We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9,032)
Filter reviews
9,032 results
Traveller rating
6,883
1,378
507
156
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,883
1,378
507
156
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome home family pool pergola bar t bone a la carte restaurants animation team main restaurant victoria pub vip pool splash bar red flag round the world thomas cook the mexican restaurant great holiday main pool room in block
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 9,032 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

for the second year i spent my vacation and it was also great the aqua parks and the see was gloriesthe staff were perfect excellent animation team the food was good main restaurant and separate restaurants

Room tip: excellent family room
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eslamyusry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Royal Makadi Aqua Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear eslamyusry,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming reviews on Trip Advisor appreciated work of our Hotel Staff and Animation Team.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any request
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments. Thank you very much that you s. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

I don’t ordinarily write reviews but feel compelled to after a great stay at the Sunrise Royal Makadi resort. We stayed for 7 nights returning on the 4th of Sept ‘18. The holiday was exactly the relaxed affair we were looking for after a hectic few months. Accommodation - room was very clean and tidy with daily room cleaning. Comfortable beds and amenities including a useful mini fridge and kettle. We had a family room in block 36 with a balcony overlooking the family pool. The room decor was ever so slightly dated if I was to split hairs but we didn’t care/notice as we were not in it for long. Activities - there were lots of pools to have fun in. For our kids the hydro pool was best as the slope was gradual so easy for each of them to swim comfortably. The aqua park on site was a firm favourite and open from 10am - 12pm and 2pm to 5pm. We usually came out of the sun at lunchtime to avoid the heat and split the day doing swimming in the morning then beach/ water park in the afternoon. Beach - very clean and with its gradual slope it was great for snorkelling with the kids. We took the kids out on inflatable kick boards so they could float whilst we did this. Saw some lovely sea life without having to go too far out. Very relaxing. Food - for breakfast we mainly ate in the Mexican restaurant where there was a decent buffet menu and it was less boisterous than the main restaurant. The main restaurant is far bigger and had a great selection of local dishes which we enjoyed too. In the evening there were 7-8 al la carte restaurants to choose from if we didn’t fancy the buffet. These need to ne prebooked using the touch screens in reception. Try to book as soon as possible as availability is limited. Favourites for us were Bedouin and Manzoku. Kids don’t need to be limited to the kids menus at the a la carte restaurants if you ask. Food standards were very good as was staff hygiene with regards to this. Only gripe was a small number of customers (kids and adults) handling food at the buffet without consideration for others in terms of hygiene. I can see how illness may spread if this happens. That said we had no issues at all during our stay. You are provided bottled water for everything even brushing your teeth. Weather - between 35 - 43 degrees during our stay which was lovely with the strong sea breeze and being in the water. Definitely need to be sensible in the heat and have good sun cream, hats etc. Staff - all friendly! Amazing trip!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KentishKofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Royal Makadi Aqua Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear KentishKofi,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming reviews on Trip Advisor appreciated work of our Hotel Staff and Facilities.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectation.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any request
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments. Thank you very much that you s. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,
Hotel Management


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Location is way out. Very far from Hurghada and your almost imprisoned at the resort. The food is ok, decent selection. My AC in the room broke 3 times during the week I was there. TV didn’t work and sockets didn’t work in the room. Would recommend staying in Hurghada instead. Reps wanted £400 for a boat trip and the hotel shop prices were extortionate even for a hotel. On the plus side, staff were extremely friendly.On checkout the hotel wanted additional money for late checkout even though we had already paid Thomas Cook. They wouldn’t accept it until I had produced documentation. Was definitely my first and last visit to this resort. If you do go there, try the Bedouin restaurant. The rest were horrible....

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Muhammadbadrulamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Royal Makadi Aqua Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Muhammadbadrulamin,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.
We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and your valued comments have forwarded to department heads. We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests.

We are looking forward to see you again.
With sunny regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We requested a certain room when we booked with the travel agent. Had a reply from the hotel to say they could accommodate this for us. My mother is disabled and we needed a walk-in shower, ground floor, twin beds and close to amenities. We turned up and the room was not as promised. 2 hours later and 2 visits to reception we were given the room that was promised. They were also drilling outside our room at 11pm on one occasion. Digging up the path. This was going on for hours. Then on the last night of our weeks holiday, we had a leak in the ceiling in our room. My suitcase got soaked. After an hour and 2 calls to reception they fixed it and cleaned it up. Only for it to leak again the next morning, but this time all down the walls soaking the floor and causing my mother to slip, hurting her back. I am very sad to say we will not be returning to this hotel. Which is a shame as this was our second visit to this hotel. We really enjoyed the first holiday here 3 years ago. Hence why we returned. I must say I was very glad to come home. Very disappointing holiday.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank cheryllS1459BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Royal Makadi Aqua Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Cheryl L,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.
We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and your valued comments have forwarded to department heads. We are always appreciating constructive criticism as we see a chance in it to improve our services in order to meet and exceed the expectations of our precious guests. However kindly note that you was provided with the requested room and your travel agency didn't mention to us bed type.

We are looking forward to see you again.
With sunny regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great rooms, great food selection, great bars, great atmosphere, great scene. Would visit again. The leisure options are great and the lagoon is a place to lounge around and totally relax. The wifi can be slow at times but you accept this knowing your in a country where wifi is limited

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank leoncartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Royal Makadi Aqua Resort -Select-, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your precious time that you have spent to post your opinion about our Hotel.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate all your comments and we will follow up the improvement with each concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews