We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go to the Old Harbour Hotel!”
Review of Old Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Old Harbour Hotel is just an excellent place to stay. It's decoration is a rest for the eye, unique and well thought of. Personal Service (note the capital S), pleasant dining with a menu that gives you a great fusion of Indian and Mediterranean food. A beautiful garden with a nice pool. Great (and big) rooms. Best spot of Fort Cochin!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wuyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

869 - 873 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Very happy we chose to stay our 2 nights in Cochin at this hotel.
Full of character colonial hotel set in Old Fort area which is prime for tourists, close to Chinese Fishing Nets and old town.
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was excellent, so good we decided against going out to the famous Brunton Boatyard seafood restaurant. Entertainment of Indian music during evening outside restaurant.
When we were there a lot of press people and paparazzi gathered outside because some Bollywood movie star was staying there.

Room Tip: Some balcony rooms if you specify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Unfortunately, we were unable to stay at the Old Harbour Hotel as it was fully booked for our travel date. We decided to do the next best thing and go to dinner there instead. So glad we did, it was just perfect: beautiful setting, lovely food (we ordered the crab and seafood), good service (meaning our meals all arrived hot and at the same time) without being pretentious. Highly recommended! We would happily go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bgainhunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our first stay at old harbour and came as a recommendation from some UK friends who live near Alleppey. The hotel is the best place to stay in Cochin - a real oasis of tranquility, set in the stunning conversion of the colonial building. With a 4 year old, the hotel was perfect - the pool a real bonus. The staff were excellent - to the point that some of the menu dishes were changed to suit our daughter. I would not hesitate to recommend old harbour to anyone

Room Tip: the three rooms at the front of the hotel have additional enlosed balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our fourth stay at Old Harbour and I have had the most wonderful holiday. Many guests stay for one or two nights but we stay for two weeks at a time and cannot praise the hotel and its staff enough. The hotel is small and intimate giving staff the opportunity to know their guests and understand their needs. The rooms are beautifully furnished in traditional indian style and are extremely comfortable. The food is wonderful and chef regularly speaks with diners to see if they are happy. All the staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble, they wish only to ensure your stay is as perfect as possible. This was my grandughter's first trip to india and certainly won't be her last! Thank you Old Harbour for everything, you all feel like our extended family and we look foward to seeing you all again next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.1 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
291 reviews
1.7 km away
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
Taj Malabar Resort & Spa Cochin
#8 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,126 reviews
0.8 km away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#1 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brunton Boatyard
Brunton Boatyard
#11 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
753 reviews
0.4 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#25 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
679 reviews
9.9 km away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 35 in Ernakulam
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Harbour Hotel

Address: 1/328 Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#1 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Business Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: €198 - €409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Harbour Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of ancient Fort Cochin, Kerala, a place that exudes history and culture, is the 'Old Harbour Hotel.' A 300 year-old building that has for long been a heritage monument of this town, now reopened as a boutique hotel. Built in the Dutch style of architecture with hints of Portuguese influences, it was the first hotel of old Cochin. Later it remained a residential home to employees of English Tea broking firms until it was left unused for a period of time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Harbour Kochi
Hotel Old Harbour
Old Harbour Hotel Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing