We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - shame about the shop”
Review of The House of MG

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The House of MG
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - shame about the shop”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. Every room is full of surprises, both old and new. The restoration of this property is very good, and in addition to lovely old furniture, there are superb touches of innovation, such as bright bangles hanging on fluorescent lights on the stair cases. The bathrooms and showers are very spacious, with lots of fluffy towels, towel robes and loads of hot water. Located as the hotel is in central Ahmedabad, it provides a welcome oasis when the traffic and hustle and bustle of lively Ahmedadabad becomes too much. The Green room restaurant on the ground floor is excellent too, but we were not so impressed with the formality of the rooftop restaurant. The hotel staff are wonderful, especially the reception staff and the porters and drivers. The hotel organises some great city tours - don't miss the nighttime tour of Ahmedabad and the tour of Le Corbusier buildings in the city. Our only concern was that the hotel shop was never open and the shopkeeper was very unfriendly indeed - we complained to the hotel about this before we left, but have not received a reply to our concerns a week after leaving the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretJonesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhrahma, Front Office Manager at The House of MG, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Madam
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay at the House of MG. We are very glad that your experience with us. I regret the delay in responding to your complaint regarding your the retail shop. On investigation we found that the shop was getting fitted with a new air-conditioning unit on the day that you were there and it remained closed for a day-and-a-half. The sales person said that he requested you to come later when it was partially open but not quite ready for business (he mentioned that there were also some other guests browsing in the shop). Perhaps you found his attitude unfriendly and we sincerely apologise for that. Our shop normally remains open between 10 AM and 10PM.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The House of MG in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jignesh Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    140
    34
    9
    9
See reviews for
83
126
49
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I have just stayed at the House of MG and do not recommend it for any reason. My room was dirty and run down, especially the bathroom which smelled terrible. The bed in my room was very hard and sleep was not an option because of the noise from the street and sound of someone walking around on the roof of the room at 1:30 AM.

The staff was not at all helpful at all and when I decided to leave they insisted on charging me for the entire 2 weeks which was not part of any information provided prior to arrival or at check in. They held my luggage hostage until i agreed to the payment but after several hours of "negotiation" by the company I was visiting the hotel reduced it to 2 days.

When in Ahmedabad if you want a clean, safe and very comfortable hotel choose the Marriott Courtyard at less than half the price!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDoc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhrahma, Front Office Manager at The House of MG, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for posting a review. You have raised issues about noise in room, smell in bathroom and difficulty in getting refund. You have paid for only for one extra night for early checkout even though you had a confirmed booking for 12 nights and as per our cancellation policy (clearly stated on our website) the dues were four times that amount. Had you brought the other issues to our notice immediately, they could have easily been resolved. When a lady called on your behalf asking us to hand over the luggage to a driver we had to refuse. We cannot hand over the luggage to anyone except to the customer for security reasons.

Regardless, we truly regret the inconvenience that you had to undergo and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
For The House of MG
Jignesh Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

House of MG is a very comfortable boutique hotel in the old part of the city. The haveli is well-furnished and very comfortable. It is better to get the rooms facing the inner courtyard as they are away from the noisy street. I had booked a single room which was in the quietest part of the house. My room although small was very comfortable. The breakfast is pretty basic but wholesome and 100% vegetarian. The gujrati restaurant on the roof is very charming but the food appeals only to a mature gujrati palate. The downstairs open air reataurant was more my cup of tea. Over all highly satisfied with the ambience, cleanliness and service. This place will always be my first choice in Ahmedabad as I prefer a place with character.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel is classic, has history. One big combined family used to live here and many portraits and family tress all over the hotel. I love the room. four poster bed, swings, confortable sofa, beautiful curtains etc.....

I would say service and food were average. Agashiye restaurant is one of the best in Ahmedabad. I highly recommend. However, the ground floor restaurant is just average. Breakfast was just ok. Nothing so special. I thought the next door restaurant was bit better and cheaper.

There was swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

House of MG is the place to be while in Ahmedabad. I did not sleep here, but in a very nearby hotel. Every day I went at least once to House of MG. Once for dinner up in the Agashiye restaurant, once for swimming, a few times to have a snack or drink in Green House.
The atmosphere is great and the Assistant manager Satyender is very nice and helpfull.
I also booked an early morning walking tour. The tour was ok, but the included breakfast was just so so.
If I had the money, I would definitely stay here for many nights!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
0.5 km away
Lemon Tree Premier; The Atrium, Ahmedabad
5.4 km away
Hyatt Ahmedabad
Hyatt Ahmedabad
#8 of 159 in Ahmedabad
656 reviews
7.1 km away
Courtyard Ahmedabad
Courtyard Ahmedabad
#4 of 159 in Ahmedabad
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Ahmedabad City Centre
1.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Ahmedabad
7.0 km away
The Ummed Ahmedabad
The Ummed Ahmedabad
#13 of 159 in Ahmedabad
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of MG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of MG

Property: The House of MG
Address: Opp Sidi Saiyad Jali | Ellis Bridge, Ahmedabad 380001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ahmedabad
#5 Family Hotel in Ahmedabad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ahmedabad
#7 Spa Hotel in Ahmedabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The House of MG 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of MG is the only 'boutique' category hotel in Ahmedabad. This stately heritage property has been tastefully refurbished to retain its old-world charm but with all the amenities and comforts of contemporary living. The Lonely Planet Guide and the Rough Guide recommend this hotel highly and the discerning British travel guide 'Sawdays - Places to Stay in India' has singled out The House of MG as the only hotel worth mention, in its Ahmedabad section. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The House of MG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Of Mg Hotel Ahmedabad
Hotel Of Mg
Of Mg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing