We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel for a relaxing beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #68 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel for a relaxing beach holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

A great hotel though I'd say 5 star by Egypian standards, 4 stars by UK.
We were greeted by Concierge and given a tour of the hotel and the restaurants and bars and then shown to our amazing sea view suite. Very VIP, The room was great and right beside the Reef Restaurant & Bar. The room was lovely ... we’d upgraded to a suite and we were pleased we did. My (minor) issue with the room was the hairdryer a) fixed in the bathroom beside the sink (electricity and water beside each other never a great idea) b) not very powerful c) Had to hold a button down to keep it on.
The hotel and grounds are really well laid out but on a hill, so anyone with mobility problems could have issues if they aren't near the main building. It's almost 200 steps down to the beach but everything is spacious and lush. The hotel grounds were impeccable.

We never went to the pools - a shame as they are fab looking pools but to be fair we prefer beaches, but would be good once the sun moved if they were warmer. It was warmer swimming in the sea, which is accessed via a jetty. A friend leant me snorkelling gear... the variety and vibrancy of the fish right at the hotel is unbelievable. It's 45m down from the jetty. I can understand why people are hooked to snorkelling and diving in Sharm.
The staff at the beach bar were great at bringing out bottles of water and keeping it all tidy and always friendly.

The buffet restaurants were ok ... but get into the habit of booking one of the other restaurants at 10am for the following night. Really enjoyed the Olive restaurant which was the Mediterranean one, the Indian meal was absolutely delicious but another couple of dishes on all-inclusive would have been good. We never managed to get into Fusion - which looked amazing and other guests raved about it. We went to the Tapas Restaurant once and it was a bit chaotic. The menu wasn't explained to us, our wine was refilled with another wine, starter plates weren't lifted when the mains came out. All quite basic stuff but there didn't seem much control there from the guy in charge. All the restaurants weren't open every night, probably because it was winter season so opened on alternative nights. Some of the restaurants you had to pay for drinks and some dishes ... I can't decide if this is good or bad.. to me ALL INCLUSIVE means everything is included but if you wanted better wine or a dish with more expensive ingredients, then you paid for it. Probably more appealing for Foodies. What i did like was that the salads were cleaned with mineral water and the ice was made with this too, so no Egypian belly. We discovered the Reef bar later on in the holiday .. great for free wi-fi and not as smoky as the main bar and the guy who worked here was lovely.
The staff were great, really warm and welcoming and really wanting you to have a good time. Akram in Reef Restaurant and Ramy in the main bar really stood out and were always happy to chat and were quick and efficient. There were many others – sorry we didn’t remember your names. We usually tipped the bar staff 20 EP and restaurant 30 EP every day, but they weren’t looking for money but were grateful for it. A couple of pounds to us meant much more to them.
One thing that did annoy me was staff constantly checking their mobile phones. Didn’t expect that in a five star hotel.

There are sellers on the beach who come around everyday to sell beauty treatments, henna tattoos and sand filled glass triangles. A 'No, thank you' should do it at the start.

I didn’t really enjoy going outside the hotel. It was really barren and not what I have seen anywhere else and you got harassed by taxi drivers tooting and stopping and people trying to get you into their shops/stores which made me really uncomfortable.
We went to the animation bar a couple of times, the entertainment was pretty dire. Maybe it was just more targetted to the European guests.

If you are going to go to Naama Bay or Soho Sq, get a price from the limo desk at reception. Maybe it's the inner snob in me, but much nicer cars than you hail in the street and just felt safer with them, as they were affiliated with the hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and if going for winter sun, would come back here above anywhere else. We went the first week in Feb and only had one cloudy day but it gets chilly at night so be prepared.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a suite when we booked and we got a room really far from the main building with stunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nippysweetie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,717
    1,124
    470
    216
    109
See reviews for
884
2,311
96
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday at the Grand.Lovely hotel and pools the one thing that would improve this is if the pools were warm Every where was spotless clean and the staff constantly cleared away glasses etc in the bars and restaurants. Good choice of snacks but the snack bars were spread over a large area so if one person wanted a burger and the other wanted a pizza it was hard to eat together at the same time !! Panneni Corner was by far the best. Also ice cream was only served at one of the snack bars. Tipping at the snack bars/restaurants is worth while doing at the start of your holiday as many of the staff work in both, the service was fantastic for the sake of a couple of quid. As soon as the pool bar opened at 10 a.m. the waiter bought me a cup of tea while I was still thinking about it. Staff are happy with £1 coins, you may be asked to exchange ten for a £10 note at some stage because Egyptian banks will only accept sterling notes. We ate twice in the Olive restaurant and the birthday cake the hotel surprised us with was delicious.In the main restaurant there is a pasta station cooking fresh pasta as requested which was a bonus for me. If you like breakfast cereal the choice available leaves a lot to be desired
The only down side that I could find is the amount of steps and lack of handrails. If you have mobility problems it is difficult to get down to the beach and or different snack bars. There is a lift from the main lobby to the terrace area but then there are step steps down to the first pool etc etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCheggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Ok this is possibly not quite 5* standard but it is a lovely hotel nevertheless. The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. The hotel is spread out over a large area which means nothing is more than two stories high - the gardens and pool areas are beautifully landscaped. Eight pools give plenty of choice - but in winter to have at least one heated would be nice! Loads of sunbeds and umbrellas, beach towels changed daily, drinks served on your sunbed even on the beach. The little lad serving the beach has a great cockney accent!

We had a junior suite and had asked for a sea view - the suite was lovely with a huge bed, living area and gorgeous bathroom - there was nothing between us and the sea except one of the pools. There are eight restaurants for the evening meal, two buffet restaurants - one at the top of the area and one near the bottom so nobody has to walk too far. The various other restaurants have to be booked a day in advance, our favourite was defintely the Fusion, you can go off the set menu for any single course in all the restaurants and in Fusion it is worth it for the Chocolate pudding -heaven! The Olive is also a good bet for a lovely meal as is the Indian - the Caribbean is probably best left alone though! On top of this there are five snack restaurants for lunch - or you can go back to the main buffets.

There is free wifi in the hotel lobby which is useful and in the evenings a choice of entertainment. We left the Animation Bar to the youngsters and spent most evenings in the Terrace Bar which had a great atmostphere and the waiters remember your drinks in a very short time! There are some great trips on offer - we did the snorkelling day which was great fun although I cannot say that the snorkelling rivalled the Maldives. Friends did the Quad Bike trip and said it was wonderful. Or you can just stroll out on the deck off the beach and watch the fish swimming on the coral reef without even going in the water. The Pancake and waffle cafe is definitely worth a visit.

The only thing I would avoid is the souvenir shop - the prices even after haggling down were about three times that of the shops in the airport. The Chemist is nice though and will order you in anything you need - though he does think we all want Viagara! There are people who will approach you on the beach or pool area to ask if you are interested in spa or trip offers. Both my husband and I had a course of four massages each which were wonderful and tailored to us - also very reasonable. None of the people are pushy and if you are not interested will not come back.

All in all it was a great place to have a relaxing holiday - the staff make it special.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have a sea or garden view but some are overlooking paths - worth asking for a spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salthewelsjhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your holiday with us on this site, and we are pleased to read that you had a ‘Nice Holiday’ taking into account our guests valuable feedback and constructive criticism, which helps us to identify areas to prioritize our focus on. We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.

Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.

Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a wonderful time in the Grand Hotel, nice surroundings, staff and rooms... A few things though was missing: Warm pools and good food. Temperatures around 17-18 degrees in the pools is simply not OK, and it should be possible to produce better food quality. Only in the Olive Restaurant we really felt, that the chef had cared for the cooking... At Tapas Restaurant it was on the otter hand obvious that all food was preproduced and not served with kind of feeling whatsoever. The hotel was also missing a fitness center.
But besides these small problems we can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steen-odense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we succeeded in making your holiday the best one ever. Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards from all of us in Sunny Sharm,
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a relatively new hotel designed for the package tour industry and as such has few independent guests. Having said that the hotel is of a high standard and offers many excellent facilities. The main tour parties staying at the hotel are either Russian or English speaking but the staff speak many languages.

There are two large self service restaurants that have an excellent "international" buffet. There are also other restaurants offering individual meals. The food is good and no person had any problems with either cleanliness or stomach issues. All local drinks are included in a tour package and local wines / spirits are reasonable.

The room was clean and comfortable if a little "used". This might be expected considering the number of people who use the hotel However, the shower was good and we slept very well and had no problems with the room.

The hotel WiFi is poor and not really suitable for either MSN or other video conferencing products. With time it was possible to send and receive emails. The beach is small but very clean with helpful staff. There is not much outside the hotel perimeter and most people remain in the hotel complex unless diving.

Overall this is an excellent price to come for a week in February to get some sun at a modest cost. The all inclusive nature of the package (flight, accommodation and all meals / drinks) is very attractive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merevaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_grandsharm, General Manager at The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting review a bout your stay with us. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to hit our goal of satisfying every guest - every time!, Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and inspiring.
We hope to host you again in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when you will return in Sharm El Sheikh it will always be a pleasure to meet you.
Thank you to have chosen Red Sea Hotels for your holidays.

We wish you all the best.
Iskender Gedelec
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.2 km away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#23 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
0.3 km away
Otium Hotel Aloha
Otium Hotel Aloha
#93 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.5 km away
Otium Hotel Amphoras
Otium Hotel Amphoras
#95 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#36 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,280 reviews
13.1 km away
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa
#86 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
6.3 km away
Sharm Plaza Hotel
Sharm Plaza Hotel
#84 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Property: The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Address: El Fanar Street | Ras Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#67 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel enjoys an unrivalled location, with its buildings nestled in stunning gardens set into the hillside, affording guests outstanding views across the Red Sea to Tiran Island. From the lobby bar with its commanding view, to the clifftop restaurant, and the beach terrace, the Grand Hotel provides a perfect location to relax and savour the atmosphere. An excellent diversity of cuisines - with many a la carte options - and several bars, ensure guests are spoilt for choice after a relaxing day soaking up the sun by any of the hotel's eight freeform pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing