We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
152
209
83
40
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
209
83
40
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride periyar lake beer parlour the reserve premium room swimming pool inside the periyar tiger reserve early morning boat trip hotel compound long queue government run forest area monkey problem boating tickets wild animals forest department recreation room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Aranya Nivas is one of the few options in Thekkady if you want to experience the 'Stay in the wild' within the Periyar

Forest Reserve. The fact that this one is quite a old resort had me a bit worried. But all my apprehensions were laid to

rest once I stepped into the resort. The entire makeup of the place is that of a wild jungle lodge with a perfect

blend of modern amenities. The room was clean and the bathroom was renovated. The staff was quite friendly and helpful.

The restaurant has a limited menu and food is a bit expensive. However, it is quite understandable considering the very

limited options within the forest reserve. An added bonus is the availability of the tickets for the Boat ride at the

front desk, which saves the trouble of standing in long queues at the ticket counter. The resort also has a pool and a

recreation room if you get free time. But I strongly recommend a nice long walk inside the reserve which is a rare

opportunity.

Overall, a very well maintained resort just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Boating Point!!

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahul22bhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

to good location near the lake..amzing site between the forest ...covered by long trees ...lot of monkeys moving around and traveler advised to be alert from them ..remember you can not go out side from resorts after 5 pm due to wild life reserved century law

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank santoshsgh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I would strongly recommend people to stay inside the periyar tiger reserve.this reserve has three hotels periyar house ,,aranya niwas, and lake view. We stayed at aranya niwas.the room we stayed in was a deluxe room with all modern facilities.the window opened towards jungle from where we can see monkeys on trees.in the night when you move out in the premises of hotel,it's awesome experience of staying in a forest.After five pm we cannot go out of reserve ,,if you have to return after five you will have take permission from hotel manager and in evening when you return they send their jeep to take you safely back to hotel.we returned back to hotel at seven pm on hotel jeep.in the way we saw Sambhar deer and porcupines in the jungle. Book your stay with breakfast and dinner if possible .the restaurant inside the aranya niwas is very good but bit expensive. They have a nice swimming pool to enjoy.overall one enjoy s very much at aranya niwas.plz like my comment if you find it useful.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank jasminder2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

We had the opportunity to stay inside the reserve. There are a number of restrictions there like you have to enter the reserve gates before 5 pm or else you may not be allowed inside. Permission may be granted by the Forest Officer if he thinks it is safe.
The boat ride is picturesque with long winding waters surrounded by greenery with occasional view of wild life like wild bison and sambar deer.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Family2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We stayed here 2+2 kids early June for 3 nights, as part of a family get together we had to attend near Kottayam. This was pre-monsoon season and it was alternating between mild sun and rain.

Pros
Clean rooms with hot water
Forest atmosphere
Helpful staff
Quaint pool (surrounded by trees and occasional simians)
Boat ride gives great landscaping views with vivid color... and we can see elephants, bison, wild dogs, deer etc.
Lots of places to visit (scenic spots, views, lakes, dams, waterfalls...) if you have time, though each spot is 2-3 hours of twisting roads -

Cons
Not much to do for kids other than swimming pool
The day ends by 6.30 pm, its not advised to move out of premises after dark
The entry to forest area is cut off by 5.30PM, cant get in or out after 5.30PM. We had to attend event in nearby town and had to hurry back each day
Entry each day into forest zone is Rs 40 per pax
And there is a monkey menace. The monkeys will aggressively grab plastic covers from your hands (plastic covers = food). They grabbed Lays and other covers from visitors. This also means you cant open your room windows, they can come in.
Limited menu options in the restaurant

Overall: Great place for a forest like ambiance, nights are v quiet and several small animals visit the premises. But look at this place for an immersive stay, dont try outside travels from here, access to and fro is constrained and cumbersome.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TT_From_Chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews