We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location, great value for money!”
Review of Hotel Fort View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Fort View
Ranked #55 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Sadly we only stayed one night in Jaisalmer (25th August), but had we known we would have found such a great place we would have planned to stay more.

As always in India, how your stay goes depends entirely on your expectations. True, we reached Jaisalmer at the peak of low season, with very few tourists in town, but nonetheless Fort View exceeded our expectations:

- We stayed in one of the rooms with full view of the magnificent Jaisalmer Fort. As backpackers, this was by and large the best view we had in a month in India. The room was very large, pretty, and above all clean.

- One of the employees, Ali, was always at hand to give tips and help out. He also runs the restaurant at the last floor, which makes surprisingly good food (I highly recommend the haughty-sounding "Maharaja thali"), including some Rajasthani fare, and is a quiet place to unwind in the late evening while contemplating the Fort.

- The owner, Mr. Raju, also runs the very efficient travel agent on the ground floor, and was able to find us a very affordable and quick solution for our trip back to Mumbai.

- The only thing this hotel needs to work on (hence the 4/5 rating): the showers, which had slight problems in draining water while we were there.

All in all: highly, highly recommended for budget travellers :)

Room Tip: Bear in mind that, despite the name, not ALL rooms actually face the Fort, so you may want to specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gio Matteo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Fort View and had a wonderful time. They offered cheap (250 R) clean rooms and never pressured us to do a camel safari. The staff is very friendly! I would highly recommend.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stacia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We spend a very good time in this pretty little hotel; good food, good rooms and amazing welcome!! Thank you Ali! And amazing time on the restaurant on the roof, peaful vibes...
Best hotel in Jaisalmer!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leniecarpentras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Colorful hotel with good rooms. Bathroom is just fine, no washing sink in our room though. But overall decent enough and I especially liked all the different colors the room had. On the rooftop is a nice restaurant with a good view of the fort. Ali the cook is amazing, superfriendly and he makes you feel at home all the time. Very genuine and lovely people! We had a good stay there.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Anoniem353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

This place was excellent! We were greeted by the owner Ali, got a room immediately with stunning views of the Fort. The room was super cheap, just 500rps for 2 double bed room. And I have to mention Ali, he was such a fantastic guy, full engergy and happiness. I would definitely recommend staying here at Fortview. Its walking distance to everything in the city.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank johndang91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jaisalmer hotels
0 km away
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
Hotel Laxmi Niwas
#68 of 114 in Jaisalmer
43 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Star Haveli
Hotel Star Haveli
#69 of 114 in Jaisalmer
45 reviews
0.1 km away
Desert Haveli Guest House
Desert Haveli Guest House
#29 of 114 in Jaisalmer
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel City View
Hotel City View
#50 of 114 in Jaisalmer
16 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Golden City
Hotel Golden City
#32 of 114 in Jaisalmer
197 reviews
0.2 km away
Backpacker Panda Oasis - Jaisalmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort View

Address: | Central Market, Jaisalmer 345001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Jaisalmer District > Jaisalmer
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 114 Hotels in Jaisalmer
Price Range: €10 - €94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT HOTEL - hotel fort view since 1983 hotel fort view are oldest property in jaisalmer hotel fort view recomnded by lonely plante hotel fort view your 2nd jaisalmer home our hotel room perfect all traveler,s we 6 double bed rooms and 2 four bed room all rome have free wifi four bed room perfect fort view e Enjoy our multi-cuisine roof top restaurant for a meal overlooking the breathtaking fort, or just relax on the terrace with a cup of chai and watch the world go by! h (HOTEL FORT VIEW CAMEL SAFARI) FORT VIEW CAMEL SAFARI 1ST CAMEL SAFARI ORGANIZER I N TOWN SINCE 1983 WE ARE ARRANGE Day Tours/ Sleeping Under the Stars: Experience the true soul of this enchanting land by adventuring out into the Thar desert on one of our many safari packages. On our most popular overnight safari, you will enjoy a 45 km ride by jeep through the desert followed by an hour long camel ride to your camp in the dunes where you will watch the magnificent sunset and have a traditional Rajastha ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing