We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
321
175
43
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
175
43
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green house thali heritage hotel rooftop restaurant old city textile museum green room lotus pool grand deluxe room the ground floor heritage walk heritage tour indoor pool huge room charming hotel sitting area chain hotel
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Had heard a lot about this place and decided to stay here on our last visit to Ahmedabad and we regretted for staying just a night!
This is a erstwhile mansion of a rich textile baron, and each and every corner is worth exploring and appreciating.
Filled with crafts and artefacts it's more like a museum and yes there is a textile museum inside too!
Rooms are huge spacious and tastefully done with an ambience that takes u back a century..
The corridors and every nook n corner are tastefully decorated
A must must visit for sure!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank avranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Best bang for your buck in Ahmadabad. Very unique hotel. I would highly recommend you pay that little extra to upgrade to one of their suites, it is definitely worth it. For what I paid I was expecting something budget, this is far from it. Room amenities are of 5* hotel standard. Skip the buffet breakfast, nothing to write home about. However the lunch and dinner is fab. Do try the Agasiya restaurant, on their top floor, best thali I have had in Gujarat, Set menu which changes every day.My room was really spacious, linens clean, customer service is great. A little noisy from traffic outside. Rooms are rich in character, nicely renovated with new amenities and preserved some 100 year old parts of the room, i.e the wood, glass, flooring. Its not living here that makes it great, its the experience and feast for the eyes. Building is a 100 year old mansion with a lot of history attached. Walking through the mansion you will find evidence of this history with photos artifacts dotted around the building. The suites have a separate living room with a traditional swing. I live in hotels more than my own home, and this place really took my breath away. Other hotels are for living this hotel is an experience.

Room Tip: Try to get room away from road, book suite, its not that much more than regular room.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketravelling2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

This hotel is very central and looks quite nice from the outside. Staff is welcoming but your experience may vary a lot according to the type of room you are given. We were given a room which basically was underground and had mould. The room was spacious and equipped with air-co and fans, but despite all this, it was difficult to breathe in the room at night because of the mould patches. One of the kitchens of the hotel is adjacent to the room and we were disturbed by the noise until after 11 pm. We tried their 'Green House' restaurant: appalling service and food was not fresh. The breakfast is also served there: incredibly slow service and average food. All in all: I would not recommend this place. We will not go back.

Room Tip: Rooms have mould problems, certainly avoid all ground floor rooms
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Guest Relations Manager at The House of MG, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Francesca,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

I am sorry that the service provided to you was not what you had expected. We looked into the matter and found out that due to heavy rain on that particular day we had this issue. It has been already taken care by our concern department and we hope to see u soon again.

We assure you of our best services and do hope that you will visit us again.

Warm Regards,
Badal C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Enjoyed the Sitting the rooms on my own Swing. The room is old fashioned yet had bath tub and all modern facilities. Love having Gujarati thali at agashiye, especially the Bajra rotlu.. Only negative is the Noise around of vehicles... I am coming Back...

Room Tip: opt for rooms facing Siddi Mosque
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeaderAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Public Relations Manager at The House of MG, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear valued guest,
We appreciate your valuable feedback and we are very glad that you had a great time at the property.We look forward to see you soon again...

Regards,
Badal Chandarana..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

This is not your typical (sterile) hotel. This is a turn of the Century renovation of 2 adjoining Textile mogul Mansions. The staff was very hospitable and responsive.

This is within the "old City Walls" of the 1400's and great location for access to entire city. History around every corner.

blocks upon blocks of Street vendors where haggling over pennies in US price is enjoyed. Rickshaws are the standard with Uber easily available.

Room Tip: last minute deals is best way if you want to chance it......
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Public Relations Manager at The House of MG, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear valued guest,
We appreciate your valuable feedback and we are very glad that you had a great time at the property.We look forward to see you soon again...

Regards,
Badal Chandarana..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews