We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island View Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$89
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$108
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Parrotel Beach Resort(Nabq Bay)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Domina Coral Bay Oasis(Sharm El Sheikh)
US$46
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay(Sharm El Sheikh)(Great Value!)
US$29
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,804)
Filter reviews
2,811 results
Traveller rating
1,504
791
310
133
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,504
791
310
133
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria barsoho squaremain restaurantfatima restauranthollywood cafeanimation teamitalian restaurantfishgreat holidayjunior suiteguest relationstwo weeksbar staffthe thomas cook repspecial thankssoft drinkskids club
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,088 - 1,093 of 2,811 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We have just returned from the Sunrise Island View after what has to be said was a lovley week in the sun, temp never dropped below 25 degrees and that was even over night.
The hotel itself is i a lovely setting and provides a very warm if slightly over fussy welcome ( baggage not allowed in hotel foyer and is taken by the Bell boy to your room ten mins or so after you check in) however it has to be said if you want the best the hotel has to offer then take a good stack of pound coins with you as tips are always expected for any kind of service and egyptian pounds go down like a lead balloon.
the hotel has four good sized pools including a quiet pool with no bar, music or kids allowed for those who want a quiet day to laze in the sun and read or just chill. Again however it has to be said we went in a very quiet period for the hotel and could still not get a bed by the pool anytime after 8 in the morning. Now I know we always blame the Germans for this but sorry folks it was us brits to blame this time, it appears that the norm or so we found out on our last day is to give the pool guy a couple of quid ever few days and get chatty with him and as we observed he will lovingly run around at 7 am and make sure your beds are where you want them and that they are all reserved for you even though this is against hotel rules and therefore allowing you to rise at your leisure and come to the pool when it suits you. Staff in general are nice but a little on the grumpy side and the sales staff who work with the hotel do tend to be a bit over bearing and a bit forceful in their attempts to sell your the trips or scuba diving which it has to be said is a touch over priced. ( turkish bath and spa was £45 while we can get the same thing in Turkey for £10 so didnt do that one) but all in all had a lovely time and any issues were sorted by the english speaking customer service team very quickly. would recommend the hotel as a pretty good place to stay with direct access to private beach and good night time entertainment and of course food and drink wasnt too bad if you can manage most thing to eat and they will cater if you have allergies. but like i said all in all good value for money and wouldnt mind another trip

Room Tip: plenty of pound coins
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mmurra36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We (party of 6 friends) stayed at the Sunrise Island View from 17-28 May 2011. It was me & my husbands 3rd time at this hotel and all I can say is it just gets better every time.
Because we'd stayed there before we got a lovely room (Junior Suite) with sea view, dressing gowns & slippers and a bottle of wine and basket of fruit. The rooms and bathroom are spacious, although a bit dated and could do with a bit of a refurb, but are kept very clean so that's the important thing, after all, how much time do you spend in your room??? They would benefit from tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms but if people are that bothered take a travel kettle. The hotel has 4 pools, Pool 1 & 2 are up at the top near the main building and have swim up bar and slids, Pool 3 is a quiet pool, where you can relax without being disturbed by anyone trying to sell things like trips or spa, and Pool 4 which is closest to the beach. Most of the staff remembered us from our last holidays there so it was like home from home. The animation team work very hard to keep people entertained and the only downside of the holiday was the lack of evening entertainment at the Terrace Bar (on previous visits there was always a singer on at night). The food was better than last time (more variety), the hotel grounds are kept immaculate and very pretty with colourfull flowers everywhere and well laid out. The Management and staff make this hotel even more special and really can't do enough for you. We would like to give a special mention to Mr Salah, Mr Ashraf, (Food & Beverage) Tracey & Shellie (Guest Relations), Mohammed Saad (Pool 4 attendant) who looked after us so well, we were gutted when he got moved to the beach before we left. Abd El Ghany (Pool 4 Barman), Mahrous (main restaurant) and all the other waiters, all the waiters at Fatimas (I feel guilty because I should remember more names), and Mohammed (Chef at the main restaurant and the Terrace Bar. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Chose this hotel after good reviews on trip advisor and the like. After requesting a high floor room and a sea view - got a ground floor with a view of a tree - not a great start but it's not the end of the world. The rooms are fairly large and well equipped. The air conditioning struggled on manfully through the week although it frequently made noises akin to an elephant in distress. Its all inclusive for alcoholic and soft drinks which sounds great in the searing heat until you get dispensed your drinks in tiny glasses that would make a dwarf blush - this creates a bit of a challenge to avoid dehydration. Nightly entertainment amongst others is provided by a depressed guitarist painfully strumming along to a backing track aided and abetted by a couple of disillusioned disco lights. If you love your food then you'll be fine here as you'll recognise the same food again and again recycled in the buffet later during your stay. Always make sure you have a pocketfuls of money to service the staff who have rock-hard biceps from the amount of expectant hand opening they will do - i'm aware that this is customary in Egypt but I tend to tip after service and not before. Be aware that the staff will endlessly communicate with you via the medium of their whistles - for the first day I thought I was staying a a refereeing convention. The only time the staff showed any interest was on the last couple of days of the stay when they reminded us to sing the hotels praises on Trip Advisor...

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRAIGABZ969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Just got back yesterday after 2 amazing weeks here. This was my boyfriend and i's first time away together.

The room was a little bit run down, needing a coat of paint and a new bath but nothing huge. Our bedding was changed everyday, always had bottles of water in the fridge, and clean towels in the room. We were in room 276 which was near the beach. The gardens around the hotel were kept gorgeous, always gardeners out cutting the grass, planting flowers or just tidying it up.

The food was a little basic(chinese,Italian,fish,Egyptian) but very nice nothing to complain about. Alot of "English" moaned because it wasn't typical English food (i.e. fry ups etc), sorry but your in Egypt, what are you expecting, if thats what you want try Blackpool or Butlins. On the website it asks for men to be in trousers(not alot to ask) and for no swim wear to be worn in the dining room, put it this way, 90% of people looked like they just walked off the beach for dinner, one German man walked in wearing extremly short shorts. I think this is disgraceful. The waiters are not allowed to approach anyone who isn't in trousers and ask them to change because they face getting the sac.

The beach was clean and tidy had a bar and a place you could get hot dogs,burgers salad etc. the pools were spotless and were not over crowded like some places.

We found out from a worker in the hotel they work 12 hour shifts, 7days a week for up to 5 months with out a day off, which they then get 6 days off to return home. They only receive £40 a month in wages so there main source of wage is though tip, our waiter Ahmed was amazing, couldn't do enough for us, always drinks on our table and a clean table by the window every night, some times offered to get our food for us. Also Ahmed our house keeper, if we needed more towels or anything he's be right down with them... The HOTEL staff are out of this world, extremely helpful,polite and friendly, would do anything to make sure you were ok.

We went on a Camel trek,Quad biking which was great fun, just was hot, and make sure you take sunglasses as its very dusty.. Also went on a boat with Pyrimid Dive company which are situated on the beach, we got picked up at 8 from the hotel taking to the boat which was gorgeous, then we got taking to Tiran Island where we made a dive to 8 metres(legal restiction for someone with no PADI) we got taken down on our own with the guide down for about 15/20 minutes. It was my first time i was a little scared but was truely amazing seeing all that underwater life, we then got taken to just off tiran island were we made a second dive, 8 metres for 15/20 metres. Then we got given a lunch of chicken,fish,potatoes, salad, houmous etc was gorgeous and not to heavy for snokelling. we then got taken to the 3rd site it's a Russian ship wreck which got stuck on the coral due to a drunk captain. We could only snorkell here due to strong underwater currents. If you have a PADI open water you can dive. All our soft drinks,tea/coffee and water/ food was included in the price for that if you just include the snorkelling its £35 but if you do the 2 Dives aswell its £70. The Team on the boat were a great laugh, took us to a place were dolphins are sited, we seen 4 who were swimming with the boat...


We had a great time, going back next year definitly no doubt about it....Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank rd3audi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

all the staff were lovely and went out of their way to help you. there was a choice of 4 pools to choose from each day which included an adult only pool. the hotel was very clean and the rooms had everything you needed in them. would definitely return back to this complex.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank xx123xx_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews