We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
20
6
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
6
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Honestly that was the best mattress and one of the more cleans rooms I stayed in my last trip on India, I was planing to stay there for two nights but I stayed for 5.
The owner are very nice people, if you want to spoil your body for few night spent some nights here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
8  Thank DoriQLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Bright, clean and new, Raj Palace is on a little lane just off the main cliff front. Rooms are very clean, beds are big with mosquito nets, there is complimentary tea in the morning.

Rooms upstairs are way better with nice balcony and the best beds in India. You can sit outside the rooms downstairs on a shared terrace but it is not as private as upstairs.

Wifi is strong and reliable.

Great budget hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DigitalisPurpurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here for 12 nights over Christmas 2012. We chose the Raj Palace after tramping along the cliff front looking at either pricey, or grotty and pricey rooms. It's is at the North end of the cliff about 50 metres off the front down a quiet alleyway. Its pretty much brand spanking new and has the most comfortable beds we encountered in our 9 week trip. The owner took great pride in the mattresses which cost him 8,500 rupees per single bed. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but big enough and the beds have a proper full mosquito net. There's free wi-fi which worked reasonably well in the room. A box of mineral water was provided and replenished and charged at pretty much cost price. They clean the rooms when you ask and change towels and bed linen.
All in all we very much enjoyed our stay with a friendly family who take great pride in their accomodation and service. Highly recommend it to anyone wanting a simple, extremely clean and quiet place within 50 metres of restaurants, shops and the beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy. The downstairs rooms open onto the track leading down to the cliff and beach.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bazncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed over Christmas for 3 nights as a group of 8. The rooms are basic but very clean - bed with mosquito net and small table plus bathroom with cold shower [warm water not needed in this part of the world]. The rooms are hot even with the ceiling fan but I had acclimatised by Day 3. I really enjoyed the hammocks on the verandah outside - it's the coolest place to be!
Saji is a lovely lady, all smiles and she was helpful with whatever we asked of her. When the time came to leave she arranged a close friend to take us in his taxi, which provided comfort when we got lost in the dark countryside - we knew that we would be taken care of!
The resort has no facilities but it is in the thick of Varkala where you are spoilt for choice with cafes, shops, travel agents, spas, beach access etc. It is a 2 minute walk to the beach access - 80 slightly rickety steps to the beach - which, unfortunately, means that you cannot access the beach after dark, but the sand is clean and there is a lifeguard station keeping an eye on swimmers.
At 8 am and 4 pm each day there is a 1 1/2 hr yoga class on the resort roof. The 8 am one finishes just before the sun reaches the rooftop over the tops of the tall palm trees.
All over India there appear to be stray dogs and Varkala is no exception. They can be an unwanted presence on the beach by day and at night the barking is a nuisance. During the nights that I was there my ear-plugs proved to be invaluable so make sure that you have a pair with you.
Excellent value compared to other Varkala accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarolineSMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews