We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Arts and Crafts Village near Hi-Tech City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilparamam Cultural Society

Shilparamam Cultural Society
Ranked #11 of 238 things to do in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Arts and Crafts Village near Hi-Tech City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Shilparamam is a great place to go for souvenirs. You must haggle otherwise you will be paying WAY WAY too much. The stalls don't open until 11am and even then, not all will be open yet. You can get really good deals if you are a vendor's first customer of the day and don't be afraid to walk away--the vendor might follow you and give you a counter offer.

Helpful?
1 Thank livingtothefullest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    324
    113
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Colourful and artistic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I love Shilparamam. I get my ear rings,bangles and other trinkets from here. The artisans sometimes quote a very high price. You must haggle. Start with about 50 % of the stated price. They have a grand mela in December when artisans from all over India exhibit their waves. You have to pay an entrance fee of Rs. 25

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank mjose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Craft market worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

It was quiet at the craft market when we visited and not all stalls were open. Slightly tired looking but some good bargains to be had at the stalls.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ThurlbyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice place to visit once in a while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

the place is beautifully set up, the art and craft is really well made and set up... the mannequins are near life like.. there are some stalls for various items from handbags to bangles to pottery etc, mostly handmade stuff.. but you will have to bargain hard for a nice deal... last time i visited this place there was no boating in the small pond kind of water body they have here, but they told me it should be there in a couple of months, so that would add an incentive to visit... there are limited options to eat mostly serving overpriced south Indian items like idly, wada and bonda with bhajjis, so thats a drawback...overall a nice place to visit with some kids, or as a couple..

Helpful?
1 Thank AmitK4mHyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Discovered there is so much more to it than just artifact shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Shilaparam is a great place to get handmade artifacts from all over India at a bargains. Had gone there today with my Photography club to take low light picture at evening time.
Got some great pictures.

Saw so much more of it today, all the flowers, lawns where kids were playing. So many different colors. Great place to capture pictures of India. There are eating places, and the rock garden is a unique attraction

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev_Shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shilparamam Cultural Society also viewed

 
Hyderabad, Telangana
Hyderabad, Telangana
 

Been to Shilparamam Cultural Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing