We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambay Grand Ahmedabad
Ranked #136 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I had an excellent stay at the hotel. I was picked by the hotel staff from the airport and reached the hotel to begin a very positive day. Very nice rooms with a great ambiance. Courteous staff and excellent food.

Over all a nice business hotel.

Room Tip: I took the corner room as had to work out of my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZubinBilimoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2011

The hotel is good and near the SG Highway,but away from it also.So no noise and pollution.Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshwinAkola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We booked Cambay Grand for 6 nights during a recent work trip and got a confirmation from the hotel. Strangely, on reaching the hotel, they told us they did not have a reservation. I forwarded the e-mail they had sent me and they took more than half an hour to find my reservation. All this while we were seated in a lobby, with our luggage.

The rooms are nice, recently renovated but the management can't maintain them. Signs of unprofessional behaviour are visible throughout the hotel - right from cleaning staff (and their cleaning equipment) occupying the guest lift all day to trash and used towels visible in every corner. One evening we returned to see the dinner plates of the previous night still lying outside our room.

The hotel claims to have a spa and gym that runs from 8 am to 8 pm -- BUT -- they don't actually open till 10 am. The last treatment MUST finish by 6:30 pm because the staff don't get a bus home after that -- THEN WHY NOT CHANGE THE TIMINGS?

The 'multi-cuisine" restaurant serves you their own (oily and salty) version of food. The waiters are unaware of what food is on the menu. The waiters also keep playing whatever they want on the TV in the restaurant really loud. You can also hear constant fights between the staff members at the restaurant most of the time.

The daily breakfast is the EXACT same everyday -- sometimes I wondered if they actually just froze the leftovers and kept them back the next day. You can ask for a dosa or an egg but they take almost 40/45 minutes to serve it.

Room service is extremely slow. We asked for a Coke which they took half an hour to get - but without an opener. The opener took another half an hour by when the Coke had gone warm. One day we asked for extra pillows but they FORGOT to bring them.

The in-room mini bar was empty - even though we asked them to fill it up - no action after 2 days. We gave up.

Strangely, I also noticed a lot of underage staff working at the hotel -- I felt it was wrong to charge someone five star prices and hire kids for cheap. It's illegal and unprofessional.

Somehow I got the feeling that the hotel was run more like an experiment than a business.

Lastly, the hotel refused to give me a copy of the bill stating that their software only printed two copies (!) and they needed both. On trying to explain to them that I needed the invoice copy since it was a business trip they said they can't give me one. I finally settled for a photocopy of the invoice as I was getting late for my flight.

I must admit though I booked this hotel at half the rack rate though an online web promo and was still annoyed with service at those rates, i can't even imagine how mad I would be if I had paid the full price (or even slightly discounted) like most business travelers would end up paying.

For the same price I'd recommend the Courtyard Marriott or Lemon Tree (cheaper - much better)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaranAsrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Food and service in banquet hall and rooms were not up to the standards. If you are willing to wait for hours for room service this will be good place to stay.. We used to call for food atleast 1 hour before it use to be bough to room.. Banquet hall food was not hygiene and had issues with spicies.. either too salty or too spicy. also food served was not hot. Recommed to check other hotels nearby before booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Internet is very costly as there is no availbility. $12/12 hours. Please check all extra requirement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We arrived from US for 4 days stay in Cambay. Had very terrible time. Daily we had to go down for room keys. Room service took 1-2 hours for food. Food either too spicy or too salt. Restroom had bad smell . Had to call 10 times to reception for cleaning but no response. Hotel is not up to the standards for the price we pay. Would not recommend anyone who are looking for hygiene.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ahmedabad hotels
5.7 km away
Cambay Sapphire
Cambay Sapphire
#132 of 161 in Ahmedabad
71 reviews
0.6 km away
The Fern Ahmedabad
The Fern Ahmedabad
#29 of 161 in Ahmedabad
522 reviews
4.5 km away
Regenta Central Antarim
Regenta Central Antarim
#9 of 161 in Ahmedabad
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson - Ahmedabad
5.1 km away
Starottel Ahmedabad
Starottel Ahmedabad
#11 of 161 in Ahmedabad
587 reviews
9.1 km away
Grand O7 Suites & Convention
Grand O7 Suites & Convention
#18 of 161 in Ahmedabad
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambay Grand Ahmedabad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambay Grand Ahmedabad

Address: Near Perd Centre | Sola Over Bridge, Thaltej, Ahmedabad 380054, India
Region: India > Gujarat > Ahmedabad District > Ahmedabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 161 Hotels in Ahmedabad
Price Range: €24 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambay Grand Ahmedabad 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Sarkhej-Gandhinagar Highway, in the heart of a bustling city centre and its key business areas, Cambay Grand is an illustrious property rendering manifold facilities including tasteful accommodation, ambrosial dining, refined conferencing and banqueting, spa, swimming pool, discotheque and fitness centre. The hotel has remained in service since November 2009 and it is an ideal choice for stay owing to its easy accessibility to the domestic and international airport. The hotel embodies 145 tastefully designed rooms including Deluxe, Premium and Cambay Club rooms. The hotel also encompasses multi-cuisine restaurants and food & beverages outlets. The hotel is well appointed with state-of-the-art meeting rooms and banquet halls with a seating capacity of up to 1000 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cambay Grand Ahmedabad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing