We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first stay in sharm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dreams Beach Resort
Ranked #107 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“our first stay in sharm”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

my partner and i went to sharm on the 5/1/12, it was our first time and i was very anxious as i had read previous reviews and was worried about what everyone had said. however on arrival, the airport was chaos, you dont need a visa if you are not travelling outside of sharm, my partner and i needed one as we were planning on travelling to cairo, it cost us 250 EP for the both of us. we got to the hotel and the couldnt have been more helpful, we left our bags at the front and went to our room to freshen up before dinner, the room was very clean, we had a pool and sea view which was beautiful, our bags arrived and we were able to get changed for dinner. we went to the main buffet dining room, rice and pasta is mainly what is served, they did have different meat available every night, it was basic food however and i would not have eaten there every night. we tipped the cleaner on the first couple of mornings and after that we got our fridge topped up with water and coke, we got fresh bedding and towels everyday, they were always polite when we saw them. we found that they like english pounds, so if you go be sure to take some to tip cleaners or the waiters. we visited the asia house twice which was lovely, the food was cooked well, my partner and i both thought that it was one of the best chinese we've had, we also visited the mexican once, which was also lovely although i think the chinese was better food. the extra cost was not a lot, about 27 english pounds for both me and my partner. We didnt go on excursions with our rep we went with Tim and Janet at sinai safari adventures... http://sinaisafariadventures.com/ we found them very helpful and it was good to know someone was looking out for you out there as they were interested in what you were doing and they always said to let them know if we had any problems, there excursions were briliant and at a very good price. everyone that worked at dreams was very nice, very helpful and couldnt have done any more for you if they tried. we did get hassled whilst round the pool area, we found that if we said no for the first few days that they would leave us alone also we told them that we had booked to do our excursions with other reps so they left us alone after that too. we went snorkelling with pharaoh divers on the resort too, that was a beautiful trip and would adivse people to go, very good value for money also. i would go back to this hotel again, everyone is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 69stargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    496
    265
    97
    105
See reviews for
492
644
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We have been here twice, once in january and again in october. Weather ok in january but the pool was freezing and it gets cold at night. The weather was much hotter in october, a better time to go in my opinion. The resort is looking tired & in need of a makeover but it's clean enough! The staff are very friendly but the constant hassle from sales guys trying to sell quad biking, boat trips, camel treks etc is just too much! It really is enough to put you off going here. My biggest complaint about our holidays to this area of egypt is the russians! I really do believe i have never seen greed like this in my entire life! Given the chance i think they would raid the bins for a scrap of food! They were pushy in the dining rooms, physically shoving people out if the way to get at the buffet. Very rude and loud and they all seemed constantly drunk! The resort does not have a lot of things to do - scuba diving is really about it. We ate at My Place in the main reception area of the resort and it was lovely but avoid the mexican restaurant in the sister resort, dreams vacation, absolutely dreadful! You could make the trip to petra from here which we planned to do but sadly we were unable as my partner had an accident but it's something to consider! We were invited to dinner with the manager as it was our second visit, think it's a standard invite to all guests who return for more than one visit, and it was a brilliant nite! Best night of the whole holiday (and the best food). We won't go back as we have been twice which really is more than enough!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porter313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Firstly Thomas Cook doesn`t tell you half the facilities are unavailable during the winter months.The REP was useless and couldn`t wait to get rid of you unless you were booking an excursion.
Oh and here`s a good old laugh for you - We were celebrating 25 years of marraige which entitled us to a fruit basket, when it arrived in all its splendor, it consisted of a small white plate, perched on top was a banana, an orange and 2 bruised apples eh,eh thanks Dreams Resort you made our day!!!!

Ten beautiful pools available, used only by the large flock of pigeons that circled the resort, they were the cleanest pigeons I have ever seen!
,. So you find yourself a spot around the empty pool, only to be descended on by hoard of shifty looking salesmen, not just once, time after time, day after day, it was horrendously annoying.
The pool bar served disgusting all inclusive drinks (all alchohol in every bar was disgusting) and lunch which was exactly the same every day; greasy chips, pizza,some sort of chicken, burgers.It did say sandwhiches were available, i never saw any.
Pool toilets were acceptable.
Back to the drinks horrid plastic, scratched, discoloured glasses around the pool (the plastic is fair enough, but please make the recepticals enticing to drink out of. The lager was weak, full of gas yet sometimes flat to look at, the spirits all tasted the same, soapy and horrid.

Pool towel service ok, never saw the AI ice-creams. There was no atmosphere around the pool, no one could swim due to the icy water, the entertainment team were a non exsistant joke, it was truly ridiculous, thank god we wern`t there with children.

The sea was beautiful, clean and warmer than the pool, the jetty that you walk on over the coral to get out to swim was very slippy, but once swimming it was great and we saw some beautiful fish.
There was a 100(or so it felt like) step treck down to the small man made beach, we were followed by the sales people trying to flog us a boat trip. Once at the bottom we were greeted by many broken sunbeds, a grotty massage area and the most disgusting toilets imaginable.

The mini golf, shish bar, outdoor auditorium were tired looking, the Grillbar on the beach was full of greedy russians and had bird muck on the chairs.

The reception was ok, as it was Christmas the tree and trimmings were still up.On arrival, it was like a Russian, Christmas version of One flew over the cuckoos nest, the music played by the pianist was very depressing. Got hassled here also to go on a submarine.
None smokers beware the lobby was a smoking area and also the main entertainment area for the Dreams Resort during the winter months.
Toilets near buffet were immaculate.
There was a fountain and hidden bar area nearby, on closer inspection we found the halloween decorations and an old bingo machine and numerous wires and spent bulbs - nice!

The buffet was acceptable,the breakfast waiters were friendly and efficient with the coffee. Eggs , omelets and under cooked pancakes, stale cereal and warm UHT skimmed milk.
There was also the usual array of beef bacon, white sausages, mashed potatoe, mashed pumpkin for our Russian friends.There was fresh bread, cheese, ham, jam, honey flora marg and rock hard frozen butter(at least they had tried to keep it cold)

The evening buffet was ok, there was choice, but I couldn`t say if it was repetitive as we only ate there twice during the week, we preffered the Asia House which was excellent and the Mexican.
PLEASE BE WARNED IF YOU GO TO THE MEXICAN WATCH YOUR MONEY AND YOUR CHANGE. WE WERE NOT USED TO THE NOTES AND FOR A MEAL COSTING 550 EP WE ENDED UP PAYING 900EP . MY HUSBAND HANDED OVER 6 NOTES THINKING THEY WERE ALL HUNDREDS, THERE WAS INFACT 3 200`S AND 3 100`S. WHEN WE REALISED AND TOLD THE MAN IN CHARGE HE BLATENTLY SAID WE HAD ONLY GAVE HIM 5 NOTES, THIS WAS NOT TRUE. THIS EXPERIENCE LEFT US SHORT OF MONEY AND GAVE US VERY LITTLE FAITH IN THE STAFF. THE FOOD WAS VERY AVERAGE I WOULD GIVE THE PLACE A MISS AND STICK TO THE ASIA HOUSE WHERE YOU CAN EAT INDIAN OR CHINESE.

The rooms were adequate, the beds were comfy, no problems with pillows. there were areas that were unhygienic, the surfaces in the room ie dressing table ,bed side cabinates, fridge cabinet were ingrained with dirt, the telephone was greasy and had visible dirt on the ear and mouth piece, the balcony door handles were dirty and the carpet on the floor was dusty.

The bathhroom had a horrible sewage smell, the water pressure was none exsistant so toilet flushing nearly broke your thumb, the shower at times was a mere trickle.
The cleaner was ok, he would come in and out during the day with a forgotten towel, a bath mat that was only changed once, water that we had to request once or twice. He would rush us out of the room to clean every morning only to call back later with the things he had forgotten. However he was friendly, the 100 EP tip may have helped with that!

Every evening at 4.30 darkness descended, the resort was so spread out it was eerily quiet., no happy holiday atmosphere, full of russians with their arctic proof clothing. Thank goodness for the Dreams Vacation a 10 minute walk or ride on the Tuc Tuc took you to an ouside bar with patio heaters and the same latin american dodgy tape playing every night. The wine in the plastic glasses as we sat and waited for dinner were great (not)

After a lovely meal (in the Asia House) it was singa long time with a geriatric Hulio Englasias look alike, he would drag you up to sing a range of all male songs (lots of Elvis and other 1960`s stuff) all in his key making every other singer sound terrible, it would have been funny if we were drunk, no chance of that though with rubbish they were trying to pass off as alchohol.

There was a disco every night we dared to enter once (Before we realised the alchohol was so bad) The people in the room above loved it, we realised this every morning at 5am when they came staggering in to their room, from our perspective it could have been a herd of camels, not to worry though the early wake up call made sure we were up and about early for our room to be cleaned(?)

To sum up:
* The people were friendly.
*The food was ok.
*The cleaning standards below average.
**The drinks exept for the coffee in a morning were the worst I have ever encounted.
*The hassling around the pool was intimidating by one sales person imparticular he will try to tell you about coconut, honey, coconut massage lactic acid distribution(Just pretend you are asleep!)
*The airport on arrival, disorganised chaos, like a cattle market, no one knows what is happening.
*We didn`t venture out of the hotel as other couples told us they were bieng grabbed from all sides and hassled beyond belief.

*I would never come to this area of Eygpt again only on an organised Nile Cruise to see the sights.
Thats it really...

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have the best water pressure so you can flush your toilet and have a decent shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank joanneheeley238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This was our 3rd time to this lovely hotel, on this occasion we noticed that the hotel seemed to be far from full, maybe because of the unrest in the country.
The hassle we received when sitting next to the Dolphin pool was very annoying, from the sales teams. If you ignored them they would call you Russians.
Do these people not understand that if we want a massage or a shave, we could go to them.
We will not return to this hotel again because you cannot relax and be left alone.
Other hotels that we have stayed in give you no hassle, this should be introduced at Dreams beach.
Also don't go to the Mexican restaurant it's a complete con.
Stayed 26th December for 1 week.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pspindler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel between 2nd and 9th of January. It was my 3rd time in Egypt and my husbands 5th time and we love visiting the country. This was the first time at Dreams and although it wasn't too bad with lots of positives, I don't think we would go back there as it wasn't the best hotel we've stayed at in Egypt.
The staff were extremely friendly and really lovely people. The food was varied and you had lots of choice of different places to eat some of which were an extra charge. We found the all inclusive ones brilliant although we did pay to eat at the Mexican one night but wouldn't hurry back there as the food was just "ok" and there wasn't the atmosphere of the other places. We also booked to go to the Grill House and The Pergola both of which are inclusive but you do need to book. Ususally you can only go once to each during your week but as we travelled with Thomas Cook then we could book an unlimited number of times. The Pergola was fantastic with lovely staff especially Ramy. The food was stunning and drinks constantly being topped up and great all round service-we booked 3 times!!!
The hotel room was a refurbished one but you wouldn't really think so, especially the bathroom which was very tired and dated. However it was cleaned well daily and our fridge was kept topped up with water, coke, sprite and fanta.
The pools were too cold to swim in and the beach sun loungers were badly in need of being replaced as it was difficult to find one in a complete usable state. Most were cracked, split, missing wheels or broken back rests!
Animation team? Well there was no point in them if I'm being honest.
In Egypt you are always being pestered to have treatment, excursions etc and I have come to expect it. However, I never imagined being approached so many times that even my patience wore thin. We had only been there an hour and at least 12 staff came to sell us different things, the worst being the Butterfly Spa. Approx 4 members from the spa were doing the rounds at the same time so that by the time the 3rd one appeared I told HIM what the treatment package consisted off!!!
Most of them are really lovely though and as they work on commission you can't get too annoyed as they are only trying to earn a living but we did go on holiday to relax and not to be pestered constantly.
In summary I did enjoy and I did relax but its not worth a second visit as I know there are better hotels out there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sturdygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.8 km away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#79 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,100 reviews
0.6 km away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#93 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
731 reviews
1.5 km away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#56 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#39 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,338 reviews
1.5 km away
Club Reef Resort
Club Reef Resort
#33 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
433 reviews
0.4 km away
Dreams Vacation Resort
Dreams Vacation Resort
#130 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Beach Resort

Property: Dreams Beach Resort
Address: Um El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#64 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#71 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#98 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — Dreams Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 467
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dreams Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Dreams Beach
Dreams Beach Resort Egypt
Dreams Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Dreams Beach Egypt
Beach Dream El Resort Sharm Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing