We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place on the cliff”
Review of Raj Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raj Palace
Ranked #25 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived at Raj Palace with the intention to stay a week. When we left 11 days had gone by. The building consists of 6 rooms. The 3 rooms upstairs with balcony and hammock have very good matresses. The room is clean, there is hot water. We just had such a lovely stay there. Owners are very sweet and relaxed. Definitely would come back and/or advise this place to everyone. Don't forget to negotiate about the price ;-)

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have the best beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Carina850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Honestly that was the best mattress and one of the more cleans rooms I stayed in my last trip on India, I was planing to stay there for two nights but I stayed for 5.
The owner are very nice people, if you want to spoil your body for few night spent some nights here.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
8  Thank DoriQLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Bright, clean and new, Raj Palace is on a little lane just off the main cliff front. Rooms are very clean, beds are big with mosquito nets, there is complimentary tea in the morning.

Rooms upstairs are way better with nice balcony and the best beds in India. You can sit outside the rooms downstairs on a shared terrace but it is not as private as upstairs.

Wifi is strong and reliable.

Great budget hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DigitalisPurpurea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here for 12 nights over Christmas 2012. We chose the Raj Palace after tramping along the cliff front looking at either pricey, or grotty and pricey rooms. It's is at the North end of the cliff about 50 metres off the front down a quiet alleyway. Its pretty much brand spanking new and has the most comfortable beds we encountered in our 9 week trip. The owner took great pride in the mattresses which cost him 8,500 rupees per single bed. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but big enough and the beds have a proper full mosquito net. There's free wi-fi which worked reasonably well in the room. A box of mineral water was provided and replenished and charged at pretty much cost price. They clean the rooms when you ask and change towels and bed linen.
All in all we very much enjoyed our stay with a friendly family who take great pride in their accomodation and service. Highly recommend it to anyone wanting a simple, extremely clean and quiet place within 50 metres of restaurants, shops and the beach.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy. The downstairs rooms open onto the track leading down to the cliff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bazncaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed over Christmas for 3 nights as a group of 8. The rooms are basic but very clean - bed with mosquito net and small table plus bathroom with cold shower [warm water not needed in this part of the world]. The rooms are hot even with the ceiling fan but I had acclimatised by Day 3. I really enjoyed the hammocks on the verandah outside - it's the coolest place to be!
Saji is a lovely lady, all smiles and she was helpful with whatever we asked of her. When the time came to leave she arranged a close friend to take us in his taxi, which provided comfort when we got lost in the dark countryside - we knew that we would be taken care of!
The resort has no facilities but it is in the thick of Varkala where you are spoilt for choice with cafes, shops, travel agents, spas, beach access etc. It is a 2 minute walk to the beach access - 80 slightly rickety steps to the beach - which, unfortunately, means that you cannot access the beach after dark, but the sand is clean and there is a lifeguard station keeping an eye on swimmers.
At 8 am and 4 pm each day there is a 1 1/2 hr yoga class on the resort roof. The 8 am one finishes just before the sun reaches the rooftop over the tops of the tall palm trees.
All over India there appear to be stray dogs and Varkala is no exception. They can be an unwanted presence on the beach by day and at night the barking is a nuisance. During the nights that I was there my ear-plugs proved to be invaluable so make sure that you have a pair with you.
Excellent value compared to other Varkala accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CarolineSMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Varkala hotels
0 km away
Palm Tree Heritage
Palm Tree Heritage
#2 of 52 in Varkala
966 reviews
0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Janardhanapuram Varkala
0 km away
Clafouti Beach Resort
Clafouti Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Varkala
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Akhil Beach Resort
Akhil Beach Resort
#16 of 52 in Varkala
403 reviews
0 km away
Heavenly Breeze
Heavenly Breeze
#34 of 103 in Varkala
52 reviews
0 km away
Karthika Plaza Resort
Karthika Plaza Resort
#11 of 52 in Varkala
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raj Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raj Palace

Address: Papanasam Raj Palace Kurakkanni, Varkala 695141, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Varkala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 120 Speciality Lodging in Varkala
Price Range: €9 - €35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raj Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing