We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Horror at the highland beach.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highland Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 63 Hotels in Candolim
leeds
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horror at the highland beach.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Just got back from Goa 30th Jan 2012 after our 6th Visit, stopped at the Highland beach as we could not get in sunset beach where we normally stop, it nearly put me off from going back to Goa again, did stop at HB the first year we went to Goa and i should have remembered wot it was like but no gave it a second chance (big Mistake). Stopped in room 305 friends in 306, did not sleep for the first 3 days then had to ask for another mattress, due to them been so thin and rock hard, fan squeeking all night plus the fridge making such a racket we had to unplug, then woke up to more water in room then there was in the sea.
Did complain and they sorted the fan & mattress but still not much sleep, never been so tired on holiday like this one, Roms were sort ov cleaned every day but the room boy kept putting our towels out on balcony to dry when we had put them on the floor to be replaced due to them been dirty, had to go to reception 3 times for clean ones. This hotel looks beautiful from out side and so do the pictures in brouchers but instead of buildng new blocks they need to spend money on the inside, it has not had no money spent on it in 6 years from when we were there b4. the staff are good but can sometimes be ignorant when waiting at the bar to be served.

Friends in room 306 had ants running up the bathroom wall and they were a lot ov dead one's which the room boy never cleaned up, friends had to clean them every day, me thinking there was only a few OMG when i saw them could not believe it, so got the room boy to spray them to see if it helped which did help a bit .

Did not use the fridge for any food, only water & milk due to it looking as though you would get salmonella from it, there that old and rusty and look that bad in side it put me off.

I know people say you get wot you pay for, but i have stayed at cheaper hotels in Candolim Goa and were better.

If you do go to this hotel ask for the new block, as by going wot people are saying there a lot better, which i wish i had done. take a plug for the sink and dont bother taking adapters for your electrical items as they did not work, we had to buy one from stall outside for 100 rps which worked a treat.

Beach Shacks: dont just stop in one like we have done in past there's a lot and even the ones that look as though no one goes in are as good.

Please dont believe every thing you hear about massagers and beggers not having no money, there not Goan and come from out side Goa for season and some have more money then the English as we found out this year after been taken in for 5 years now, so if you want to give go to the local churches and donate there as they give to the local Goan people.

Enough said from me but i will answer any question if you want to ask me. Enjoy your self in Candolim Goa if your going as we have done.

Thanx Julie

Room Tip: Ask for New block
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jumilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    204
    114
    60
    53
See reviews for
112
265
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Just returned from our second stay at the highland beach and would certainly return next year. The room we were given was one of the smaller ones but perfectly adequate for the two of us, quiet location, thoroughly cleaned every day and the room boys would do anything for you if you ask. I think the trick with the highland beach is if you are not happy where you have been located ask for a move and they are generally very accommodating.

As ever in India service can be a little slow and hit and miss but the staff were always helpful and polite despite a good few being new starters. Breakfast is the usual eggs in as many ways as they can possibly cook them but again quite acceptable. Didn't eat a great deal in the hotel as there are so many places to eat in the resort but what we did have was fine.

Pools generally clean and often fairly quiet with so many to choose from, occasionally run short of towels for some reason. Overall great quiet location but within 5 mins walk of the main resort, 6 mins if you decide you have had enough of being pestered to death by the stall holders on the lane and walk around the other way, but then again they are only trying to make a living!
In relation to bag snatching in the surrounding lanes its still going on, two on a bike attempted to snatch my bag at the bottom of the lane. Please be careful late at night when the streets are quieter. As for the resort itself you cant really go wrong with where to eat or drink, didn't really have a bad meal although I cant say we are fans of the food in the shacks. Try all the restaurants if you can (if you are there long enough), the usual ones still good for steaks being foxys, rising wave and Inferno but personally I find them a bit overrated and we found the food at 21 cocos on beach road to be spot on and the steak certainly better.

Glad to have come home when we did as all the bars and restaurants starting to shut at 11pm due to the impending elections for some reason, This will soon be moving to 10pm very soon so I can see a hell of a lot of people sat on their balconies with bottles of kingfisher, romanov and honeybee. Enjoy

On return at the airport once through customs the duty free shop and kiosk will take any currency despite the scam that they get you to change all you money back to stirling at a very poor exchange rate,

Room Tip: Get well away from the main reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in the new build block B I think room 4506 for 2 weeks..

HOTEL

- room had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 3 balconies a living room and a kitchen area
- rooms cleaned practically every day unless you ask them not to - properly cleaned i.e beds changed not just tidied (we checked :) ), floors mopped, pots washed etc.
- TV with some good recent films showing on HBO etc and BBC world news / sports channels
- Hotel staff in our build were extremely friendly - if you stay in the same block ask for PiPi and tell him hello from Kelly and Matt - he went out of his way to take us on the elephant trip and managed to get us in before the crowds and waited with us all day

AREA

- lots of places to eat/drink cheaply, some of the places we ate at were : Just Chinese, Bistro, Jazz Corner, Patricks - these were probably the best and fairly cheap - the most we spent on a meal for 2 including starters main meals and drinks was around £12 in total - can't complain! for a full english breakfast - J29 on beach road - 129 r/s (about £1.50) or go to Shaddy Nook at the back of Highland beach - we had beans on toast with mushrooms, scrambled egg on toast with bacon and two drinks... 360 r/s - less than £4!
- beautiful beaches - candolim beaches can get very busy but there are some nice shacks to relax in and the people will do whatever you need to make you comfortable - nothing is too much - go to Club 21 - they will give you a sun lounger as long as you are ordering food or drinks and will let you keep it for free all day - they also bring all your food and drink to the sunbed so you don't even need to get up!
- on the beaches you have more room to haggle for anything you want to buy if they don't give in tell them you don't want it and they will come around to your price - quite funny as most of them will have a laugh with it and be a bit cheeky
- can also get massages - go to Club 21 and ask for a full body massage from Ola - lovely man and the massage was unreal only cost us 500 r/s - around £6! you can tell him if you only want certain areas doing - again tell Ola hi from Matt and Kelly :)
- the shops on the main strip have some beautiful hand crafted items - but beware they will try to rip you off sometimes! be prepared to walk away! - we wanted 2 stone elephants and a little box and a guy in a shop tried to charge us 2700 r/s and wouldn't be haggled down so we left and met a guy on the beach who sold us 2 large elephants, 2 small elephants and some stone coasters for 900 r/s - much better!
- Go on a trip! we went on the elephant village trip - but do not book with the reps go and find PiPi or a taxi driver and arrange a price for them to take you and wait for you for the day - works out a lot cheaper - we went for an elephant ride, elephant shower/wash, fed the elephant, had an elephant blessing where it puts a garland on your head, the waterfall trip to Dudhsagar waterfall where we fed the monkeys and then did the spice plantation trip - we got free goan food which wasnt really our taste tbh but hey its free! as we went privately we got in before the crowds of tourists and got to spend more time with the elephants on our own just the two of us which was amazing - the spice plantation was a bit of a let down 800 r/s for a little girl to walk around and show us literally 5 different plants - give it a miss!
- have a trip over to Panaji (said Panjim) go on the ferry its an experience! there is also a KFC over there near the shopping mall for the typically english like us!
- Mackies market on a saturday is a bizarre but wonderful experience - millions of sellers who are ready to be properly haggled with - live music and some great cheap food!

NEGATIVES

- if you are a young couple looking for nightlife and a bit more to do - its probably not the right place for you - my boyfriend complained several times that it was 'nothing like cyprus' which he had a point - there isnt a lot to do at night except eat drink and occasionally there will be some music or karaoke on somewhere - everything shuts at around midnight
- there isn't the usual waterpark etc - we managed to find go karting just out side calangute i think it was but it took a while to get there around half an hour and its only on at night
- the beaches are beautiful but there are constantly people bothering you to buy things - best thing is to avoid eye contact with them - if you catch their eye politely say no thankyou and shake your head if they persist - pretend to read a book or just ignore them completely until they go - unless you want to buy something in which case haggle your heart out as they will try to rip you off!
-you will more than likely become ill at some point - not always a case of the food sometimes it can be something as minor as cuttlery washed in the wrong water - we both got ill once which meant we lost a day of our holiday in bed - not the best
- there is a lot of rubbish in the roads and streets even as you walk up to the beaches - also be prepared for the smells - sometimes really bad

TIPS

- already mentioned haggling - always start at half of what they are offering - don't pay any more than you would pay if it was pounds - i.e if they are offering 500 r/s for a pair of flip flops thats around £6 would you pay that at home? probably not..
- mosquito spray - buy plug ins over in India its a lot cheaper and they work better
- be prepared for a culture shock!
- be polite but firm with people - if you dont want something dont tell them maybe tommorow - they do not forget faces!
- avoid places where nobody is eating try places that have been recommended or where there are a few people eating
- don't sunbathe topless - many people were doing it but it was considered disrespectful and you can be arrested for it - police do drive up the beaches
- try not to feed the wild dogs or cows they can become aggresive - i had a dog jump on me on the beach in a fight and scratch my leg quite badly - they are wild after all


I know this is a lot of info! but hopefully it will give people a better insight - India is nothing like any other place I have been to - its beautiful but you have to remember it is a third world country - go expecting the worst and you will be suprised :)

Hope you enjoy it and if you need any more info drop me a message

p.s me and the boyfriend are still together so it can't be that bad haha

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new build - we used a courtesy room before our flight to shower which was in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KellyMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This was our third trip to Goa and our third stay at Highland beach resort Candolim.We love this place due to it's location which is 2 minutes from the action and 5 minutes from the beach but set back away from the main road enough to avoid the noise of traffic etc.If your rich enough to stop at the Taj , if not the Highland should be good enough for you.Rooms are basic with a rather uncomfortable furniture,I'd of been more happy if the tv was in the bedroom if I'm honest.The tv had a couple of good movie channels including HBO and all the premiership football games where available much to the frustration of the other half.The old Arthur Daley handshake with our room boy ensured he cleaned our room each day and provided fresh towels.Breakfast is a humble affair but got quite used to eggs eggs eggs and by the end of our fortnights stay I was clucking like a good one.All in all this hotel is an excellent choice if your after a base to explore the north of Goa just don't expect to be pampered in luxury.Already booked our fourth trip.Staff are friendly and helpful,don't use the taxidrivers outside this hotel,there prices are high,we used Elwyn (always outside Patricks fish&chips ,drives a blue car very friendly&informative,we only wish we'd had his number to pick us up at the airport when we arrived as our taxi driver there was a lunatic driving at breakneck speeds until I told him in rather course language to SLOW DOWN.All in all the highland will serve you as a excellent base for a memorable trip to Goa.My tip-ask for a room on the third or fourth(top) floor,as I feel your privacy might be disrupted if on ground level

Room Tip: avoid rooms by canteen due to noise also request room on top floor,(more privacy/quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrspliffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We were allocated an apartment is the new block so quiet location and no need to run the gauntlett of sellers along the lane as there is another entrance. We were on 2nd floor which is OK if you are alright for stairs there were 45 up to our floor.
Rooms were clean and sheets and towels changed regularly. The thing that keeps taking us back to the Highland is the staff,they are so friendly and helpful.
Breakfast as supplied is eggs any way they can be prepared anything is extra and some folks get cereal at the local supermarket .
We would return again.Its fairly basic but its only for sleeping and showering so enough.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new blocks most have 2 ensuite bedrooms and 3 balconies. They have separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HertfordshireHeathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 km away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#26 of 63 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.9 km away
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
Sukhmantra Resort and Spa
#46 of 63 in Candolim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.7 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#22 of 63 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#17 of 63 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.6 km away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#32 of 63 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Beach Resort

Property: Highland Beach Resort
Address: Near Primary Health Center, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Region: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Highland Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Beach Resort is an all suite property situated at Candolim, Goa. A 3 star property, it is spread over a vast 8 acres and offers multiple swimming pools and all other modern amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Highland Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Beach Hotel Candolim
Highland Beach Candolim
Highland Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing