We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island View Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coral Beach Resort Tiran(Sharm El Sheikh)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 58% below average rates

The price you found is 58% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,853)
Filter reviews
2,853 results
Traveller rating
1,543
791
312
133
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,543
791
312
133
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria barsoho squaremain restaurantfatima restauranthollywood cafeanimation teamfishitalian restaurantgreat holidayguest relationstwo weeksthe thomas cook repsoft drinksspecial thankskids clubtiran islandcant wait
Filter
Updating list...
823 - 828 of 2,853 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I have returned from 10 day's holiday (30.08.12) at the island view. It is the 3rd time I have been to this hotel and this year returned just myself and my 8 year old daughter who's birthday it was whilst we were there.
The staff were, as usual, very friendly and helpful and remembered us from previous visits. The people from Guest Service's, Tracy and Rachael are particularly helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them with regular phone calls to make sure we were ok. The animation team all did their up most to involve my daughter and make us feel part of everything and Abbie was great in helping us to ensure my little's one's eight birthday was really special.
The hotel is always very clean but the rooms are in need of a little up-date as general wear and tear has taken it's toil. The garden's are well maintained as are the pool and bar area's.
I did struggle a little trying to find my 8 yr old something she would eat in the main restaurant as the food was often a little too exotic for her taste but there is alway's fresh pasta available and the 2 al a carte restaurants will cater for individual taste if you ask.
There is often a lot written about the number of Russian guests at this hotel. I do agree that there are some people from Russia who do not wait their turn and can be a little abrupt but then again the English can often be guilty of this too. When I spoke to some of the Russian guests I found them to be very pleasant and they try very hard to speak English. I say give them a chance...besides, the English guests seem to be preferred by the Egyptians so you won't have any trouble with service. The spa is worth a visit, very reasonable prices and professional service.
When we were due to leave for England it felt like we were leaving family and friends behind as the staff were so great. We will definantley return and recommend the Island View to families.

Room Tip: A junior suite is alway's best for space. If you ask for a pool view (pool 1,2 or 3) you are pretty close to the restaurant and main bar. Most of the rooms are quiet as the entertainment/music is finished by 11.30 - 12.00
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Dear Lisa and Grace,

Many thanks for your review and of course for once again giving us the pleasure of your company.

I'm glad you once again enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Just returned from a weeks visit to Island view..(21-28 Aug)..
We booked this hotel because of the excellent reviws on here,and this was our 3rd visit to sharm in 2 yrs and the second this yr,all in different hotels..
This was the worst of the 3 hotels..
Hotel itself was very nice and rooms were clean enough although in need of updating..
The beach was very nice and one of the best for snorkeling..
The english hotel reps(Rachael and Tracey were an absolute credit and would deal with Any problems immediately)..And Abbie the entertainments rep was Unbelievable,One of the best reps ive ever met (and shes only been reping for 4 months).
Now for the bad bits......
Hotel was Full of Russians...Rude,Obnoxioius people..
Everything from the way they speak to the egyptian staff,taste the food at meal times then put it back,very drunk at night time,even had a russian drop his towel at the bar(naked) drunk..(very small willie..:)...One russian was a constant pain for 3 days constant,everything from oggling young girls,One was 9 yrs old..To trying to get on to the entertainment stage blind drunk..The only person to stop him was Abbie...Disgrace that they let her put herself in the line of fire..
As i said for 3 days this guy was a menace..And the management did Nothing..
The coral was constantly stood on or picked by the russians..
I asked one of the scuba guys why they didnt pull them and he replied he would lose his job..
This hotel is predominantely for Russians..They get away with Anything because the management dont want to lose customers..
The food is probably 3 star at best..Not enough waitering staff..Most days we cleared our own table to sit down and eat..Ibraham was without doubt the best waiter..One of the very few to actualy Smile and was always helpful..
Actualy ate out more on this holiday than i have in a long time...
The worst thing was watching the russian march at meal times..Always had to be first.Watching them test food then return it to the trays was vile..
The management need more waiters to monitor and need to set rules to protect there staff and other visitors...
Would not return here. ...Better hotels in sharm....
PS..Note to management....A hand written letter goes a long way.....(Thank you Rachael)

Room Tip: Another Hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kelvin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Kelvin and Family,

Thankyou for your honest review of the hotel and your comments about Abbie which will be passed on.

As you are aware the hotel is predominantly booked by the Eastern European market at the moment and as we were 100% full during your visit I understand your frustrations.

However, light is at the end of the tunnel as we have begun to sign the new contract with tour operators for this winter and next summer and we have really picked up in the western European market. We endeavour to control any bad behaviour from unruly guests (which comes from all nationalities) by involving the tour companies and in serious cases removing the wristbands or evicting guests.

We wish happy travels for you and your family in the future.

Kind Regards
Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We visited this hotel for the 4th time on the 26th July for 2 weeks and I have got to say it gets better every time. Tracey green shields is always as welcoming as ever and nothing is to much trouble she really gos out of her way. All the staff are so welcoming it is unbelievable and they always remember who you are. Mohammad fawzy was our waiter and he can not do enough for you he is so pleasant and is really good with the children. All the management are fantastic are on the go all the time ensuring everything is perfect with the hotel. We met a load of English people there and are all returning in August next year. Here's looking forward to another fab holiday.

Catherine calvin

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Cath,

I don't need to go into detail........

It was and always is our pleasure to have you visit the hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Regards from all the team

Rachel and Tracey
Island View resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The room was a little bit old, but spacious with comfortable beds. The room, the all inclusive services, and the whole hotel met with the average Egyptian four star hotel standards. The sea is wonderful much better than in Hurghada. The entire area is very clean and well maintained. The staff is very polite and effective, specially Tracey Greenshields who is dealing with the guest relation, she is marvellous, helped us a lot.
There is one main letdown - and it is not the fault of the hotel – too much Russian tourists, approx 90 % of the guests had come from this area. Mainly they do not know such words as “please” or “thank you”. Not too much appreciating other people, the written and not written rules of have holiday together. If there is less Russians I would go back, because the hotel the services and the staff – thanks to Tracey again – were really good. So it is very good if there is just a few Russians......

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hoborc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Greetings from Egypt.

I'm delighted to see a review from one of our Hungarian guests and would like to thank you for taking the time to post your thought.

I will pass on your comments to the concerned department headds and treat Ms Tracey to a drink for the excellent work she has been doing ensuring our guests are happy.

You raised an excellent point about our rooms and I would like to remind all future guests our rooms are not new but they are comfortable and clean and an excellent size.

Kindest regards

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This was our first stay at the Island view resort hotel, actually it was our first visit to Egypt. We travelled to the Island view on the 26th July for two weeks, this hotel was brilliant, on arrival we were greeted by the customer services rep Tracey, who booked us into the hotel, Tracey was brilliant, made us feel very welcome, felt like we had been friends for years. The room was clean and tidy and the hotel itself was spotless. The staff were very polite and very helpful, they could not do enough for you. I would like to mention in particular Mohamed Oscer, this waiter was the best, he could not do enough for you and was very helpful, thank you Mohamed. The pools were clean and kept spotless. The food was fantastic, everyday there was a different variety of food, my son who has medical problems was treated very well, they couldn't do enough for him. The Italian restaurant, the food was lovely and the staff were very efficient. The entertainment team were always around asking if we would like to participate in all the activities they did from aqua gym to water polo, a big thankyou to Abby and Mykey on the entertainment team who made us feel very welcome and always stopped for a chat. Again i would like to thank all the staff at the island view resort, especially Tracey and Mohamed. This was one of the best holidays we have ever been on and have already booked to go back next year. A big thank you to Tracey and Mohamed at the hotel, see you next year. Janet, Lee & Nathan Mottrom

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Dear Mrs Mottam,

Many thanks fro your kind review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to all our department heads expecially the food and beverage manager and Ms Tracey,

We look forward to welcoming you again in The Island View Resort.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews