We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldnt of spent my 21st any where else!”
Review of Jaz Sharks Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jaz Sharks Bay
Ranked #32 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We travelled back at the beginning of September 2010 to celebrate my 21st birthday just me and my Fiancé! I know its a little late with putting a review for it but I still feel that I want to share our experience!

We started reading the reviews on trip advisor before we were due to fly, the reviews we saw worried us so much! After hyping it up for like 5 months! We weren't sure on what to think! So we decided to ignore everything and enjoy our time together! The hotel staff made us feel welcomed!

the down side was not being able to take drinks out of the food court...we filled a bottle up with juice and my partner was made to drink it all before we left!
the pool side snack the chef would touch food with out gloves and whip his sweaty face then touch the raw meat then pick up cooked chips.... very unhygienic!
as for the buffet...sometimes it was questionable if it was re heated left overs!

BUT the staff did give me a birthday cake and sing happy birthday to me!
which just made my birthday all the more special!!
there was one cleaner that always left us towel art :)
we do recommend you visit soho square as we spent 3 nights visiting there at night as the restaurants there were soooo yummy!!!
we can not wait to visit Egypt again once its all settled down!

JUST REMEMBER A HOLIDAY IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT!!!
SO DONT FOCUS ON THE BAD JUST THE GOOD!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank xNatalieJx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,116)
There are newer reviews for Jaz Sharks Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,723 - 1,727 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed at Sol y Mar Jan 2012, party of four and after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor before the holiday was wondering what id let myself in for.
Theres was no need to worry though, this Hotel was lovely, Some previous comments complained about the reception staff , we found them to be fine, friendly and organised, we had e mailed the week before to ask for 2 rooms together on the top floor if possible and we got these. The cleaner Ramy was a nice guy , room was always perfectly cleaned and he did some fantastic towel art. The pool bar staff were excellent , Sameh provided perfect frothy coffees , we had no complaints about food either, it did get a bit samey but thats the same the world over on all inc, it was always hot and fresh and after asking for paoched eggs one day for breakfast my friend and i got perfectly poached eggs ( we had to wait a while for some reason ) but they were lovely Look out for Mahmoud in the restaurant, lovely guy, worked his socks off , always nice and smiley and couldnt do enough for you. . The pool itself was a bit cool untill the Egyptian kids arrived on half term then it was heated up. The animation team were great, Valerie gives a perfect aquarobics workout which is good after youve sat on a lounger all day doing nothing. Theres entertainement in the evenings from the animation team, its not top notch but its fun, theres music and games if you want to participate, we didnt find them over powering in any way and if we said no they left us alone. All in all the hotel is excellent for a break in the sun, hotel clean, good staff , you felt safe there , none of us fell ill to the dreaded Gyppy Tummy, the only thing that i could agree with on the negative side is flies around the pool , there are a lot of them but thats not the Hotel Managements fault. We took the shuttle bus to the beach 2 days and had good times there. We did a trip on a glass bottom boat £15 for an hour inc soft drinks and transport there and back, it was fine, and we went to Soho Sq one night, we did use the hotel taxi even tho people said it was pricey but didnt really fancy standing on main road and waiting for one to pull up, 80 egy pounds . We had a lovely holiday and i would reccomend this hotel if your looking for a relaxing holiday thats fairly casual. My only negative comment would be regarding Sharm airport, the staff in duty free insist as long as you dont buy alcohol your cigarette allowance is 600 ......... i didnt fall for it but one of our party did, and as the nice customs man at LGW said when he stopped us, its only 200, always has been and not likely to change any time soon, be warned .

Room Tip: The 3rd floor balcony rooms are best , try for nos around the 300 to 312 as the sun stays on the bal...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saffy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Me and my girlfriend arrived at sol y mar on the 19th January 2012, we didnt know what to expect as we had been reading the previous reviews on the hotel,as the majority were good but a few were bad,this all changed as soon as we entered the hotel doors into the reception area,where we checked in and met a man called ahmed who was very pleasent and showed us around the hotel before taking us to our room.

* very very clean hotel
* excellent staff
* delicious fooood
* amazing cocktails
What more could you ask for! Definitly going back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank LizTaz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Arrived at sol y mar hotel on boxing day for 3 weeks.On arrival we were met by pleasant staff on reception then taken to our superior room.The room was spotless and the bed and pillows are excellent best sleep we have had in years.we have been on quite a few holidays but this was one of the most friendliest places we have stayed in.The waiters Samer and Amr really looked after us as did the waiters in the restaurant.We would also like to thank the chefs for there amazing food which there was quite a variety for everyone.Now to the animation team Oscar,Valery,Vadim really made us feel welcome as we joined in with all the games.They are such wonderful people.Would like to say a big thank you to every one who made our New Years Eve excellent ,best one we have had in years.Thank you Ibrihim for stopping to talk to us when ever we seen you and for having such a wonderful hotel with excellent staff who couldnt do enough for us.We will surely be back without a doubt as we could not fault the hotel,food and staff.We left on the 16th jan to return home which i thought there would be no one to wave us off as we waved a few people off we met in the hotel,didnt have to worry as reception staff,animation team,and other people we met came to say bye.Well thanks again to you all for a Fantastic Holiday! June&Chris.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for the first week of January, I went with my parents, nan and boyfriend and can honestly say its one of the best holidays ive had. The staff was fantastic and couldnt do enough for you..I have been to many different holiday destinations over the years and this was by far the friendliest place! I honestly can't praise the staff high enough...the food was also fantastic, there was a great selection and every night there was something different! We stayed in a 'superior room' and has absolutely no complaints, the bed was soo comfy and the pillows was amazing, has a fantastic night sleep for the duration of our stay..very quie and peaceful in the evening, despite being very close to the airport! (wasn't disturbed once by planes) There was several english channels on the TV, mainly movie channels which was great...the bathroom was lovely, very modern, nice powerful shower, couldnt fault the room at all! During the day the animation team set up water polo, aqua aerobics & darts competitions etc, and in the evening lots of mr and mrs contests, karaoke, bingo etc..again lovely staff, so friendly and you couldnt help but want to get involved! Overall i think the hotel was fantastic value for money and wouldnt hesistate to recommend it to others, i am also planning on returning the same time next year!

This was my first time to Sharm and a word of advise for those who havent been before, steer clear of Naama Bay! Wasn't impressed at all.. im aware that you get hassled by locals wherever you go in the world but this was ridiculous, you literally couldnt walk a few steps without being hounded, some people were very rude and got irrate if you refused to enter the shops, after 5 minutes i left. However, Soho Square is absolutely fantastic, and so beautiful! Its packed with everything that Naama Bay has and lots more, so this is deffo the better option! We visited Soho square twice during our stay (it took us roughly 5 minutes in a taxi from our hotel). on our last evening we went to an indian restaurant in soho square called 'bombay' It was gorgeous, one of the best indians ive ever had and fantastic value for money! (less than £100 for 5 starters, main meals and 2 drinks each!) definitely one to try!

Also went to aqua park and had a spa afternoon at the sister hotel, both brilliant and again, terrific value for money!

Absolutely loved Egypt and cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
12.8 km away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,426 reviews
3.0 km away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,446 reviews
13.2 km away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#36 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#30 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,653 reviews
5.9 km away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
636 reviews
5.1 km away
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Le Royal Holiday Resort
#35 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Sharks Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Sharks Bay

Address: 2 B Entrance of Sharks Bay | North Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 00328, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: €70 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Sharks Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Sharks Bay is one of the latest additions to the Jaz Hotels & Resorts portfolio, opened November 2009. This neat and modern Four-star hotel is only five minutes away from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport. Just 10 minutes by Bus from a stretch of some of the finest sandy beaches on the shores of the clear and warm Red Sea. The hotel offers a variety of restaurants, a lobby bar & terrace, an internet cafe, a shopping arcade, swimming pool, children's club, 24 hour reception and a shuttle bus to the nearby beach. The main building comprises 130 rooms, most of which overlook the pool. Others look out directly on to the pool deck. A separate two-floor apartment building houses 8 one bedroom apartments.Hotel facilities include one main open buffet restaurant, one outdoor a la carte restaurant, Lobby bar, snack/pool bar and 24-hour room service. A heated main swimming pool and a kid’s pool, shopping arcade and a shuttle service to the beach are also provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Sharks Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing