We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not visit !!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnum Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnum Resort
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Candolim
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not visit !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This is where we always stay when in goa but to our surprise the main key person Mr.John who used to handle the show has left the premises on medical grounds and now some wanabe Mr.Sanjiv looks after the show there we had done telephonic bookings as always and when we reached there we were given two shady sad rooms in which we were told new acs have been installed and after waiting for three odd hours we were given these rooms on checking in we found the so called new acs were not working and on complaining we were told this is what it is take it or leave it so but obvious we left it ,the small pool has insects swimming and dumped with garbage rooms had a stink and were not cleaned at all so pls dont go here just a friendly suggestion ...........so that you guys dont mess your trip.

Room Tip: Go to casablanca or alegeria goan village resort and if budget not an issue go to gordon the best th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nutty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    30
    20
    16
    21
See reviews for
19
39
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

This was our second stay at the Magnum, the previous time was 6 years ago.

Our room (111) was on the 1st floor, sort-of overlooking the pool but in reality overlooking a field that had some rubbish dumped in it.

The rooms were:
Sitting room approx 13’ x 10’ with a large sofa (which may have been a bed settee), 2 easy chairs, coffee table and TV which had a number of channels including CNN, BBC World News, National Geographic, Discovery & ESPN. It had a ceiling fan and doors led onto a decent sized balcony with 2 chairs and a table.
Kitchen area with large fridge and sink.
Bedroom which was small with 2 single beds, a wardrobe, chest of drawers, ceiling fan and air-conditioning unit.
Bathroom

The A/C unit wasn’t very effective and had no temperature control. It just about made the room cooler than with the fan. We didn’t have to pay extra for it, I’d have been very disappointed if we had paid for it.

The bathroom was OK but could have done with a deep clean of the grout between the tiles though.
There was always plenty of hot water.

Bedding was changed every other day and the sheets were clean although not white.
Towels seemed to be changed every day although they didn’t change them when they cleaned the room but instead knocked on your door anytime between 6pm and 7:30pm.
I don’t know if this was designed to obtain a daily tip (it didn’t work with us!) but it was sometimes inconvenient if you wanted a shower earlier although you could probably have rung Housekeeping and requested one.
For some reason we didn’t have clean towels for a couple of days and after going back to the room from a long day on the beach and seeing the same towels we’d had since Tuesday (this was Friday) I marched down to Reception to complain.
To be fair, they gave me fresh ones straight away. It just seemed to be a sloppy part of the service.

The rooms were cleaned adequately enough and the walls were painted a nice pale yellow but there are some areas where they could give a better impression of the hotel with just a few minutes of work.
For example, the towel rail in the bathroom was loose as it had 2 screws instead of 4, the bathroom light was the same. Knobs on wardrobes & drawers either loose or missing. Not very important but minimal repairs would give a better impression of the accommodation.

Although we had booked B&B, we never ate breakfast in the hotel so I’ve classed this as ‘self-catering’.
We didn’t have any other meals or drinks there either.



There is a small oblong pool which looked clean, with about 10 sunbeds round it. It didn’t seem to get a lot of sun during the day.
There are 7 or so tables round the pool for drinks.
The pool area and other communal areas were clean and the staff were very pleasant.

The safety deposit boxes were in Reception and seemed to be accessible all the time.

As our room was towards the back, there was no noise at all.

The best thing about the Magnum is the location, right in the middle of Candolim. It’s close to the Elephant Shop for drinks and money change and there are lots of bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prettypollycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

Ten holidays in Candolim, most at other, higher grade hotels but our second stay at Magnum confirms this as our regular future destination. Western standards are just different, cleanliness depends on personal definition and, anyway, there is a supermarket just down the road for cleaning stuff if wanted. Apartments are cleaned daily, the air conditioning works and sheets and towels are clean and changed regularly, they just do not use bleach. Both breakfast and restaurant superb and, though we enjoyed eggs sunny side up or soft boiled, no hint of any tummy trouble. Restaurant food superb and cheap with willing service till late at night. Staff are helpful and cheerful at all times. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

just got back from magnum resort a dirty grimy place stained bed linen and dirty towels electrical wires protruding from walls. dont go its a health hazerd

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianmac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Roehampton, London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

It's us again back from a one month stay over Christmas and New Year. The hotel we found to be not too big, not too small. Helpful staff could not do enough for you. The room was ok, the furniture could do with being replaced. Cleaned and towels changed daily or as requested. We have been assured by the manager that a refurbishment is to take place shortly. We had room 109 and although not a great view - we had a vast array of wildlife which was fabulous, a dozen different varities of bird after the berries on the tree, chipmunks bounding around a couple of cats and one morning, a monkey. We would stay here again - same room if possible..!!
Restaurants: FLOYDS(opposite hotel) for fish (pricey), HAVELI for "fat chips" and snacks. FISHERMANS COVE for general medium priced meals and BENDING BAMBOO for inexpensive meals. We also tried the fish, chips and mushy peas at TONYS for a reminder of home - without the snow..!! Our third time in Goa and yep, the Russians are still making themselves known...Ignorant and Rude!! Hope you all find this helpful. While there we had our teeth sorted out at Doctor Patils - dental surgery located near to the Plantain Leaf Vegetarin restaurant(cheap) in Calangute. Highly recomended and reasonable prices.
The downside of the holiday was the return flight back to Gatwick - Monarch sent a smaller plane which meant that instead of a 9 hour non-stop flight we had to endure a 20 hour nightmare with a refuelling stop in Bahrain. They also failed to arrange the requested assistance when we staggered back into Gatwick a terrible end to a fantastic holiday - thanks MONARCH..!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.5 km away
FabHotel Magnum Candolim Beach
0.4 km away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#41 of 63 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 km away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#58 of 63 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Prazeres Resorts
Prazeres Resorts
#51 of 63 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.8 km away
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
Alor Grande Holiday Resort
#55 of 63 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 km away
Valentines Retreat
Valentines Retreat
#52 of 63 in Candolim
3.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnum Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnum Resort

Property: Magnum Resort
Address: Magnum Resorts, Near Health Centre | Near Health Centre, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India (Formerly Affortel Magnum Resorts)
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnum Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best budget hotels in North Goa, operating since 2001 catering to international and domestic individual and group travellers with warmth and care. Our uniqueness lies in our location, right on the main street buzzing with typical Goan carnival activity and just 5 minutes walking to the Golden Candolim Beach. It's a 45 mts drive from the Airport and the Railway Station, while a drive to Panjim or Mapusa takes just under 30 mts. The resort offers 65 air-conditioned rooms and suites, which includes Economy rooms, Deluxe rooms, Executive rooms and Family Suites, well-appointed with DTH TV's, Refrigerators, Intercom, Wi-Fi and three fixture bathroom with running hot and cold water. The resort is known for its delicious food, warm and friendly service and most happening easy location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnum Hotel Candolim
Magnum Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing