We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Aksa Hotel(Srinagar)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ahdoos Hotel(Srinagar)
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Adeems(Srinagar)
US$21
US$19
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Akbar Group Of Heritage Houseboats(Srinagar)(Great Value!)
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aar Kay Hotel(Srinagar)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
43
50
20
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
50
20
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspassport officeboulevard roadshankaracharya hillopposite dal lakebig gardenfriendly hotelhot waterdry fruitsvisited this hotelthe hotel managersrinagar airportpropertykashmiroctbrotherstouristssaffron
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Situated on the Dal Lake Road near Army Base. Spacious rooms, big area with lawn. Peaceful place to stay. Rooms have carpets, bed heaters, room heaters. Staff is ultimate, smiling faces, always ready to take orders. If you like North Indian kind of food you just need to step a floor down into Hotel's own Restaurant. Good food & good service. Take a walk outside the gate and you will find Dal Lake. You can walk by the Lake and come back to hotel without any vehicle. Also some good restaurants are near to Brown Palace. Great place to stay in very affordable price. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Abhijeet124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this 3 star hotel from 18 to 21 may 2016. A wonderful property indeed with 2 big gardens , a small play area for children. The basic rooms are small, the luxury rooms are huge as others have mentioned , I was put up in the luxury room as I had paid for an extra bed for my 11 year old , while both my friends were put in smaller rooms as they were with 1 child n had not paid anything extra.
All of us were very excited to see the huge room come suite, the bathrooms though were very basic, there was a lounge sofa which doubled up as an extra bed for my 11 yr old and was kept on a elevated area of the room , the hotel has 3 towers and I'm not sure but we were in tower B, my room had a view of the Shankaracharya hill n temple. There was also a coffee table n 2 sofa chairs in the room itself with inclusion of cupboards, a dressing table, luggage table et., so one can imagine the size of this room.
The location is one of the best point of this hotel. Located between ghat no.11 n 12 , it is built behind the Srinagar passport office, right on dal lake but yet away from all the noise as there is a 100 meter lane which takes you to the main gate of the hotel from the dal lake road, all the other hotels, restaurants, coffee shop, night market are situated right between ghat no. 1 to 10 on this boulevard road.
Coming back to the hotel and it's restaurant, the restaurant has very limited options if you take their rooms on MAP basis ( dinner n breakfast included). They have a fixed menu for breakfast n dinner and they stick to that , we wanted lady finger in dinner once since my kids love it and it was denied, we asked for Kashmiri food and even that they said no, there is no point in taking dinner inclusive package as there are a lot of veg n non veg , chaat, south Indian options available right outside on boulevard road .
About their room service, they have allotted fixed waiters n bellboys to all the towers, so the other waiters n bellboys of other towers do not serve you in the restaurant or listen to you, in fact they are quite rude and talk in Kashmiri language since they know we do not know the language, our designated waiter was sajjad and he was a gem of a person with an ever smiling face, he tried to accommodate all our wishes as much as he could, we even tipped him 300 rs at the end for all his good work as we were 3 families.
One more thing after 11:30 pm in the night , there is nobody at the reception or the main gate , on the first night when we went out for night shopping and came back at 12:30 pm , we found the main gate locked and there was no one in the hotel premises to unlock it for us , after waiting for 10 minutes, me n my friend climbed up the gate , went to the reception to complain n make them open the gate for others in our group, but found the reception vacant, then we went in search of the gatekeeper, fortunately some guests knew where the staff quarters were n we went to the gatekeeper n made him come out n open the main gate . This happened on all 3 nights, fortunately we had taken the gatekeeper's number so the next two nights were not a problem.
On the last day too since we were supposed to leave for the airport at 9 am, we had informed at the reception one night prior to keep the breakfast ready, but due to mis-communication between the reception n kitchen staff , our breakfast was not ready, after shouting at them as people coming after us were being served , that they moved into action after blaming the waiter allotted to us, kindly do not make the same mistake as we did n do inform the waiter, hotel manager, reception about any changes in your meal times or you will be left high n dry.
Even after all such issues, our stay was so memorable n the location was so good that I would still recommend this hotel if you have a limited budget like us, but there are grander n better hotels in Srinagar if budget is not an issue. Do feel free to ask away if you have any questions.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank cassanova78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The Brown Palace is very well located property near Dal Lake, very well maintained, huge lawns and open spaces will astonish you at such a locality.. Sankaracharya hill at the backdrop with a view of the temple but no view of Dal Lake..

Pros:
1. Big property with lawns and huge open space
2. Well maintained
3. Well equipped rooms
4. Decent Food
5. Service is prompt
6. Manager/ Front Desk is helpful

Cons:
1. NO views of Dal Lake from rooms although Sankaracharya hill is viewable
and the nice laws are accessible.
2. Rooms are little damp more because of consistent rainfall and lack of sunshine

Overall a very nice property, stayed with family of 5 in Apr'16..

Room Tip: Upper Floors are better..
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abhik29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Great place to stay, a great strategic location of the hotel which enjoys a proximity to Shalimar, Nishaat, Chashme Shahi...moreover the staff is excellent and takes really good care ... a hotel located in foothills of Shankracharya temple...

Room Tip: Since Kashmir is all about exploring the location, cannot get a hotel which is good in terms of location as well pricing...
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kunal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my family,Hotel location is good we got room in A 107 which had good scenic view .food is good , room service was prompt and excellent.
I also want to mention about Tavera Vehicle driver Md.Amin whose #+91 8713-818052,is a gem of a person who cared for us as a family member and guided as well as we were visiting kashmir first time above all his vehicle hire charges were less.we are thankful to hotel and md Amin.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Firozaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews