We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxed place for quick local and global bites”
Review of The Green House

The Green House
Ranked #16 of 3,760 Restaurants in Ahmedabad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Green House cafe is located under a covered pavilion on the ground floor of the building. It serves freshly cooked Indian snacks, fresh fruit juices and home-made ice-creams. The open kitchen in one corner of the courtyard, our food theatre, is where you will see cooks preparing your meal in front of your eyes.The Green House cafe extends into an arched air-conditioned room that was earlier the 'buggy room' of the mansion - horse drawn buggies were in use till the early forties.On the menu you will find a variety of Indian snacks ranging from chaat, batakavada, patra and panaki to small meals of delicious Indian breads and vegetables. Most items are available as takeaways. The restaurant is open from 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM.
Reviewed 4 January 2018

The Green House cafe is nice and verdant and offers an escape from the chaos of the world outside- perfect place to catch a cup of tea or coffee, and team it up with hot local snacks.

Thank Bikram27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at The Green House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us and share your experience with all. Thank you for your appreciation; we will be happy to have you with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018

Their food was excellent. They have a good spread of north indian dishes and gujarati cuisines. The best part was the ambience. The staff is very good. A must visit.

Thank Sudha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at The Green House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you very much for your appreciation for our food and service. We are glad you loved our ambience and look forward to have you with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Went to this restaurant for lunch. The open air part is lovely..
The food takes time to come - and they warn you about this right upfront on the menu.. The food is well worth the wait. Had a great veg meal with different veggies and a variety of breads.. I hadnt tasted half the dishes on offer - and each of them were fantastic. Ordered bhindi with moong dal, Corn with patra, kadhi, palak paneer, thali peeth, bajri roti and makki roti.. Everything was fantastic..
It is a bit pricey though.. But would highly recommend it.
It is also set in the MK hotel which has historic significance. It was the first place Mahatma Gandhi stayed in, after getting back from South Africa. It would be good to see the lobby and the gift store as well..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Crystalwaters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at The Green House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us and share your experience with other food lovers. Thank you very much for your appreciation for our food and ambience. Your review is very detailed, I am certain it will be very valuable for those looking for a unique dining experience in Ahmedabad. As you have rightly pointed out, Mahatma Gandhi stayed here as Sheth Mangaldas Gurdhardas's (MG after whom The House of MG is name) guest when he first came to Ahmedabad after his return to India from South Africa in 1915. We are glad you had a pleasant experience with us and will be happy to have you with us on your next visit to Ahmedabad.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Loved the steam platter in snacks. Overall dishes, the quantity in every dish is very pleasing. Must visit place while at Ahmedabad. Could not get place at agashaiye as waiting time was over an hour. Hence made a compromise initially but turned out to be a great option.

Thank shailendraj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at The Green House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us with such an encouraging review and share your experience with all. Thank you for your appreciation. We are glad you had a pleasant time with us and look forward to have you with us again soon.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I recently revisited this my all time favorite restaurant in Ahmedabad. It serves excellent classic Gujarati dishes in full and half sizes to enable you to order multiple dishes to share. The food is very well done to suite all palates and is mildly spiced.
They also have other regional Indian and some international dishes. They also have a variety of drinks including fresh juices. They have classic local sweet dishes . My all time favorite is Malpua and Jalebi.
They have added new washrooms for guest use. The service is very friendly and professional. I will highly recommend this place for a restful meal particularly after a walk through the bustling old city of Ahmedabad.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rakesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HouseOfMG, Manager at The Green House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

We appreciate your taking time to review us and share your experience with others, Thank you for your appreciation. Your review is very detailed, and I am certain it will be of great value to other food lovers looking for a unique dining experience in Ahmedabad. Appreciation for our long-term patrons like you means a lot to us, Thank you again. It will be our pleasure to have you with us again.

Warm regards,
Vivek Vyas
For The House of MG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green House also viewed

Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
Ahmedabad, Ahmedabad District
 

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing