We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Best way to reach Havelock

We travelled by Green ocean-1 and pre-booked all the tickets in the Royal Class . When the ship... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
manmeets151
,
New Delhi, India
GOOD FERRY

We travelled to Have lock and Neil islands from port blair through this ferry. A well maintained... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Rathnam J
Read all 145 reviews
  
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
49
49
33
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
49
33
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open deck luxury class play music havelock island sea trip great ride comfortable trip better option take pictures seating arrangements very nice experience comfortable seats sea sickness the upper deck air conditioned per person passengers
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

If Green Ocean works it is more pleasant than Makruzz, you can go out on deck, (at least when you are well clear of Port Blair and not too close to Havelock) walk around, enjoy the ocean views and the sea breeze, observe the different islands and watch the flying fish skimming over the water, but unfortunately it does not seem to be a very reliable service. The day we were due to return to Port Blair the Green Ocean sailing from Havelock was cancelled due to some unspecified technical reason and although we had booked Royal class for Rs 1400 we together with everybody else were transferred to the Premium class (cattle class as Shashi Tharoor might describe it) on Makruzz and not given any compensation or refund even though the cost of the Makruzz ticket was less. So nobody knows whether it was a genuine problem or just a strategy for the ferry companies to make more money when the ships are not booked up. The doubt will always remain that it could happen again. Plus we had to wait around in the heat for a long time waiting for the Makruzz which left 75 minutes after the scheduled departure time of the Green Ocean.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Cojoncio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Sometimes I thought to go for MAK not to get chance, But this cruise is better than MAK in the aspect of cleanliness and the seats are much more comfortable. More or less it is a better option on time comfortable journey, go ahead!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Kartikvanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Any emergency, you can say bye to this world.
Great ocean 1 had no life jackets in the seats.
All life jackets were dumped in a corner store room with no indication or signage. There was NO safety Demonstration.
Out of two gangways, one had no side barriers.
Deluxe Class is a nightmare. The seats are in the cargo hold with no view. The seats are positioned without any clear exit passage with large pipes blocking the passages.
Seats have no push back arrangements. Monopoly forces people to take this ferry.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank vijay_ril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Other than government ferry there are 3 private ferries running from Port blair to Havloc Island. Markuzz, Green ocean 1 & Green Ocean 2.These all are very good ferries depending upon what you prefer. If you want comfort seating and ambience then choose Markuzz but if you r there to enjoy the see then you would u be seated and sleep. For this Green Ocean 1 is best.This ferry has 3 classes , Delux,Luxary & Royale. Deluxe is lower deck with no windows with television playing Bollywood movie. Luxury is in middle deck with comfort seating and sea view windows and royale with Sofa seating and good ambience. This is the only ferry who allows passenger to roam in upper deck after half an hour so that u may take pictures and dance if u want . We were got lucky so got the chance to go upper most deck where you can have fresh air, beautiful view in ur cameras and also u may see so many flying fishes easily. If u are able to spend some money then choose Royale class otherwise luxury is also OK. I enjoyed this ferry and will prefer to everyone. The logic behind this, if v r going to explore Andaman then why we want comfort. We must enjoy the view and for this only Green ocean 1 is option. Food provided in Snack bar was very costly.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank KirtiP135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This ferry is awsome. People were dancing on the floor on DJ songs. There is a tea shop inside where you can buy tea/coffee/snacks. Makruzz is more sophisticated and comfortable however if you want to enjoy the ferry then Green Ocean 1 is better. It has open deck so you can take pictures. On the other hand Makruzz is fully closed.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Sarthak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews