We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #5 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bliss again”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Another near perfect holiday here again. Staff still as attentive and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.
Beach area for Royal guests greatly improved. Building work still ongoing, shame the new building is not completed yet, maybe next year ? Bathrooms and royal lounge are starting to look tired, but does not spoil the holiday.

Reviewed this hotel several times. Still say for five hours flying time for a luxury holiday in January/February/March it is excellent value.

Slightly concerned that they are considering allowing children into the Royal Savoy. Please don't as it will spoil the atmosphere. There are plenty of other hotels that take children and it would spoil the peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank golfgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,227
    138
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
214
862
71
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I will start by just echoing what others have said. It was exactly what we expected due to the reviews on Tripadvisor so if you like what you read, then this hotel is for you.

We had a slow start due to our man at the airport being unable to find us in the massive queue so we just had to wait with everyone else for 2 hours.
But once through things soon picked up.
We stayed in the Royal Savoy, rooms are great, but needing slight refurbishment in places but comfortable and very clean.
The RS lounge is a great spot for breakfast and the "Egg Man" starts your day with a smile.
We then would move onto the pool. The lower pool is the only heated pool, so for these winter months it means you can have a dip in comfort. There is building work going on here, but it appears to be moving at such a slow rate that there is barely any noise to deal with.
The attendants at the pool then see to your every need so be prepared for a very relaxing day.
I hired the free snorkeling kit from the dive center and hit the house reef everyday. It's a good reef but has seen some action and shows damage in places. The water this time of year is around 20 degrees, so its a shock when you first jump in.
The resort has lots of choice for food. We were on the half board dine-around. I cant see why you would go for ay other board type with most things thrown in for free in the Royal Savoy lounge and pool areas.
We had lunch at the fish restaurant which was our favorite. The Italian was our least favorite so I would advise anyone to order local produce rather than go for authentic Italian as they just don't have the local produce to support these dishes.

We went on two trips. One we did ourselves, jumped in a cab, hung on for dear life and went to Old Sharm. Here we went to the markets. It would have been fun to haggle for some goods but we got bored with the constant pestering from the locals so we gave up.
On a tip we went to Fares seafood restaurant. Don't be put of by it's basic looks, this family run restaurant will blow your mind. Everything is very cheap and of the highest quality. Just go!!!!!

We then did ultimate desert adventure. This is a relatively expensive trip (£50 each) but you cover a lot of activities in one afternoon. A quick quad bike through the desert, camel ride, quad bike, Bedouin village and show. This part goes on a bit, and it feels a bit engineered for tourists, so we were glad when we finally hit the road on the quads and head home.

During our stay the hotel was at around 30% occupation so it was nice and quiet. I couldn't say what it would be like during peak times. Also, the building work that everyone mentions was not a concern. But what if the pace picked up? It's worth checking on this before you book.

All in all, a lovely holiday, the staff made it for us, we had excellent weather (27 degrees and sunshine) so would say this is a good choice for anyone who like sunshine and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlenRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed here 25 Feb for a week for our 30th Wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. We stayed on the S - class All Inclusive because and were not disappointed with the choice of restaurants and bars around Soho Square, The Royal savoy or the Savoy. If you can't find something to your taste across the vast selection then you must be a fussy eater. Don't get me wrong, it is not Michelin Star quality but it is very, very good.

There is a bit of building work going on to the side of the Royal pools but nothing to worry about, a few hammer bangs here and there was what it was.

We had a very modern room with Jacuzzi Bath and the room was well sized and very well appointed (4018).

Now to what makes a the hotel, the staff. I have stayed in 5 star hotels where the staff will blank you and not pass the time of day. There are absolutely no worries about that at the Royal Savoy. From the moment George rushes you through arrivals (and departures, I have never had a hotel employee check me in before!!!) to the hotel check in process, to the guys who serve in the private Royal bar to Farag the egg man at breakfast and to Mahmoud at pool and all of the waiting and room staff throughout the hotel, you will feel like a friend. They acknowledge you, they speak to you, they serve you in 5 star fashion and that is what makes any hotel and what makes people return is the warmth of the welcome and the ongoing service. You will be looked after like never before.

My advice would be to go soon before this this Egyptian gem is discovered by even more people. Enjoy it when you get there because we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Once again we have just returned from another fabulous holiday to the Royal Savoy in Sharm and yet again it has exceeded my expectations.
As always the rooms are of a high standard and extremely clean, the restaurants all offer a wide range of dishes all cooked to a very high standard.
The level of service at 'The Royal' is exceptional - all members of staff deserve the highest credit for the work and service they offer to all guests - it doesn't take them long to get to know your routine and in our case have a refreshing gin & tonic ready for us in the lounge before we went out to dinner. I would like to offer particular thanks to a few members of staff, namely, Farag who made us one of his 'surprise' omelettes every morning, Bassam for looking after us by the poolside, Gerges for his attentiveness in the Lounge and finally George for his fantastic airport shuttle service.
Egypt has had its problems in the past however please do not let this stop you from travelling to Sharm el Sheikh - the people are friendly and helpful and at no point did we feel uneasy when venturing outside of the hotel complex.
We will certainly be back again this year.
Steve & Dave

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have just returned to London having spent the best week ever at The Savoy.Having been to most countries in Europe China Japan USA and many other hotels in Sharm including Hyatt Regency Hilton etc this place was by far the best.The entrance to the hotel is beautiful with its magnificent gardens surrounded by the lovely shops in Soho Square all protected by the excellent security team (very important these days)As soon as we arrived all our worries faded away, this is truly an oasis.A very good start to our break! There is a cobbled drive but there are hotel buggies available for anyone who has walking difficulties.There are so many different areas to enjoy and soak up the atmosphere whether it be by the white sandy beach watching the dare devils enjoying water sports scuba diving and snorkling,a leisurely stroll through the magical gardens or getting the credit cards out at the beautifully stocked stores in Soho Square (surprisingly so) Ladies! saw some fantastic beachwear there!The Pool Bar is so so relaxing good food excellent service and the music played over the sound system set the right atmosphere London seemed a million miles away. What really impressed us most is that the Savoy has the best of everything to offer REALLY! This hotel has good food, beautiful scenery, very very big comfortable beds ,excellent sevice very well trained staff AND amazing entertainment artists coming from all over the world.Most 5star Hotels can offer good facilities but tend to be a bit prim and proper and do not offer good and enjoyable Entertainment The Savoy provides excellent facilties for anyone from nursery age (kiddies corner) youngsters (the Ice Rink) teenagers and trendy adults (Fab Disco)There really is something for the whole family!.In our room we found flowers fruits tea coffee making facilities robes and a good selection of toiletries on top of the wonderful pool and sea view. It was with a very heavy heart we bid a fare well to the Savoy and we are looking forward to going back ASAP

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank annesiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
9.1 km away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,303 reviews
0.2 km away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#35 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,170 reviews
13.9 km away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,072 reviews
0.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,648 reviews
9.3 km away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#1 of 31 in Nabq Bay
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Address: Soho square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#7 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#12 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Savoy is an exclusive club wing, complete with its own private lounge, terrace, pool, and beach area. Created for guests who prefer to stay in a more intimate and secluded location within the grounds of the Savoy. The Royal Savoy offers rooms of exceptional grace and comfort, all providing views over Tiran islands or the hotel's landscaped gardens. The rooms range in size from the generous standard rooms, to the famous luxury Suites. All rooms are welcoming and capacious, offering an exceptional combination of style and function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing