We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely and Value for ££” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Layaly kan zaman

Layaly kan zaman
Ranked #109 of 304 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Mediterranean, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Television, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely and Value for ££”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We ate here on one of out last nights and wished we'd found it sooner.
Its situated on a corner in the centre of Naama so you can sit, dine and watch the world go by in an open air resturant. If the little street sellers try to approach you they are told to go away by the staff. It has low cushioned seats with rugs to put over your legs for the chilly evenings. The staff were lovely and attentive. They first gave us some complimentary bread (which was fresh and warm) and hummous.We both ordered starters which were lovely but be careful not fill up on that warm bread! It felt like we waited a while for mains (2 mixed grills) but when they finally did come the hot plate was packed with meat,chips and veg and was sizzling. It was georgeous and i ended up scoffing the whole thing despite filling up on bread! They dont seem to have an alcohol license as we saw people going out to get their own, but not a problem. Im a big desert girl but found myself not really eating them at the resturants as usually watery ice cream so i went to Baskin Robins across the road. We had sheisha afterwards and let our food digest until we felt we could walk again. When the bill came i had to double take, we had 2 starters, 2 mains, drinks and shisha and it came to around £20! it all tasted even nicer after that, well worth a visit and would return tommorow.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LSB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    16
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quantity but NOT quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I used to try this Restaurants many times ago , but unfortunately the quality of food wasnt the same, i have always eaten mix grilled , and last night the meat and the chicken wasnt marinated at all

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst food in Egypt”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Having read trip advisor comments went to this restaurant with a 4 others. 1 egyptian and 3 british. Firstly found that the restaurant does not have a liquor license, so they send out for alcohol. Friends had mussels for starters - these were smaller than eurpoean cockles with many unopened. 3 ordered mixed sea food - with lobster, crab, mini mussels and sea bass. Crab was inedible, lobster very small and dry, mussels as I said and sea bass also very dry. Came to pay the bill and they do not accept credit cards. To cap it all a stomach upset for the first time in 12 days in Egypt where we have generally found the food to be very good including oil field canteens in the desert. But here no. Our egyptian colleague thought that it was the worst food he had tasted for a long time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevi1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“try this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

when your in namma bay,you must try fish market,fresh food cooked in front of your eyes,steaks and lamb mouth watering,i would even say its the cheapest as well,food and service is excellent,only downside is the toilets,or lack of them,you are escorted around some shops and up some stairs before you find a port a cabin,me i just went over the road to tgi friday,or the hard rock ,SERIOUSLY HAVE TO EAT HERE,

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lancemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

The menu was very extensive and all of it sounded delicious! I ordered the catch of the day which was whole seabass and it was cooked perfectly! There is a good atmosphere in the restaurant and the staff were very friendly. There were a few cats which wondered in and sat on the wall by our table for a bit, (most of the restaurants and bars are open air and don't have proper doors or walls) but I'm a cat lover so I quite enjoyed that!

The only negative is that they are not licensed so we couldn't order alcoholic drinks but a lot of people had bought their own in.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Layaly kan zaman also viewed

Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Layaly kan zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing