We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to previous experinces”
Review of Brunton Boatyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brunton Boatyard
Ranked #11 of 219 Hotels in Kochi (Cochin)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our fourth visit and, sadly, not the best. Whilst overall standards remain high, we were disappointed by a number of aspects. A short bare foot walk from the poolside to our nearby room left our feet so black that even a prolonged scrub failed to get them clean. And the pool attendant gave us about the most dour, unsmiling welcome we’ve known anywhere in India. Also the service in the Waterfront cafe was maddeningly slow and erratic, especially at breakfast, when we arrived first but found ourselves served last with some items and only then when we reminded the waiters. And getting coffee cups refilled was truly painful. The waiters all tend to huddle together behind the desk staring vacantly towards the tables without noticing customers trying to attract some attention. The restaurant manager has changed since last year and this may account for the decline. Moreover, if you’re going to offer something ambitious like Eggs Benedict, at least make an effort to get it right without cooking the eggs to “hard boiled” dryness.

Against these things, the General Manager went out of his way to assist on occasions and the dinner in the History restaurant was world-class Michelin star-worthy. Odd though that it styles itself in terms of “history” with antique effect menus when the food is strikingly modern in style.

We took a look at the nearby Old Harbour Hotel and thought it looked excellent, whilst also being cheaper. Maybe next time?

Room Tip: twin rooms all on the ground floor - best not to be immediately behind swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrickm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Let me begin by apologising for your 4th stay at Brunton Boatyard not being satisfactory or upto the level of your previous stays with us. You have given us specific points that we have failed your expectations on and we have made a note of each one of them. We will definitely pull up our socks on all the aspects you have mentioned. Do come back and stay with Brunton on your next visit to Fort Kochi and allow us to leave you with a more positive impression of the place.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 536 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have to say that I don't feel the need to ever return to Ft. Cochin, which is a tourist trap. But this hotel rises above it, with peaceful and pleasant grounds and very good food. Take the harbor cruise offered by the hotel, it has great photo ops.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ichiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on Brunton Boatyard. Not sure if you had the opportunity to see some of the other destinations in Kerala but do come back and visit the state for its natural beauty and authenticity of experiences.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We arrived at Gods Own County after a short 2 hour flight from Bombay. Kochi was our first stop. Two hours later we were still battling the traffic in Kochi to make it to our supposedly "quaint English heritage hotel"- Brunton Boatyard. Having paid an arm and a leg for the property, we expected accommodation and experience similar to one at an Aman Resort or Banyan Tree. Instead, one found a rather basic room with bare minimum facilities. The view was partial the Chinese fishing nets across the harbor but mostly huge dredgers which went back and forth, the docks and huge oil refineries (at least that's what it looked like) was in view. The peace of being by the back waters was momentary. Every 5 minutes they have the cheapest ferry ride I'd imagine (Rs2-3 told by our guide) and hoards of people doing their daily commute with their vehicles on board. It starts as early as 6 am. Shattering the silence with the reverse thrust outside our bedroom window. At Rs. 25,000/- a night everything about the Property irked us. It’s a new building which is rendered to look old, even the air-cons look jaded and very old and completely ineffective! The fan creaks!! Maybe they have taken the entire old feel concept to an uncomfortably low level!! When I asked for an iron and an ironing board- I was given an iron with its wires exposed and a board without a padded cover a mere metal frame. I used a towel to give it a bit of backing for my clothes. I then asked for ear buds- an attendant from room service appeared and offered a box to my husband asked as to how many he wanted and pulled out 3 pieces and handed them over!
To be fair, the staff in the restaurant- the Armory were good. I wish I could have said the same of the front office staff, which was detached and totally unaware of their guests even though it's a really small property! The only time they showed their faces was when we were leaving a whole bunch of them appeared to wave good bye. While we were there they didn't care to look in our direction or ask if we were comfortable or needed anything- to show up to wave? We carted our bags to the lobby, they saw us come but didn't offer to send a trolley or ask If assistance was required to get more bags etc! What a bunch of badly trained individuals!!
We had a wonderful meal at the Taj Malabar. The staff at the Taj was exceptional with their service and accommodating to our girls wishes. Moment we got there we regretted not having booked ourselves at the Taj (which would have been a cheaper and far better experience on the whole). We walked into their Chinese restaurant and were told no tables were available but that they could accommodate us in their coffee shop but that we could order from their Chinese restaurant menu. We were seated immediately, we were Made to feel like we were the only ones there - even though the restaurant was very full. Our food was delivered within 10 mins as we had requested since are girls were starving. Please take our advice- stay at a TAJ property NOT CGH!!!

Room Tip: If you want to be in the old fort area look for another option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MathSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback on your stay at Brunton Boatyard. I sincerely apologise for your dissatisfcatory experience of our service and accommodation. We have made a serious note of the incidents you have mentioned to illustrate your point and I assure you, we will look into them and use your feedback to improve the level of our service. For a lot of our guests, staying by the sea and being able to watch the ships and ferries is quite a highlight, while we have soundproofed the rooms, I do understand that you might have still been disturbed by the early morning traffic. Incidents like that of the ironing board and the team not rushing to assist you when you carried your bags to the lobby have no place at Brunton and we will make sure they are not repeated.
I hope you will allow yourself to experience some of the other CGH Earth destinations and view this as an isolated case.
Apologies once again
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I can't think of anything I didn't like about this hotel. The food was excellent and so was the service. The rooms were comfortable and very well equipped with a lovely view over the sea to the nearest island with a never-ending supply of ships and small boats to watch. It is very conveniently located in the centre of the old town of Cochin and a short walk from the famous fishing nets and seafront.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RussellHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Brunton Boatyard

My stay at Brunton was the last part of my visit to Kerala following five very relaxing nights at Marari Beach! Just like Kochi itself, the moment you step into Brunton, you go through a time portal! It's a beautiful colonial place that time has left untouched! It's Raffles without the tourist glitz! And it's all the better for it!

The hotel is grand! From the beautiful paintings along the wide corridors to the green courtyard and scenic sea views, you would be forgiven if you thought you were in a different era! It has a prime location and you can enjoy numerous walks through the town visiting all the sites.

I love the way the rooms maintain their character with high beds, old wooden window blinds and many with balconies overseeing the ferry terminal and the Chinese fishing nets. Yes, it may be noisy from the boat traffic, but I wouldn't have it any other way! It's all part of the charm. Even though they provide ear protection in the room, I did not find it necessary.

I really enjoyed the complimentary sunset cruise and had fun spotting dolphins in the morning playing just outside the hotel. The local fishermen are all happy to demonstrate their fishing nets and will invite you "on board" for photos.

The hotel has a wonderful rooftop restaurant serving the most delicious fish platters as well as a bar and two other indoor restaurants. Breakfast and lunch can all be served on the outside veranda near the pool overlooking the harbour.

All members of staff are extremely helpful, attentive and happy to assist in any way possible! The service is faultless. 

I hope time continues to leave this place untouched. I am looking forward to some more time travel to the past, in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anjali T, Vice President Marketing at Brunton Boatyard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your absolutely lovely review of your time at Brunton Boatyard. I assure you, we will do all we can to ensure your future stays at Brunton still transport you back into the past and allow you the experience of a space where time has stood still.
We look forward to your future visits.
Regards,
Anjali Tolani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kochi (Cochin) hotels
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
2,084 reviews
0.4 km away
Old Harbour Hotel
Old Harbour Hotel
#3 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
1,420 reviews
0.8 km away
Malabar House
Malabar House
#28 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Fragrant Nature Kochi
Fragrant Nature Kochi
#2 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
269 reviews
3.6 km away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
2.8 km away
Trident, Cochin
Trident, Cochin
#15 of 219 in Kochi (Cochin)
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunton Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunton Boatyard

Address: Calwati Road | Fort Cochin, Kochi (Cochin) 682001, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
#15 Family Hotel in Kochi (Cochin)
Price Range: €267 - €421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brunton Boatyard 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This CGH Earth property is moored on a historic stretch of Cochin's famed harbour , The Brunton Boatyard Hotel was resurrected from the remains of a Victorian shipyard. Today, it gives the modern traveller a unique opportunity to dwell amidst the shadow plays of 19th century history. Living All of the Brunton Boatyard Hotel's 22 rooms overlook the sea, and so, by happy circumstance, do the en-suite bathrooms. Dining The Brunton Boatyard Hotel is your chance to dine from, literally, a melting pot. All the cultures that came to the Malabar Coast over three centuries can be sampled in a single evening. Discovering Armed with a map and some comfortable footwear, you can tour the historic Fort Cochin area where the hotel stands. Sadly, little remains of the fort itself, but the other legacies of history are everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Brunton Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunton Boatyard Hotel Kochi (Cochin)
Brunton Boatyard Kochi (Cochin), India - Kerala
Brunton Boatyard Cochin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing