We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rickety infrastructure at five star prices”
Review of Hotel Chanakya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Chanakya
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Patna
Reviewed 15 March 2012

When I visited Patna a few months ago, I was disgusted by the unsavoury clientele and indifferent service I had experienced at Hotel Maurya. This time I opted for Hotel Chanakya, which was like moving from the frying pan to the fire!

The entrance lobby was small and forlorn. The reception was frigid and my passport was whisked away to the third floor to be photocopied, even as another guest was clamouring for the return of his identity document.

My bed had just one light blanket and room seemed quite cold – the outside temperature at 1030 pm was around 10 degrees Celsius and expected to fall during the night. When I asked the reception about heating facilities, they graciously offered to provide me with a “room heater” which turned out to a much battered and very noisy old convector. Consequently, I had a choice between a warm but noisy room and a quiet but cold one – I ended up alternating between these charming options for most of the night! To add to my discomfort, the bed was not long enough to accommodate my 5’11” frame and my ankles were projecting beyond the edge of the mattress.

In the morning, I drew the curtains and sunlight flooded the room. Within minutes, the room temperature became uncomfortably warm. I realized that the large windows were equipped with very thin panes, which provided no thermal insulation.

The bathroom was notable for its dim lighting, discoloured tiles, stained towels, dubious toiletries and an extraordinarily slippery plastic bathtub with neither handholds nor anti-slip surfaces. The hotel was considerate enough to provide a plastic bucket and mug, but there was no possibility of using them, since the mixer was located directly above the notorious bathtub!

Buffet breakfast at Samrat restaurant was insipid and the service was sloppy. Breakfast service ended at 1030 am and the very next minute, a zealous cleaner began sweeping the floor beneath the feet of the guests who were still seated!

The last straw was that they managed to misspell both my first name and my surname on the bill, though I had provided my business card as well as my passport while checking in.

To be fair, I must mention that Takshila restaurant offers half-portions, which suits guests who are eating alone. My dinner was tasty and the service was prompt – the only positive feature of my stay at this hotel.

On the whole, a student or a pilgrim on a shoestring budget might tolerate the rickety infrastructure of this hotel. However, the tariffs – which are comparable to those of entry-level five star properties in other state capitals like Lucknow, Ranchi or Bhubaneswar – would suit only business travellers. I wonder if the original Chanakya, the great economist and political strategist of the 3rd century BC, would have approved of his modern namesake’s rip-off strategy!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atulya_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

Rooms are good but service is bad. This is not what you expect from a hotel chargin 4k min per room. First I was given a room near which a renovation was on . I was not able to use my phone for 2 hours. They changed my room after repeated follow ups. Food was good but too costly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaswatSaraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

i have booked through coca-cola reception.hotel is nice and staff's hospitality alo a good..i like a food at chankya hotel.i was there between 11/12/11 to 14/12/11. i had visited through my official work. hotel food is fine in patna and room also you looks like a home.

Room Tip: coose room in chankya tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank devang12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

One of the best and luxury hotels in Patna. The rooms are good and well done. However, they are little small in size. The reception could have been little proactive to receive the guests. They have the classic arrogances of a govt hotel. The attendants and servers are well mannered. The food is also good, but expensive. Good for business trips.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morbi24aug04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I have booked my package through Indiahorizons site for complete buddhist tour, it included 9 cities, which included Patna also..
As it is the capital, its too congested and traffic was horrible.
A Decent hotel with good food, but one can definately have other properties also, as we were bound by our entire tour.
Our stay was of 1 night i.e on 19th Nov 2011, with total 06 rooms, all the 6 rooms were very decent...

Room Tip: Rooms are vey decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nilesh_wagde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patna hotels
2.4 km away
Hotel Maurya Patna
Hotel Maurya Patna
#1 of 33 in Patna
279 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Gargee Grand
Hotel Gargee Grand
#3 of 33 in Patna
169 reviews
2.5 km away
The Panache
The Panache
#2 of 33 in Patna
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Patliputra Continental
2.9 km away
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
#6 of 33 in Patna
23 reviews
2.1 km away
Patliputra Exotica
Patliputra Exotica
#12 of 33 in Patna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chanakya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chanakya

Address: Beer Chand Patel Marg, Patna 800008, India
Region: India > Bihar > Patna District > Patna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Patna
Price Range: €62 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chanakya 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Chanakya at Patna the leading four star business hotel . We have 112 centrally air conditioned rooms with premium lifestyle. Samrat is our 32 year old multi cuisine restaurant located on the ground floor is famous for its Mercury Chicken & tomato baked fish . Madira our well stocked bar is the best place to quench your thirst located in the lobby level . We are proud of our specialty restaurant Takshila located on the first floor that serves mouth watering Indian delicacies . The Murg Malai and Murg Mirch Tikka which our regular guests and food connoisseurs swear by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Chanakya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanakya Hotel Patna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing