We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't say enough good things about TOS!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taveuni Ocean Sports

Taveuni Ocean Sports
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things about TOS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Everything written below is true. Julie is wonderful- calm, professional, funny and enjoyable to be around. You can tell she loves what she does. We did 4 dives with her (even managed to be in Fiji at the right time for The Great White Wall- amazing). The diving in Taveuni is amazing and Julie helps you learn about it- I do love that she carries an underwater tablet so that she can identify the fish and coral for you as you.

We especially loved that we dove with 2 dive masters per dive. In our group, we had one diver who used more air, so someone was always able to accompany him up so the rest of us could stay down longer.

Our groups were small- 2-3 people per dive master. We saw a lot of boats that were very crowded.

I would highly, highly recommend diving with Julie... we can't wait to get back and do more diving!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank flamyRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The Best Diving Experience - Awesome!!!! You can't do better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Aaron and Julie are absolutely the best at what they do! They are so knowledgable about the sea life, the currents, the water, when is the best time to dive where and are absolulely committed safety.

I was a beginner who was very hesitant about whether I really liked diving, but Julie couldn't have put me more at ease! She is so encouraging and enthusiastic that I had no worries about anything while I was diving. There are so serious currents in the Somosomo Straights, but our dive masters always had a pre-dive white board chat telling us where we were going, how deep, how the currents were running and what we would see. This made a huge difference for my dive experience. Also they limit there dive groups to four divers per dive masters, which I think is really important.

We had a variety of levels of experience, but everyone was able to get the most out of every dive site. We go to do the Great White Wall which was amazing, but really every single dive we did (10) was amazing the Julie and Aaron (and Thomas) really made the most out of every dive by pointing out amazing things at every turn.

The highlight of the trip was swimming with the Manta Rays after one of our dives. They let us jump in with fins and snorkels and get to experience them up close. So amazing!

The level of service we received here and the quality of the dive sites has ruined us for going any where else. We will definitely return to Nakia Dive and Resort to vacation again! (Also this is a family run dive shop and resort and the whole family couldn't be nicer!)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank staceytann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Professional and Passionate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Taveuni Ocean Sports was recommended to us by Taveuni Island Resort. Julie, Aaron, and their team operate a very professional operation and are enthusiastic and passionate about diving the Rainbow Reef. We had 6 dives altogether. Before the first dive Aaron reviewed the unique marine life and corals (as well as some insight into life cycle and behaviour) and explained why this area is considered to have some of the best diving in the world. This briefing included photographs of some of the more unique species - a couple of which we saw. The equipment was excellent and safety a high priority. Pre dive briefings were clear and both Julie and Aaron are great at handling all levels of divers including newbies (me). The diving groups are small: three to a dive master. We met many divers from all over the world with considerable experience and all were awed by the colourful soft coral, pristine reefs, and abundant marine life. I appreciated the use of the underwater tablet to identify the marine life.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank eiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We did six dives with TOS (Taveuni Ocean Sports) when we visited Taveuni. Our experience was awesome!
Even thought we only had 10 dives before, there were no problems and we felt really safe.
Thanks to everyone at TOS and extra special thanks to our great divemaster Thomas.

We WILL be back!

Helpful?
Thank Antti-and-Annika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dive operation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Julie and her dive staff make the incredible dives easy and comfortable. They are very professional and take the time to do it right. The only thing now will be where to dive that is bettter than Taveuni?

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taveuni Ocean Sports also viewed

 

Been to Taveuni Ocean Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing