We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good return visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 64 Hotels in Candolim
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good return visit.”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. We stayed in the newer blocks at the back of Newtons.These blocks have a seperate reception,small resturant and breakfast is served around the pool.This meant no long walk back to main reception and access was so easy . Reception were always very friendly and helpful, not sure where some reviewers have been staying!,if you make the effort to chat etc makes a difference!!(overheard some guests talking to staff and was disgusted with the way they spoke) Had emailed before arriving and got what I asked for. Apartment always clean,bedding changed regularly and room boy always supplied fresh towels without asking!(again chatting and being nice always helps)
Didnt spend much time at the pool but didnt have much trouble getting beds(this may be different when it is really busy at christmas etc)This hotel is so convienient and a good base. It is basic compared to some but how much time do you honestly spend there?
Will book to go again and look forward to staying.

Room Tip: Email and ask for rooms in newer block near Newtons. If you have mobility problems ask for ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sparklepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    210
    115
    64
    64
See reviews for
114
278
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've recently returned from our first family holiday in Goa, staying at the Highland Beach Resort. Did lots of research prior to our visit including this website.

The flight was exhausting so it was a nice surprise when we arrived at the Highland Beach. The room was very spacious and clean with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We had heard the reviews regarding the beds being very hard and indeed they were. However, we quickly got used to them.

You need to have an open mind when you visit Goa. Don't expect luxury! The food at local restaurants was fantastic and most of the toilets (apart from the airport) were very clean. We must just mention Lawrencio's shack which had the most fantastic food.

Overall, we had an absolutely fantastic time, the hotel was great but we really just used it as a base. The food wasn't the best and we only had their breakfast a couple of times as it wasn't up to much and just as cheap to have breakfast at . Lawrencio's.

We have just booked to go to Goa again next February staying at the Highland Beach. This is a first for us as we never usually book the same holiday twice!

So our advice is to ignore all the negative reviewers, keep an open mind and enjoy. This is India after all!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neilgt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

just got back from 2 weeks, do dont believe all the negative reports.

We were in block 2, two balconies one overlooking the pool, the rooms a basic but very clean, towels changed as soon as you throw them down.

Sometimes the service can be a little slow cereal being the one that can throw them out of sink for the rest of the day.

There is a slight problem with the sun beds there are a certain number of "residents" I use the term loosely, that are under the impression that it is there right to occupy a certain number of sunbeds in a certain place. They are down with there towels at around 6am and stand guard just to make sure no one pinches or moves them.
God help you if you laugh and stay up until 12pm having a drink on your balcony "you will be making to much noise with your drinking and keep the complex awake half the night".
as I was informed in the morning by one of the "residents"

But lets fact it you get miserable sods wherever you go, it was a good holiday enjoyed every minute and would to back again.



g

Room Tip: Ask if you can for block 2 all the rooms overlook the pool with a large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequentflyer062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

just had 2 weeks at this hotel, room was spotlessly clean, room boy very pleasant and helpful
we was in block 2 and it was very peaceful and we had 2 balconies one facing the pool
breakfast is the usual goan speciality EGGS !!! but the omelettes made to order were lovely
one big compliant there is no where near enough sunbeds round the pools and some miserable old b*****s seem to think they own certain ones because they are long stay if you want a bed set the alarm for before 6 !!!! you cant miss them they sit on guard in the corner with the best sun. we would return again if we do decide to go back to Goa
remember to bring a small padlock to use the free safes

Room Tip: try for the new blocks at the back of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dawnybrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This was our 4th trip to Goa so we know what to expect. I work 6 days a week and my wife works full time. We are not demanding but we do expect a certain level of service, cleanliness and value for money. Here at Highland Beach you do not get that. Its it's favour it is in a good location, you get free safety deposit lockers (you provide a padlock) and the room comes with a fridge freezer. The room and the fridge freezer need a good deep clean. We were so disgusted with the first room we got a move and the second room was the same, dirty. The towles and bedding are clean but stained. The argument is that Goa has a 'green' approach and does not use bleach in its washing powder/liquid. Well we support this but in our other apartments/rooms the towels and bedding was not stained. Service is poor, requiring follow up calls to get someone to fix the tv, get towels, toilet paper etc. There are rats in the grounds, bound to be so we are not surprised. We saw food from room service left outside rooms and not collected for 48 hours so they don't help matters. Would we return here? NO. Would we recommend this place to family or friends? NO. So do yourself a favour and spend your money else where.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarvinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.6 km away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#24 of 64 in Candolim
189 reviews
0.6 km away
Ruffles Beach Resort
Ruffles Beach Resort
#36 of 64 in Candolim
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#15 of 64 in Candolim
1,223 reviews
1.2 km away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 64 in Candolim
1,668 reviews
0.4 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 64 in Candolim
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing