We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay View 7 Nights July 2011”
Review of Bay View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay View Hotel
Ranked #208 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bay View 7 Nights July 2011”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Spent a week at the Bay View with 3 friends last July. Having booked before reading the reviews on here, we were quite aprehensive about the whole trip and unsure what to expect. When we arrived in the small hours, all seemed ok.

The rooms were basic (twin beds, 2 tables + 2 chairs, tv - news and music channels, wardrobe, toilet/shower room) with dated decor but spacious and clean and had no cockroaches (didn't see one the whole week), and the hotel itself was in a great location.

The pool is a good size, was cleaned daily and we found no problems with other guests or the occasional scuba-learners using 1/4 of the pool.

The food available (we were all inclusive) was quite basic, but this seemed reasonable to me for a 3 star hotel and i had no difficulty in eating well most days. (I'll eat anything though some of my more "picky" friends were less easy to please) Note that like most places in this area, there are differing times for all inclusive drinks at the various bars within the hotel. We simply worked this to our advantage by doubling up, going to a different bar or going out once the Ai finished.

The staff at the hotel were friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.

Other guests included Arab's, Russians and English. Really didn't have any problems with any of them.

The Bay View is a good hotel at a reasonable price. Most of the negative reviews on here seem to have had too high an expectation for a 3 star hotel. If you want fine dining, grand surroundings and an apartment with all the mod-cons - pay for it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntinback, Quality Control Administrator at Bay View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Many thanks for your review, we here at Bay View Hotel are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    61
    64
    42
    86
See reviews for
40
109
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Never any glasses or cups for breakfast sitting. Not much choice of food either. There was a selection of breads tho. Was only staying b&b so don't know what other meal times were like. Upon speaking with people staying all inc meals were not always available. All staff inc managers are not customer orientated. They just seemed to laugh at u. One morning there was no coffee at breakfast. The response I got was just, no there isn't any. 2 bars that never seemed to have much if any stock.
Room was cleaned every day. Cleaning staff were very friendly. Hotel is in a great location.
This is not a very good hotel. However it was only a place for my friend & I to sleep. We still enjoyed Egypt. This actual hotel should be taken out of all uk brochures as the main clientele is eastern European. Trying to get one of these guys to crack a smile was mission impossible lol. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allyfisher80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntinback, Quality Control Administrator at Bay View Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your review, the glasses and cups are cleaned regularly during each meal sitting, if there was not a cup immediately available a member of staff would have brought your drink to you, the food is catered to suit many tastes and nationalities, should you not have found anything you like the chef would have been able to arrange something for you. All bars are stocked within reason and refilled when necessary, I apologise that the staff were not as animated as you would have hoped during your stay, finally, The hotel is located within Naama Bay providing a great location for all nationalities, when wanting to stay in Sharm el Sheikh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

If ur looking for cheap and cheerful then pick this but do not go all inclusive as food is bland and repeats so gets very boring and it give you diareah!, so dont bother eating there as there is lots of nice restaurants and shisha bars that ar 5 min walk away.

Room was very poorly decorated and had horible bed sheets and found cockroaches nearly every other day, plus they have builders right next to the pool. did get cheap deal tho for the holiday.

Room Tip: dont go all inclusive, maybe breakfast only but thats it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntinback, Quality Control Administrator at Bay View Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for your review, further to your comments the rooms are decorated to a good standard and cleaned daily unless the guest advises otherwise, should you experience any issues during your stay please contact the reception to ensure the problem is resolved. There is building work to a site behind the hotel, however the building works to dot affect Bay View, the work being carried out is now cosmetic. The food offered on the All Inclusive package is designed to cater for many tastes and a verity of food can be found for each sitting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I wasn't going to write a review having already written on the complaint slip and complained with Thompson but after seeing someone actually answers these i thought i would.

We stayed at the bay view hotel in May 2011, It was out honeymoon and the worst week of our lives!!! The food was awful and i and many of the other guests spent the week sitting on the toilet with bowls on our laps!!! The cleanliness was not good, with the staff wearing the same stained clothes for all 7 days we were there, wild cats eating mice in the hotel and staff using dirty smelly water from the non working fountain in the courtyard to wash dining room tables and floors with (bet all you with the good reviews are glad you ate in there, lol).

It smelt, we couldn't let the cleaners in because we were so ill and half the time we didn't even have running water. There were so many complaint when we were there yet nothing was done? We complained to anyone that would listen and most of the time they just smiled. We filled in the customer satisfaction leaflet thing with no answer.

On an up point the pool attendant and general dogs body type person was very friendly and McDonalds provided the only food that didn't make us ill on our final day there.

Please bare in mind this was our honeymoon and we chose you to make that once in a life time holiday with, we were very disappointed :(

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntinback, Quality Control Administrator at Bay View Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Firstly I would like to apologise sincerely for the upset caused during your stay, I can assure you that this is not the impression we like our guests to leave with. With that in mind, I would like to respectfully advise that Bay View Hotel Sharm el Sheikh is rated within Egypt as a 3* Hotel.
The staff are required to wear clean and presentable uniform at all times, this is checked regularly. The cleanliness and pest control at the Hotel is of great importance the pest control is dealt with dependent of the season at least 1 weekly and the cleanliness of the entire hotel is checked at several times during the day communal areas are cleaned with relevant cleaning products and each room is cleaned every day unless the cleaner is told otherwise by the individual guests. If you were too ill to allow the staff into the room to clean, we are unable to enter the room – we cannot be responsible in this instance, there is also onsite doctor should you have wished for treatment. As stated you stayed in the hotel within May 2011, this is a very hot season in Sharm and I can confirm there are no reports of sickness at the hotel, as you would expect if each guest was suffering due to the food at the hotel.
If we have received any complaints of 'no running water' in a room we would have sent an engineer or moved your room, and if it was an issue within the area (not just the hotel) we would have done our utmost to provide water facilities – i.e. bottled water.
The comments sheet is there for your comments regarding the hotel and the management team are available at all times to resolve issues, the hotel has several members of staff that are able to speak fluent and even Native English should you have found it difficult to speak with some staff.
Once again I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with Bay View Hotel and wish you all the best for your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

If your thinking of booking this hotel or already have please read the following. The hotel is perfect for a bed & breakfast basis as the rooms are clean and the location is perfect, right in the heart of naama bay. The all inclusive package does not include wine and the beer served by the pool is nearly always warm as the bar man does not arrive till 10am then stocks the fridge. The bar in the lobby is the same from 6pm, warm beer, no matter how many times you tell them. One day we were told the bottles of beer had run out even though we could see some in the fridge the bar man said he had to keep these for payng customers. tHE BEER WAS NOT PROVIDED FOR A FULL DAY. This is a small hotel & at the time of our stay there was only around 10 english the rest were russian. We were told by the resturaunt/bar manager it was only the british who complained.

One morning there was no coffee at breakfast, i reported this too reception who were not aware as none of the staff could be bothered to report this. It arrived about 2 hours later even though there was a super market over the road. I asked for a gin & tonic and was told they dont have tonic, only to find they did but only in the bar that opened at 10pm when you had to pay. Everything just seemed to be about money, so we bought most of our food & drink out. The food at lunch was just about edible, better on an evening i cant really judge this as i only went in a few days.

On our last day every one went into lunch at 1pm to find no food & no staff, (they hadnt been paid and had enough & all walked out). Lunch eventually came 45 minutes late which consisted of lettuce & tomatoes, warm rice and burgers and a few cakes which was rustled together by a stressed maintenance man who one hour earlier was mopping the floors in reception. (it was great to see the russians banging about and complaining) This did bring the hotel owner to the hotel who did not seem too concerned with everyones complaints and sat buy the pool with a bottle of wine in an ice bucket.

To end on a positive note we had a great day in Cairo, we did the bus trip and only paid £35 pp the hotels will try to charge you about £80 with the reps. There is plenty of shops in naama bay who offer the trips from as little as £32. Also the quads in the desert is great again from around £10 pp.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ale2441965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntinback, Quality Control Administrator at Bay View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read your comments and to learn of your dissatisfaction, I must also stress our disappointment that a few of your concerns reported are simply not true or incredibly misleading, never the less I will of course address your concerns:
The items included and not included in our All Inclusive formula are clearly detailed when booking and upon check in you are advised again of these details in the form of a welcome letter.
All drinks are served chilled from our fridges, all fridges are stocked daily and in accordance with an average consumption in mind when stocking the fridges, any beer in the fridge would have been imported beer and therefore not part of the All Inclusive package, also not included in the All Inclusive is Tonic Water.
Our hotel is advertised to many nationalities and we do not discriminate towards the nationality of the guests, all food and facilities are chosen to meet the requirements of all our guests where possible.
The food again is made to meet the tastes of various guests and sadly we cannot please each guest, whilst we do our utmost to try, should you have any issues with the food, please bring this to the attention of the staff / chef and we would have provided a certain meal. With regards to the coffee I apologise that there was a shortage during your stay, this is not frequent occurrence as stocks are maintained regularly.
The staff remained within the hotel at all times as expected during their shift and lunch was sadly provided later than detailed, I can only apologise that you felt there was an underlying issue.
Finally I would like to advise that at no point was the hotel owner at the premises. A senior member of the management company was onsite and offered clients compensation for the delay with lunch.
Thank you once again for your review, please accept our apologies that your stay was not as you would have wished, and we wish you all the best with any future travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 km away
Naama Inn
Naama Inn
#199 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
22 reviews
0.9 km away
Halomy Hotel
Halomy Hotel
#154 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
544 reviews
0.5 km away
Eden Rock Hotel
Eden Rock Hotel
#202 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kahramana Hotel
Kahramana Hotel
#146 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
506 reviews
1.4 km away
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
Oonas Dive Club Hotel
#84 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
400 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Mirage New Tiran
Le Mirage New Tiran
#159 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View Hotel

Property: Bay View Hotel
Address: King Abdullah St | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay View Hotel is located on the southern end of the popular Naama Bay. It is ideally located just a short walk from the beaches in the bay and within easy reach of the resort centre in Sharm El Sheikh, making it an ideal hotel choice for those after a chilled out holiday to Sharm El Sheikh with all the amenities of the resort within easy reach. This 3 star all-inclusive hotel in Egypt is just 5 miles from the airport. Bay View Hotel has 78 standard rooms and 12 superior guest rooms all with air conditioning and views of the gardens or the pool. Onsite there are 2 swimming pools, one of which is for children. There is even a dive centre at the hotel, which is ideal for learning how to dive, there is also 24 hr access for those nights when you want to venture out in to the resort to see what the nightlife has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bay View

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing