, sat at the terrace with tasty masala tea, read articels (free wifi) and chated with the owner and some guests. Perfect!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THINKaboutNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

this is the last place before the long arduous climb to the Fort, and the rickshaws cannot climb up to Hill View Guest House. So you will end up braving 100 metres or so with your huge backpack. the family that runs this place -- the muslim sibings and their kids -- is super fun. they seems (and are) disorganized but they are really really fun.

the balcony restaurant is great place to meet fellow travelers, enjoy a few beers, get henna from the proprietress (pay as you please). all in all, great place for solo travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aalholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I did not stay in this hostel. I met travellers who were staying here.

The atmosphere of this place is really cool. It's the ideal place for the solo travellers.

The owner (Zaffron) is awesome. She is fun, relax and interesting to talk with! She took us to town, organized an improvised picnic dinner for us with some of her friends, found someone to take me back to the place I was staying safely.

I had a some drinks and some meals in the terrace. The food is great, the view is awesome (especially in the morning).

This is the place I should have stayed in Jodhpur.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ibo_de_fbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

LOVED Hill View Guest House!!! Had a super clean room with hot water, wifi, and a comfy bed! The entire staff is so amazing, warm-hearted and treats you more like a friend than a guest. The spicy veg pizza is really good with a banana lassi sitting on the roof top with absolutely amazing views of Jodhpur! This place is great for backpackers to meet other travelers and is located next to the fort entrance!

Room Tip: There are two buildings but all the rooms seemed perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jodhpur hotels
0.7 km away
Castle View Home Stay
Castle View Home Stay
#10 of 196 in Jodhpur
245 reviews
0.3 km away
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
Jodhpur Heritage Haveli
#7 of 196 in Jodhpur
198 reviews
0.4 km away
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
Dylan Cafe & Guest House
#4 of 196 in Jodhpur
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
King's Retreat Jodhpur
King's Retreat Jodhpur
#8 of 196 in Jodhpur
286 reviews
0.8 km away
Cosy Guest House
Cosy Guest House
#16 of 171 in Jodhpur
275 reviews
0.2 km away
Yogi Guest House
Yogi Guest House
#23 of 196 in Jodhpur
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill View Guest House

Address: Kille Khana Hill View Guest House Near The Fort Fort Road, Jodhpur 342002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jodhpur District > Jodhpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Jodhpur
Price Range: €10 - €31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hill View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing