We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hellish!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Capitol
Ranked #92 of 642 Hotels in Bengaluru
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hellish!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

I have stayed in many hotels and don’t make it a habit to write reviews unless I am extremely “wowed” or extremely disgusted. For e.g., hotels like The Conrad and Shangrila in HK and many Thai hotels are top class but I don’t write about them as that is to be expected of them. I rely on Tripadvisor to make my decisions on the choice of hotels and would like to do my part to share my experience.

The Capitol is the worst hotel I've stayed in my entire life!

The first thing that hits you is that ubiquitous peculiar smell. The stench everywhere in the hotel was horrendous! There is no escape from that strong, unpleasant smell. The room was filthy, unhygienic, and foul smelling. The wood laminate flooring was sticky. Disgusting stains were everywhere. Carpets in the walkway and in the function rooms were old, torn, and stained. In some areas I can smell strong disinfectant that was probably used to mask the dank and smell of the dirty carpets. This did not help as the smell of disinfectant was also overpowering and unpleasant.

I used the function rooms for business in the basement. There was a power blackout and we were in pitch darkness. There are NO signs to indicate the exits or any emergency lighting. Just pitch darkness. This is indeed a hazard should there be a need to evacuate. This hotel should not be allowed to operate for safety reasons alone!

I stayed there for 2 nights and asked for internet connection for my entire stay. I was told "yes sir, yes sir" and was given a slip of paper with the password for the wireless connection. I did not notice that the paper stated 1440 minutes (why don't they just say 24 hours!). This was not pointed out to me when I asked for the use of the internet for 2 days.

At the 1440 minute mark, my internet connection was cut off! When I called the reception, they told me that the connection was by 1440 minute blocks and I had to go to the reception to collect the slip of paper with password for another 1440 minutes! This is typical mindless bureaucracy! Hardly what one would expect of a hotel which purports to be a business hotel.

When I complained about anything (e.g., TV was not working because of wiring problem, lights not working, etc), there would invariably be a "yes sir, yes sir" answer with absolutely no follow-up. You need to chase them many times for something to be done.
On the positive side, the staff are generally polite. The breakfast is reasonably good if you like Indian food (which I do). The TV in the room was relatively large (good if it was working) but not many international channels. The massage chair was good although I didn't use it much.

This is, in my experience, absolutely the WORST hotel I've stayed in India and indeed the world. I am still traumatized thinking about it. It gives me the creeps.

My advice - Don't even think of it!

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCapitol, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank You for the comment. The Comment was negative from the guest point view. For instance the comment was on WIFI Internet Internet is protected by Secured By User ID and Password which is valid for 24hrs. The Same written on a Card which is given to the guest at arrival. Which Iam sure every hotel in India is doing the same. To judge this comment you need stay with us and experience this is just one off comment. Probaly the guest did not want security for his internet which very much essential.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    55
    32
    15
    26
See reviews for
20
11
25
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

my stay was very relaxing n enjoyed very spacious room well designed good airconditioning and the most notable thing is the massage chair provided in each room which makes u very relaxed nice food and centrally located

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avdkp40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

The staff was not good and not responsive. We booked a cab for the early morning as per our business meeting. The cab was not arranged and arrangement started when we reached the reception. We got the cab late by more than an hour.

Also requested the staff to keep ready our bill next morning as we have scheduled flight.
Again the delay of half hour was produced.

Also rooms were just ok, not even upto three stars standards. Machines in Gym were not working.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neeraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Capitol, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the Comments. We come to know about the Car being not ready and Billing was not in order. We regret our Mistake. We make sure such lack will not occur in future.

Regards
John Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bengaluru hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I stayed here for a week since my husband had a few business meetings and we were in town together. The rooms are very comfortable even by US standards. The staff was personable and helpful. The room service was excellent and so was the restaurant which was a rooftop restaurant. Massage chair was OK.

Every morning, we used to enjoy the breakfast buffet and we were impressed by the variety of choices available. I was missing Indian food and this was the perfect place to enjoy it! Very authentic food. Had a lot of American choices as well.

The location is the best part- we could walk to many nearby attractions including restaurants and shopping places. Enjoyed my stay here and waiting to go back and having to do nothing for a week again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annam1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

I attended Aero India in Banglaore on business, as it was my wifes birthday we arranged for her to fly out to India with me, it was her first time. We stayed at the Capitol which I woulkd suggest is a typical Indian hotel, the staff were excellent very friendly and welcoming. I thoroughly recommend tyhe rooftop restuarant, the food, ambience and views over Bangalore are really first class.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWheeler006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bengaluru hotels
Vasanth Nagar
The Chevron Hotel
The Chevron Hotel
#114 of 642 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Hotel Paraag
Hotel Paraag
#222 of 642 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Vasanth Nagar
Fortune Select JP Cosmos
Fortune Select JP Cosmos
#44 of 642 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Bangalore
#172 of 642 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Richmond Town
The Chancery
The Chancery
#154 of 642 in Bengaluru
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
The Pride Hotel
#42 of 642 in Bengaluru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capitol

Property: The Capitol
Address: Raj Bhavan Road, Bengaluru 560001, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Bengaluru > Vasanth Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Bengaluru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Capitol 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitol, Bangalore a 4 Star Hotel, offers an impressive collection of Rooms and Suites tastefully appointed overlooking lush greenery of the city. The hotel, being strategically located at the Central Business District, is a preferred place to hold Meeting, Events & Celebrations, the venues completed with luxurious interiors showcasing finest Indian Craftsmanship & contemporary designs specially chosen to complement the alluring decor. Our Hotel weaves together an impressive collection of 144 extra - spacious Rooms & Suites that speak a language of Luxury.The interiors in their simplicity, style & keen attention to detail, showcase all that is finest in Indian Craftsmanship & Contemporary Design.The Rooms & Suites are beautifully appointed overlooking the lush greenery the city has to offer! A complete accommodation package for Global Travellers, the tastefully appointed Rooms include a host of amenities including a 32"LCD TV, Electronic Safes, Hair Dryer, Magnifying Mirror,King Size or Twin Beds, Mini Bar,Microwave Oven, Separate Extended Living/dining and Bedroom, Tea/Coffee Maker, and Complementary Wi-Fi services. We have an array of different but equally comfortable and splendid Rooms & Suites for your needs. With 8 luxurious Banquet Halls, covering an area of 22,000 Square feet, the facility can accommodate anything from 20 to 1500 Guests. Being one of the City's most sort after places for events, Conferences, Corporate meetings, Product Launches, Exhibitions, Trade Shows, Weddings, and Celebrations, we at The Capitol believe in rendering highest quality of service to our Esteemed Guest in order to create a memorable event. At "24 Carats" start your day with a filling Indo- continental breakfast as the morning light streams in through the Stained glass atrium. The restaurant located in the heart of the city offers an any time treat with its Round The Clock Menu's to the elaborately planned Buffet Lunch/Dinner and A-la Carte dishes. It's a perfect place to hold your Corporate Meeting, even catching up with friends over a cup of Coffee or spending leisure Sunday afternoon with a book in one hand & tea in the other, munching over the snacks on your table. The elaborately planned Buffets and A-la Carte dishes from around the World designed to suit every mood and taste. Recreational facility at the hotel includes an outdoor Swimming Pool, a Fitness Center, and an in house Travel Desk to cater to your requirements. Convenience of every kind, Luxury to suit the best and location that is simply perfect sums up the total experience we offer to our Esteemed Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capitol Hotel Bangalore
Capitol Hotel Bangalore
Capitol Bangalore
Hotel Capitol Bangalore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing