We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still great but really quiet”
Review of Sharm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sharm Resort
Ranked #115 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Have been back over a week from our 4th stay at this hotel. Very different from our other stays there as very few guests (most of them British) as the russians were not going at that time. Anyone going for the first time did not see it at its best as one of the best things of it is the super shows the entertainment team put on. These were not being done as a lot of the team were on holiday due to the quietness of the hotel but Aymen, Olga and Mohammed did their best and there was always something on at night. The pool and the beach were very quiet but we met some lovely people and still had a super time. You were totally spoiled in the restaurant as there was so many waiters. The hotel has improved as in they now have hairdryers in the rooms and also a coffee machine in the bar (coffee was really good). This meant service was a lot quicker in the bar as you did not need to wait while coffee was made for guests. Cannot wait to go back which we will probably do in November

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clifffandunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 207 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

We spent 11 nights at the Sol Sharm for my partners 40th Birthday,,we thorougly enjoyed it,rooms were clean everyday,poolside also,staff were excellent,we were warned of tipping beforehand,and it goes a long way,a little tip to to the staff goes a long way,the Hotel is a bit out of the way,but the whingers should complain to the Tour Operators,not the Hotel,and it only costs 4 quid to get to Soho Square.I do question the "all inclusive" bit,although the meal was brilliant for my partners Birthday,wondered why we had to pay extra for it,,but i cant really complain,they pulled out all the stops,which made for a great evening.Another thing is the breakfast,,really got monotonous,ended up with 2 fried egg and toast,but thats just me,i dont really have a breakfast at home,so i suppose was a bonus.This Hotel has its faults,as do a majority of others,but the good things far outweigh them,i sometimes wonder whether Holidays are for relaxation or an escape to whine about anything,,fair enough afterwards,but surely not during.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynne76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsharm, General Manager at Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

Dear “Glynne76”;

Thank you for sharing with us your comments about your recent experience in Sol Sharm hotel. It is to my great pleasure to read your lines that the staff was excellent and you had a wonderful birthday party organized for your partner.

As for some faults you mentioned in your observations, I must say that there is always a way of improving things and we are constantly working on it in order to increase the level of the service for our guests. I hope that you will return in the future to see these improvements first hand.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Sol Sharm hotel.

Kind regards,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the sol sharm arrived late evening on first appearance hotel was very nice clean and very welcoming staff were very friendly and helpful But then came the dissappointing bit when we got up the next day and opened the curtains we were shocked to find the hotel was in the middle of a building site diggers making a noise from 7.30am till late afternoon sometimes you couldn't hear yourself talk. Also the food was very bland with little choice breakfast was best lunch and evening meal was the same very little variation as for snacks around the pool it was breakfast leftovers reheated entertainment was poor karaoke 3 nights the all inclusive bar closed at 11pm so you had to pay for drinks ,tea and coffee we spoke to the rep about these issues with 10 other people this and she said what do you expect from a 3 star hotel after that she more or less ignored us also if you wanted burger and chips and other meals you had to pay for them at the bar also they had a theme night in the tiran bar which cost £20 pp.The hotel being in the middle of nowhere we felt the food and entertainment should have been better the pool was freezing as not heated. The area outside the hotel was baron and dirty due to all the buibing work going on in the area. On the positive side hotel was very clean staff were very good especially our waiter mohammed who looked after us all week in the dining area and our cleaner who did wonderful displays with the towels we made some lovely friends who we will keep in touch with as you can guess we won't be going back

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubbleandSqeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsharm, General Manager at Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

Dear “BubbleandSqeak”;

I regret that your recent holiday didn’t satisfy the expectations you had of our property, and I would like to thank you for taking your precious time expressing your opinion and observations. Also I would like to thank you for your good words about cleaning of the hotel and our staff, who was really trying to make your vacation special.

Concerning the building works, it is important to understand that this building project takes place outside the hotel and it is beyond our control. However, the necessary measures were taken so that no guests’ rooms were adjacent and disturbance was minimized. As a hotel, we contacted the owner of the building site and requested that the work only takes place between 10.00 a.m. and 4.00 p.m. And the good news is that the works should be finished by the 20th of April.

Referring to the food, our menu is on 14 days turn around schedule. Our open buffet provides a big selection of international cuisine as well as few times a week there are theme nights, such as Italian, Oriental, Indian, Seafood, etc., which are supposed to provide everybody with the possibility to choose and try, even each day, something different to their own taste. This menu system applied is matching with the majority of our guests’ tastes and any special request could be managed and handled by our restaurant manager in order to fulfill all guests’ different tastes.

As for All Inclusive concept and location of the hotel I believe it was also explained to you by the Tour Operator before your arrival.

Although your recent experience did not completely satisfy the expectations you had of our Company, I would dearly hope that your experience in Sol Sharm Hotel does not deter you from further visits to any one of our more than 350 hotels throughout 30 countries worldwide. I would also like to repeat my most sincere apologies should you have perceived at any time during your stay. This was never the intention of Sol Meliá, hotel management or hotel staff. And I dearly hope that one day you will return to see the improvements first hand and we can pleasantly surprise you on this future visit.

With regards,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Very nervous going on holiday due to the trouble in Egypt, but once in Sharm el Sheik I realised no problems. The hotel Sol Sharm was better than expected, all the staff could not do enough for us, and we were not pestered at all. The food was excellent, a nice variety and all the staff in the restaurant were very good and trying very hard with the food as the manager was actually asking us for our opinions. It was quite due to the problems, but to be honest we liked that. Every where was very clean and the rooms spotless and beds changed every day. The pool areas were fantastic, just a shame the water wasnt wamer, pity thay couldnt sort out some solar heating for it as the weather was very hot. We are definately going back next year and would recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsharm, General Manager at Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

Dear “Izzy080”;

I was happy to read your comment and to know that your holiday was an enjoyable one.

Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

me and my sister stayed at this hotel for a week, first impressions were good, hotel lovely and clean, staff very freindly, then we went to restaurant thats when it went downhill they certainly didnt cater for any british visitors, my sister has a food allergy that thomas cook told us they would cater for her but they never, we lived on rice, potatoes and carrots all week...not good. we complained to our holiday rep whose reply was "what do you expect for a 3 star hotel" which we know is a 4 star, even so that should not have been her reply she supposed to be there to help, after that she totally blanked us. there was also building work going on so we was woken up early each morning with all the noise. now to some positives, we went on the jeep safari which was a fantastic day we even visited a bedouin camp in the middle of the desert and had our lunch there, which iv got to say was the best meal of the holiday, we also met some lovely people that we are gonna keep in touch with. as you can guess we will not be returning here

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda_tallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solsharm, General Manager at Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2011

Dear “linda_tallant”;

Have a good day from sunny Sharm El Sheikh. After reading your comment, I’ve got an impression that you spent a nice time in Egypt – you liked the hotel and its staff and you had a wonderful day on a jeep safari, even though there were some negative points.

It was a pity to read that the food served in our main restaurant didn’t satisfy your taste. Just to clarify the situation, we have a non repetitive menu for 2 weeks, which means every day the meal is different and varied. Also, we have theme nights every 2 days (Italian, Oriental, etc.) as well as live cooking station every day, which offers beef steaks, chicken shawerma, fish or liver. At the same time our restaurant manager is always at your disposal if you wanted to order something special. We are very sorry if the food served in our buffet did not match to your taste.

Concerning the building work, it is important to understand that this project doesn’t belong to the hotel and even despite that, we as a hotel did everything possible to protect our guests from disturbance and noise. Our guests were allocated the rooms on the far side of construction where the noise can hardly be heard. On the other hand, we took strict measures to cut off the working hours of builders, who started their work not earlier than 10.00 a.m. and finished not later than 4.00 p.m. And the good news is that the works should be finished by the 20th of April.

Hopefully negative points you’ve mentioned didn’t ruin your holiday and you had a great time.

Please receive my best regards,

Fakher Khalifa
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 km away
Cyrene Island Hotel
Cyrene Island Hotel
#94 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
599 reviews
7.2 km away
Aurora Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
1.2 km away
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
Coral Beach Resort Montazah
#120 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,077 reviews
0.8 km away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#17 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,402 reviews
0.5 km away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#28 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Resort

Address: | El Montazah Area, Sharm El Sheikh 00206, Egypt (Formerly Sol Sharm)
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#102 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#104 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: €31 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aurora Sharm Hotel 4* hotel has opened its doors in Sharm El Sheikh. Aurora Sharm Hotel 4* is a complete hotel with 214 rooms and suites, bars, restaurants, convention rooms, and a varied entertainment, sport and leisure offer for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Sol Sharm
Sol Sharm Sharm El Sheikh
Sol Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing