We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location 2 room type reviews”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

An older style hotel, without being rundown, fittings telephone etc are colonial period. Service is excellent and very friendly.
Nicely situated within easy walking of the Chinese fishing nets, here we had 2 different rooms . Initially we started in the 1st floor Palace suite, which was very large with a 4 poster bed. Off of the bedroom is an inner balcony/ day room with some seating, a lounger and a chair. From here there is access to a very narrow balcony with views over the park type area outside. View is OK but is perhaps spoilt by the power cables and poles. The bathroom has a good shower with plenty of hot water. The room is quiet but the air con can be a little noisy. For free WIFI you have to come downstairs
Food in the hotel is excellent with a very good choice for vegetarians based on Risotto/Bruchetta, and is generally a la carte). Beer and wine are available in the restaurant at a reasonable price, beer approx 350 rupees and Red wine 1350-2500 Rupees. Sula is the local Red wine and is OK. Ambience in the garden dining area is very nice and whilst we were there we had evening music.
Our second room was a garden villa, this is smaller than the suite, with an outside private and efficient shower, the room faces into the inner garden courtyard and is very quiet and comfortable. Access to the large pool is a few strides away and outside the room is a small seating area. In fact we preferred this to the suite. Free WIFI is available in this room
Both rooms have plug in mosquito dispensers and should be used, however during our stay we were not really plagued by the little beasts
Downside for nearly all hotels on our Kerala/ Tamil Nadu trip was that the sinks do not have plugs. Both room have Indian round 3 pin adapters with the additional facility to insert a Euro 2 pin plug of either the thin or slightly thicker varieties.
The area around is safe and we walked during the day and in the early evening and didn’t feel at all threatened. Touting for business is minimal and not pestering, in the evening you can walk the Chinese fishing nets and see the daily catch. For photographers then the pictures of the nets with a perfect background are probably not taken on this side of the river, or maybe not even in Kochi, but I am sure someone will tell me if I am wrong.
An important point is that here in Kochi one can buy bottles of tonic from a nearby general store, basically come out of the hotel turn right then take the next right hand street and at the end on the left are a couple of general stores, tonic ranges from about 55 to 65 rupees per 250/300 ml bottle. A liquor licence is expensive and difficult to obtain in Kerala so be aware that many hotels may not easily be able to serve beer or wine. Those that don’t generally do not mind if you bring your own to the restaurants.
We felt that our 2 day stay in Kochi was about the right amount of time, thanks to Benny of Musafir tours for the advise on duration.

Room Tip: Garden Villa are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 742 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is definitely better than a 3 star . The Proprietor/Manager, Edgar was very hands on, and seemed to be aware of everything going on, very helpful and friendly.
The room was excellent, very clean and the in house service first class.The pool area was very pleasant and the garden well attended. The restaurant is clean and well appointed, food and service excellent. Service was 1st class at all times.Tipping is not encouraged, but there is a communal tip box in reception,which we found nice,because at our own descretion we left more.
The only adverse comment I could make about this hotel which is outside their control are the awful house crows.

Cochin harbour leaves a lot to be desired and needs a good clean up,the constant badgering by street vendors, and shop owners can be a bit annoying.
.

Room Tip: Please stay here you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed at The Old Harbour Hotel in their Dreamz House for 6 nights in February at the end of a 5 week tour of India & Thailand. The Dreamz House, a colonial style townhouse, is situated a couple of streets away from the hotel, it's decorated in the same tasteful way as the hotel with interesting objets d'art and pictures. The open-air shower was an interesting, unusual feature as was the kitchen which was open to the courtyard on one side. The bed was a little hard, but we still slept well. While there is no wifi at the Dreamz House, the staff at the hotel set our laptop up with a dongle for no extra charge, so we could use the internet. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, the food was excellent. The fresh juices at breakfast were wonderful and my husband enjoyed the masala dosa. They made me a sweet dosa with fresh fruit for breakfast which was divine! We had dinner in the lovely garden by the pool, it was lit with lanterns, so romantic. We were there for Valentines Day and everwhere was decorated with red roses, including our little house, roses everywhere and rose petals in the shape of a heart on our bed. The sea-food platter we shared (it's huge) was delicious and the chef comes out to speak to the guests to make sure they are happy. I was a little disappointed that there were no traditional indian sweets for dessert. Also, the hotel don't serve spirits, just wine and beer, in fact we couldn't buy spirits anywhere in Cochin. The staff were extremely warm and friendly, in particular Sukesh and Jude. We arrived at 1am and there was fresh coconut milk to revive us. The little white kitten, Kashi was also very welcoming, he was so sweet! The hotel is situated within walking distance of the Chinese Fishing Nets, St Francis Church, lots of shops and restaurants and a short tuk-tuk ride from the Spice Market, Jew-town & Mattanchery Palace. We also went to Ernakulum on the ferry which takes 15 mins, 2.5 rupees each! Takes a lot longer if you go by car. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puddledockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed at this very charming and comfortable hotel on Feb 4th for two nights. The process of booking on line was very prompt. We were picked up from the Ernakulum train station and brought to this very tastefully renovated old Dutch/Portuguese colonial home. The owners of this small hotel have saved this heritage property from wrecking ball. It is within walking distance to some nice restaurants, shopping and a short TukTuk ride to the Jew-town.

The food was excellent with a wonderful view over a well maintained garden and a swimming pool. We stayed in the Princess suite which is the best room gave us . We looked in to a couple of other rooms and they were excellent too.

Check in process was very smooth and the staff was very polite and friendly. They arranged a safe driver to drop us to the Kochi airport after midnight.

Room Tip: Princess suite is the best it faces the street. The rooms on the first floor facing the garden or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This hotel is just gorgeous. We were so relieved to arrive here and instantly felt relaxed and in a special spot. The rooms are large and comfortable, the garden bar stunning and the swimming pool outstanding. You feel like you are in a special part of the world and can block out all of the caos outside on the road. The owners have done a wonderful job bringing this building back to life and you do feel like part of the family staying there. The service was always excellent and nothing was ever a problem. We just wish we could have stayed longer. It was a privilege to experience this property. Note: there are no TV's in the rooms here, a little bit of a shame as we wanted to follow the India/Australia cricket! It was also nice to have a range of wines, from outside of India and to also have Carlsberg Beer available, having only had the option of drinking Kingfisher for two weeks it was lovely to have a change!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,123 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#12 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
749 reviews
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
675 reviews
9.9 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: €198 - €407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing