We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Koder House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koder House
Ranked #58 of 227 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed at Koder House for two nights at the end of a month in Kerala. Although we arrived very early our room was ready, checking in was quick and our bags taken to our room. The room was huge with the beds, a desk and chair, two armchairs and a coffee table and a round table by the door. Then through into a huge dressing area and finally the bathroom, again spacious.
The beds were comfortable and everywhere clean.. The shower in the bathroom was not very efficient and we didn't manage to get more than slightly tepid water through it. For the time we were there that was fine. It does need attention because it is also difficult to persuade the water to come through the shower head rather than the tap below.
Breakfast was good and served pleasantly and at lunchtime the hotel is obviously very popular because each day it was full. Front of house staff also polite and friendly.
Wifi not the best but staff did provide a plug in to take to our room and that improve things greatly.
The position we thought just perfect. Right near the sea, lovely shopping streets and plenty of restaurants.
We managed to leave a phone behind but our travel agent has collected it to send on so our grateful thanks to the honest staff.

Room Tip: Re wifi, in room with plug in from reception. We had a downstairs room and we're happy with that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank swallows2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017

This a heritage building which showcases colonial architecture and decor.
Located in front of the sea this place is a prominent attraction of Fort Cochin. Calm, serene and peaceful, You will enjoy every bit of your stay at this place. The past is preserved so well respecting the character and architecture of the building. Huge rooms with true vintage decor will really give that royal feeling. The restaurant has got the most authentic Cochin-Jewish lip smacking food. As an architect it was a visual bliss to me and we had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank m00nmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We found Koder House completely by accident while searching for a cold beer after shopping in Kochi's Prince's street.
Attracted by the extent and variety of dishes on the menu we subsequently returned with friends for dinner on two occasions and were not disappointed.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

This is a lovely, old hotel. The rooms are large with high ceilings and wooden floors. we were greeted with a delicious lime juice. For breakfast they were very accommodating and willing to make us anything we fancied, Western or Indian.

Wifi is available in the common area, but it's a bit spotty.

Wonderful and relatively quiet location near the seashore where you can walk along a promenade and buy fresh seafood and have it cooked right there. It's an easy Auto ride to see the sites in the old area called "Jewtown." Note that the Dutch museum is closed on Fridays.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LAGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

This was a great place for a weekend stay in Fort Kochi area. It is located in the middle of shops and restaurants. The room is very clean and the beds are comfortable. AC and fans in all rooms worked so well! Very accommodating staff. Loved our stay here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank askline11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
0.7 km away
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
Old Lighthouse Bristow Hotel
#170 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
516 reviews
0 km away
Neemrana's Tower House
Neemrana's Tower House
#43 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
258 reviews
0.2 km away
The Killians Boutique Hotel
The Killians Boutique Hotel
#64 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Arches
Hotel Arches
#31 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
617 reviews
0.6 km away
The Poovath Heritage - An Amritara Resort
The Poovath Heritage - An Amrita...
#87 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
94 reviews
0.8 km away
Fort House
Fort House
#27 of 227 in Kochi (Cochin)
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koder House

Address: Tower Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#26 Spa Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: €73 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Koder House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Koder House. Koder House is a three-story heritage boutique hotel opposite the beach at Fort Kochi, Kerala, India. Until recently, it belonged to the most illustrious Cochin Jewish family, the Koders. This House had been a host to Presidents, Prime Ministers, Viceroys, Ambassadors, Nobel Laureates, Hollywood Directors and prominent dignitaries. This dwelling also finds a prominent place on Intach's list of heritage sites, and a visit to Fort Kochi is considered to be incomplete without a visit to this historic monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koder House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koder House Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Koder Hotel Kochi
Koder House Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing