We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent 3-star”
Review of Sonesta Inns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Inns
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Descent 3-star”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

As we wanted to see North Goa before heading to quiet South we booked Sonesta Inn for 3 nights.

The hotel is located near the sea in good Candolim beach. There are many shacks on the beach, but it isn't too crowded. You have to bring (or buy) your own beach towels, though. The hotel pool is OK by size, but it may be difficult to get a bathing chair.

Rooms are spacious and very clean, sheets and towels show some wear, but this is within OK limits. The door might be a little thicker if you get loud neighbours. The TV is in awkard place and difficult to watch. The inroom menu has lots of choices and good prices (just don't order pizza). The food is also very nice. Only thing you can really complain is the breakfast - limitied choices and they don't even serve normal coffee.

Staff is friendly and everything is arranged quickly if "inside main process" - you can't have wifi password outside office hours etc.

Overall nice place and good value hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taavitoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    278
    71
    25
    12
See reviews for
214
225
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have just returned from our stay at The Sonesta Inns.The hotel was everything we wanted it to be and we had a superb holiday.The hotel is in a great position for a short walk through the garden to the beach which is less crowded than the bits directly adjacent to the centre of Candolim and Calangute.
The pool was very clean and we could swim proper lengths. The rooms were very nice and kept clean. Shower fabulous.Staff very polite and helpful. Just a short taxi ride to the centre of Candolim with plenty of choice for eating.We would definitely hope to return after having such a very relaxing lovely time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Although at first you will feel that the hotel is a bit overpriced, but once you reach the place you realize its well worth the money. Only hassle that we faced during our stay was the fact that everything was getting shut in Goa by 11 pm. So if you are planning to come to Goa in the next month or so make sure you keep the election schedule in mind.
Now coming to the hotel, the staff is brilliant and out of the way helpful. I and my wife had reached early and unfortunately did not have our room ready, however the reception staff offered a temporary room for 2 hours till our room was readied. (delight!)
The pool as many guests before me have said is clean!
The beach is literally a stones throw away 2-4 minutes from the garden
The b/f is not so sumptuous, could be improved
The rooms are big and have a very comfortable bed and a nice sitting area, the TV however in the room, is located at an awkward viewing angle (though this is not a downside esp if the beach is 5 mins walk from the rooom) The bathroom is clean and the rain shower is quite refreshing!
Room service is prompt and the food is quite good, it is also very economical (I would recommend a dinner at the restaurant next to the parking/taxi stand near the entrance quite good food)
Taxi stand is right outside the hotel and plenty of cabs available all thru the night, you can even speak to the taxiwalas to arrange for a bike hire (bullet is 700 per day, activa 300 per day)
Airport pick up or drop is 950 per 1 way. This is the same cost as what will be charged at the airport by the prepaid cabbys
All the rooms are nice u do not necessarily have to be in the pool facing room, it is too hyped on this forum!!!
If you are a young couple/or bunch of college friends you will be surprised with the average age of the hotel guests!!!
The hotel does not ve too many late night options near by for this you will ve to go baga....
Day time the beach near the hotel is perfect, just about the right amount of crowd!
We frequented a shack called 'dreamers' and were quite happy with the prices and service
This hotel is perfect there is nothing wrong with it, however now that i ve tried this place, i would not mind trying some other place in the same price range also whenever i go back to goa next

Room Tip: take any room! pool facing room over hyped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ajay7283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Sonesta Inns offered hassle-free winter sun location. Staff, especially reception staff, were very helpful and the pool was maintained immaculately.
The buffet breakfast offered a good range of local as well as western food - although some guests felt the need to provide their own marmalade, Marmite and special K (each to their own!). However the only poor meal we ate in 2 weeks was cooked by the hotel. Thier response was excellent and if mistakes happen then the way they're rectified is as important.
Final plus was the ease of access to a very clean stretch of beach and a couple of good shacks. All in all a good Goan hotel

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkhall
Level Contributor
229 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a wonderful hotel,it had nearly everything you could need,The staff were wonderful and helpful,the beach is just at the bottom of the gardens,the room we had was very large and had cable tv,fridge,ac,tea & coffee,nice shower etc.Hotel is about 30 minute stroll down the beach into town or by road but road is not well lit and very little pavement.Breakfast was fine and themed nights good value as well Hotel was probably on the expensive side for Goa but if your fussy about cleanliness or want a nice pool you may want to go that little extra for peace of mind.Iwould recommend hotel for 1st timers like myself just to give you an idea of the surroundings.Another tip would be to get a pool facing room if you want the sun most of the day.

Room Tip: Pool facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manonspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
1.4 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
2.0 km away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
2.4 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
923 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#7 of 64 in Candolim
1,021 reviews
2.2 km away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#8 of 64 in Candolim
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Inns

Property: Sonesta Inns
Address: Anna Vaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#10 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta Inns 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star resort in Goa with a perfect beachside location on the beautiful stretch of Candolim's Golden Sands, an ideal place to relax. Tastefully arranged around a vast central pool area, a gently shelving expanse of sand and garden runs from the grounds to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea, the scene of a spectacular sunset almost every evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sonesta Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Inns Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Hotel Candolim
Sonesta Candolim
Candolim Sonesta
Sonesta Inns Hotel Goa
Sonesta Inns Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing